We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay, but our money got stolen from the safe in our room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mtoni Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mtoni Marine Hotel
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place to stay, but our money got stolen from the safe in our room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

A good place to stay in. Beautiful surroundings.

Sadly our room got broken into while were out. £350 and 50,000T/sh got taken. We had left it in the safe and had the key on us all the time. Obviously someone used or had a spare key. I suspect it happens alot there, and not everyone counts their money on leaving, hence the thief took "a little" as to not arise suspicion.

We reported this to the Management who really could not do much. We were offered a free stay for two, which is no good to us as we had come to the end of our holiday in Zanzibar, and we live over 4000 miles away in UK!

However, it was a tranquil place, sadly infested with mosquitoes (which cannot be helped) and the kids enjoyed the swimming pool and the freedom too run around the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Direttore at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time review your stay at Mtoni Marine.
We were extremely alarmed by your statement regarding the money stolen in the safe of the room, we take these situations very seriously indeed.
We sincerely apologize to you for this experience with us.
We do not have any record of such an event in the past but as always with you can never be too careful.
The keys of the room safes are well guarded in the safe of our reception and they are taken from there only at the client's check in time , no spare keys are left around unguarded.
We feel very sorry to read about your suspicion regarding theft cases as a common practice at our hotel, this is not the case.

Again we are extremely sorry for this incident that unfortunately left you with a bad taste, but we do hope that we can still welcome you in the future at our hotel.
I can be reached directly at mtoni@zanzibar.cc if you would like to further discuss.

Sincerely
Gioia Pieroni
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    73
    26
    18
    12
See reviews for
54
53
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights after climbing Kili and safaris. We really enjoyed having some down time after our amazing adventures. The hotel has a nice pool with ocean views. The music was stuck in the 80's and the drinks are pricey, but it is a low key resort. The employees are incredibly helpful and nice. Special kudos to the woman who schedules the excursions and the spa staff. I wished we were closer to town so that we could walk there. We had all of meals at the hotel and the staff will move your dinner table to the beach upon request. We highly recommend eating under the stars on the beach. The food ranges from good to excellent, although the menu doesn't change and we did get a bit weary of the choices. The tipping policy is strange: if you tip using your credit card for your meals, the tips go to the other hotel staff (not the waiters). The only way to tip the waiters is with cash directly. Took us a bit to understand this. We enjoyed the Spice Plantation tour, the walking tour of Stone Town, as well as the Prison Island tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljm731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Direttore at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I really do appreciate you taking the time to leave your nice comments following your stay at Mtoni Marine.
I was so happy that you found our staff welcoming, friendly and helpful.
I have passed on your kind words to my great team here.
The unusual tipping policy depends on the two different managements we have in the Hotel and in the Restaurants.
Having two separate accountings the client ,who would like to tip the waiters, should ask to add it just on the restaurant bill.
However it happens sometimes that the staff ask for a cash tip as they don't like so much to share.
I am very sorry that we were not clear enough since the beginning about this.

I do hope that we can look after you once again in the near future.
Many thanks

Gioia Pieroni
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We came here based on recommendations that it was good for families. I was unimpressed on several levels. First, it was fairly expensive, as much as a Serena or other high-end hotels. Second, the "family-friendly amenities" were in horrible condition. There is a baby pool, but the water is stagnant and there was a layer of dirt and dead bugs along the sides of it. There is a small "playground" but it is very run-down. The swings are crooked, the trampoline's net is falling down, it generally didn't look safe to play in. The room was o.k. but nothing special, and the TV is so small and mounted on the wall that you really can't see it from the bed. The food wasn't very good either, and I was unimpressed with the breakfast (lack of fresh fruit, juice, etc.). I really felt for the money this hotel came off as a dump.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erins_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Direttore at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear guest,

I am really sorry you feel aggrieved with your visit at our Hotel, this is not the feedback we like to receive.
Please accept my apologies for what must have looked like a lack of caring and attention here at the property.

I am looking into the playground and I do know that the trampoline has been damaged twice during the crowed days of Eid Al Fitr celebration, unfortunately we didn’t manage to fix it promptly enough as it should have been.

We are gratify that you juxtaposed Mtoni Marine with Serena Hotel, but we never had the pretension to compete with this well-known Hotel because as we cannot offering the same facilities and luxuries our rates are obviously 4 times lower than theirs!

However I know that we can do better and I am disappointed that we collectively fell short with your expectations in more than one area, especially where most of our clients recognize as our strength: the facilities and the great hospitality for family.

Once again, please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt so negatively about your stay, I do hope that we can look after you once again in the future to remedy your negative impression of our service and hospitality.

Warm regards
Gioia Pieroni
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es salaam ,Tanzania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

i visited this place mid June, just for day trip.we had lunch at mcheza restaurant,nicely done,very taste and healthy.

the workers are happy @ time they serve you.when you visit this place you will never get boared,till you leave.

the front dest, very helpful,the hotel reservation personel Mr Shauri, very famous guy for his good work,he was very kind to us.he is ready to go extra mile to satisfy the client,i like that.
we left Mtoni with full smile.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwaj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Mtoni Marine. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt comfortable and were served well.

We hope to have you again soon so we could serve you one more time :-)


Regards
Shahzmah Tim
Marketing Manager
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I chose this hotel because I love swimming and I saw their claim about a 25 metre infinity pool. True, all true. It was super. As long as you choose your time of day you can crack out a kilometre or two in peace.
The breakfast are very good, the staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel is kept clean and tidy.
I would/will definitely go back.

Room Tip: By 'fitness centre' above, I mean swimming pool. Maybe beware school holiday times, eg from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyPlovesSwimming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment about your stay with us.

We are happy to learn that your expectations regarding the swimming pool were met and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Always a pleasure to know our customers enjoy their stay and that they are satisfied.

We welcome you again whenever you plan to visit us - We say Ahsante sana & Karibu tena :)

Regards
Shahzmah Tim
Marketing Manager
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights after being on safari in Selous.
(I had diarrhea when we arrived at the hotel and the tea we were served on arrival is the best I have ever tasted, dried as I was.)
The rooms were decent and cleanliness Ok.
The Sports bar served very good food, but when we were six, it took a little too long to get our food, even though the number of waiters surpasses most I've seen.
A la carte restaurant served generous and good dinners but we did rarely eat up everything. Tip: reduce the portions ...
The breakfast was fine without the big highlights, but better than continnental breakfast anyway.
The pool area was lovely and we strongly recommend lemon slush at the bar there, made ​​of fresh squeezed citrus fruits.
The staff were obviously trained to say "good morning, how are you", and it was a little tiring when I met 15 employees on my way from A to B. After 12 greetings, I could not resist responding - Good morning, I have diarrhea.
Overall - a good stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petterpitlepytt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We visited as two families of four and stayed in their Family Apartment which has 3 bedrooms upstairs, living/dining/kitchen downstairs and a lovely patio. The house was extremely clean and very well organized for sleeping arrangements. (the mattresses are pretty old, though) The food is perfectly fine - not amazing, but not bad. The very best part of the place is the playground with trampoline for kids, and an EXCELLENT pool with EXCELLENT kiddie pool. They really have one of the the best pools we've ever seen in East Africa. Our little ones had a wonderful time and we could relax ourselves watching them from a safe distance as we lounged or ate.

If you want to be close enough to Stone Town to get in for a $6/10 minute ride then this location is just what you want. It is not secluded or isolated - doesn't feel like you have your own deserted beach or anything, so not recommended for honeymooners. You can hear the road and air traffic pretty well. This is not a place to come for the best beach in Zanzibar, but again - it has the best pool! For a little getaway with some friends, this was a great place for us to stay and we would highly recommend it.

The Italian manager was great and friendly and very accommodating!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
4.3 mi away
Mangrove Lodge
Mangrove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chuini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Africa House Hotel
The Africa House Hotel
#26 of 33 in Stone Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.2 mi away
Zanzibar Ocean View
Zanzibar Ocean View
#151 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
0.2 mi away
Abla Beach Apartments
Abla Beach Apartments
#76 of 198 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mtoni Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mtoni Marine Hotel

Property: Mtoni Marine Hotel
Address: Malawi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mtoni Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mtoni Marine is located on the west coast of Zanzibar, 10 minutes north of Stone Town and neighboring the legendary Mtoni Palace. This laid back and family friendly hotel is the ideal location from which to explore Stone Town and the rest of the island, while providing a peaceful retreat from it all. The hotel offers great facilities including a newly built infinity pool, a variety of restaurants and entertainment,Spa,The neighboring Mtoni Palace where Princess Salme was born and the perfect setting for Zanzibar weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mtoni Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mtoni Marine Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing