We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for sunset but way too overcrowded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Africa House Hotel
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I had read about this place in the lonely planet (2009) so my friend and I thought that we would give it a go for a drink during the sunset. Service was fine, view was great but there was no luck in viewing the sunset with the hordes of people coming in for a 5 min sunset picture, unless of course you had a table on the very edge of the balcony.. Which we didn't

My suggestion if you are there for the sunset is to get there an hour early, instead of a half hour or go and sit on the ocean wall and have a spiced coffee at the cool little cafe just down from the hotel. Much more relaxing and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trav_From_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

A group of 16 of us had made a reservation to have dinner at the roof top restaurant of the hotel. The set up was beautiful, we never thought we would have a terrible time and experience.

The waitress took ages to take the orders, even though it was only us at the restaurant. We had to wait an hour to get a bottle of wine because they had run out, the cocktails were awful and they did not have half of the ingredients to make the dishes we ordered.
Instead of telling us they had run out of ingredients, they served the food without them, getting served a crab and avocado salad without crab or avocado is something I wasn't expecting!

The worse came when a few of us had ordered lobster and it came with an empty king prawn shell stuffed with a fish fillet, at that point we stood up and left.

Would never go back and would not recommend the place at all. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlota B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Nice for the view and a drink from the bar but don't eat here.
We were told the restaurant was closed and offered the same menu.
It all looked great but after waiting over one hour , with the waiter returning numerous times to check on our order, the food arrived. The orders were mixed up, the portions were minuscule , and the food was terrible. Items as detailed in the menu, eg chapatti for the curry was missing. I had ordered fish curry and got chicken. I ate it anyway as I didn't want to wait for another hour for my correct dish. We complained but weren't offered a discount or alternative. The food was overpriced for the serving size.
Overall, a very bad experience and to be avoided. Certainly go to look at the old building and artefacts there and enjoy a drink with the view, but don't order any food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lankalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A recent visit with a small group of professionals was an unforgettable (in the worst sense) experience. First, the food in the restaurant was very poor quality and overpriced. They seemed to be out of several items, and substituted other items without informing the person who had ordered the particular item. Then there was a grand fandango trying to pay with a credit card, and eventually we gave up when it became apparent they were giving us the runaround to discourage that form of payment. The worst, however, was when the nasty restaurant manager and a couple of other staff chased us through the evening streets, accusing us of not paying the bill in full - accusing us of being 30,000 TZS ($19) short, after they had counted our cash payment (in itself an amusing exercise to watch) and advising us that we were free to go. In fact, we had paid the bill in full and had left an overly (considering the service, food etc) tip of about that same amount. I had counted the money personally several times and am 110% certain that the amount was correct. After arguing awhile and being accused of being thieves, threatened with the police etc, we paid the demanded sum just to make this nightmare go away.

Long story short - AVOID THIS TOURIST TRAP \ RIP-OFF JOINT LIKE THE PLAGUE

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Buckboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This place should be the scene of a fly on the wall documentary it is so laughable. The building is beautiful and has history, it must have, guides freely walk in with their entourage take picks and walk out, (that's the kind of security you get), but it is run into the ground and it isn't going to get any better soon. I could go on and on. Don't do it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DameInDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is, by far, one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. The service was deplorable, the manager rude and hostile, the food awful, the floors filthy...need I continue? Not to mention the high cost for such an awful hotel. While the sunset bar was a good place to watch the sunset, that is the ONLY reason you should ever step foot in this hotel. Avoid at all costs. I will NOT be going back and will be recommending to everyone I know NOT to stay here...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This review is just about the sunset bar. We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and enjoyed it. This time we were staying elsewhere and decided to go to watch the sunset in their famous sunset bar. The service was absolutely terrible. Shame - but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#25 of 33 in Stone Town
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asmini Palace Hotel
Asmini Palace Hotel
#26 of 33 in Stone Town
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
344 reviews
0 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Africa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Africa House Hotel

Address: Shangani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £84 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Africa House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African House hotel is located within the prime and historic Stone Town overlooking the open sea and gardens and minutes from the beach and vibrant Shangani square featuring some of the best night life on the Island. The accommodation includes 15 air-conditioned rooms, the Sunset Bar, The Sunset Lounge, a Turkish restaurant (yet to Open), Trade winds Restaurant (For Indian / Chinese / Continental / Italian and local dishes). A historical Library, a large conference hall, Hotel shop outlets and sea facing Shisha decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Africa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Stone Town
The Africa Hotel
The Africa House Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing