We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot for sundowners” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Africa House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Africa House Hotel
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice spot for sundowners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel, but came here for sundowners and dinner on the rooftop terrace (Sunset bar). The view is great, perfect spot to unwind with a cocktail at the end of the day. Get a spot right at the edge of the balcony so you can have uninterrupted view and take photos without hassling other guests.The food was not amazing, I had the line fish of the day with chips. Stick to cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    72
    30
    26
    49
See reviews for
37
92
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Came for an afternoon beer but it was pretty much the hottest place in town!

Sweating just sat down. Open to the sea but obviously the breeze was the other way! Fans ineffectual. Couldn't wait to leave.

Its old and quaint. Some might say tatty and in need of some love.

Service is disinterested at best.

Perhaps sunset is better to go to the bar.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stone Town hotels

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Went here for lunch on a day trip to Stone Town. We ate in the Sunset Bar, which had a few other tables eating at the same time. We had been up to the restaurant but decided not to stay there as it was completely empty and felt a bit awkward. We ordered drinks, and then food when the menus eventually came. Twice after considerable intervals the waiter came back and told us certain meals were not available after we had ordered. Eventually we settled on available choices.We waited for over an hour and a half and finished two drinks. When the food did arrive, it was ridiculous. Portions were laughably tiny, with the exception of the fish of the day. The place feels extremely dated and is in need of modernizing; the menu needs a revamp too! Poor value for money, and in need of more staff. The one waiter in the whole place was trying valiantly, desperately trying to hurry the kitchen along, but to no avail.
We left hungry and out of pocket. Go for a drink at sunset, but there are plenty of better, cheaper places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcgilvray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I had read about this place in the lonely planet (2009) so my friend and I thought that we would give it a go for a drink during the sunset. Service was fine, view was great but there was no luck in viewing the sunset with the hordes of people coming in for a 5 min sunset picture, unless of course you had a table on the very edge of the balcony.. Which we didn't

My suggestion if you are there for the sunset is to get there an hour early, instead of a half hour or go and sit on the ocean wall and have a spiced coffee at the cool little cafe just down from the hotel. Much more relaxing and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav_From_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

A group of 16 of us had made a reservation to have dinner at the roof top restaurant of the hotel. The set up was beautiful, we never thought we would have a terrible time and experience.

The waitress took ages to take the orders, even though it was only us at the restaurant. We had to wait an hour to get a bottle of wine because they had run out, the cocktails were awful and they did not have half of the ingredients to make the dishes we ordered.
Instead of telling us they had run out of ingredients, they served the food without them, getting served a crab and avocado salad without crab or avocado is something I wasn't expecting!

The worse came when a few of us had ordered lobster and it came with an empty king prawn shell stuffed with a fish fillet, at that point we stood up and left.

Would never go back and would not recommend the place at all. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlota B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Nice for the view and a drink from the bar but don't eat here.
We were told the restaurant was closed and offered the same menu.
It all looked great but after waiting over one hour , with the waiter returning numerous times to check on our order, the food arrived. The orders were mixed up, the portions were minuscule , and the food was terrible. Items as detailed in the menu, eg chapatti for the curry was missing. I had ordered fish curry and got chicken. I ate it anyway as I didn't want to wait for another hour for my correct dish. We complained but weren't offered a discount or alternative. The food was overpriced for the serving size.
Overall, a very bad experience and to be avoided. Certainly go to look at the old building and artefacts there and enjoy a drink with the view, but don't order any food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lankalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

A recent visit with a small group of professionals was an unforgettable (in the worst sense) experience. First, the food in the restaurant was very poor quality and overpriced. They seemed to be out of several items, and substituted other items without informing the person who had ordered the particular item. Then there was a grand fandango trying to pay with a credit card, and eventually we gave up when it became apparent they were giving us the runaround to discourage that form of payment. The worst, however, was when the nasty restaurant manager and a couple of other staff chased us through the evening streets, accusing us of not paying the bill in full - accusing us of being 30,000 TZS ($19) short, after they had counted our cash payment (in itself an amusing exercise to watch) and advising us that we were free to go. In fact, we had paid the bill in full and had left an overly (considering the service, food etc) tip of about that same amount. I had counted the money personally several times and am 110% certain that the amount was correct. After arguing awhile and being accused of being thieves, threatened with the police etc, we paid the demanded sum just to make this nightmare go away.

Long story short - AVOID THIS TOURIST TRAP \ RIP-OFF JOINT LIKE THE PLAGUE

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#29 of 33 in Stone Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tausi Palace Hotel
Tausi Palace Hotel
#20 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Africa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Africa House Hotel

Property: The Africa House Hotel
Address: Shangani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Africa House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African House hotel is located within the prime and historic Stone Town overlooking the open sea and gardens and minutes from the beach and vibrant Shangani square featuring some of the best night life on the Island. The accomodation includes 15 airconditioned rooms, the Sunset Bar, The Sunset Lounge, a Turkish restaurant (yet to Open), Trade winds Restaurant (For Indian / Chinese / Continental / Italian and local dishes). A historical Library, a large conference hall, Hotel shop outlets and sea facing Shisha decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Africa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Stone Town
The Africa Hotel
The Africa House Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing