We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place and staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mtoni Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mtoni Marine Hotel
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Mtoni for 10 days and we didn't want to leave. The rooms are very clean, and those working there where extraordinary friendly and helpful. The people working there seem to enjoy working there and the atmosphere they create is just something one has to experience first hand. We will love to come back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine_h68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sparing your precious time to write about us. We are so pleased to know that you had a good stay and that our staff made you feel comfortable. Our guests' happiness and comfort is always our top priority and we are happy that we met your expectations. We are confident enough to say that without a doubt, our staff enjoy their job and love what they do.

Thanks again! We look forward to having you with us at Mtoni soon.

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    73
    26
    18
    12
See reviews for
54
53
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

first if you arrive all look well! on the check in they forgot to give you the key for safe and poolcards, mean go back and ask! the bed they make for 7 year old boy an baby bed! again walk to reception ask! the room was ok and clean, not very big. but the view! not ok! the last room in the row and look outsinde in nothing. the tv! every day an game, work, not work, work not work. the bed eytremly hard! is not very good for sleep! absolute NO GO! the room not had wifi! you need to go to restaurant! and here same with tv, work,not work,work, notwork!! but they had complete wifi!!but reception not give the w-lan key!! the absolute NO GO the beach! can not go into the water, morning no water! afternoon still water BUT like an waste damp! now some positve! the restaurant! the food real ok! good! and some specials! the price for an hotel real ok! as well for beer an softdrinks! only the service the food need some day 1 houer! the price for taxi to stone town! not cheap but ok! BUT not use the booking on the reception for ALL tours!! they charge you more the DRIPPLE! then regulär prices for all tours like stone town/bootrip/all! better do by yourself, i had not one problem to found all in stone town direct and NOT dangerous! only need to unterstand thats all.

Room Tip: Not use the standart room on the back side! we had room 16! check all before you go in, like tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Udo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at our hotel. We are genuinely sorry for all the inconveniences that you faced during your stay with us. We apologize that our team seemed to miss every prescribed operational check with you. This is something that has not happened before before whereby leaving our guests dissatisfied and unhappy. We are happy that you took the initiative to reach out to us and this definitely going to be an eye opener for us. Once again, I apologize on behalf of the team of Mtoni Marine for this incident.

If you would like to discuss this matter any further, please feel free to contact me.

Thank you! We hope we will be able to serve you again in future.

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Have stayed in this hotel on several occasions over the years and always appreciate small additions and improvements such as the Spa. Great location for combining beach with Stonetown visits, excellent pool, great breakfast and dinner. Club Rooms are good size with large bathrooms and comfy beds. Great value. Reception staff are wonderful as ever. Sports Bar is a cheaper alternative to the main restaurant but service is variable as is the food. Best stick to pizza and burgers there. The Mtoni Palace concert evening is magical but has suddenly become incredibly expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on your stay at our hotel. We are always happy to hear from our regular customers and considering the fact that you have consistently found our hotel good gives us a great feeling. We also would like to thank you for noticing the improvements and changes we have made; it shows how well you know our hotel which is simply amazing.

We are however, sorry to learn that you found the concert and dinner expensive. Our Tour, concert and dinner is a conservation project and we are trying our best to complete our mission of conserving the palace. Nevertheless, we hope that we will be able to cater to your needs in the best possible way.

Thank you and we hope you visit us again soon!

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We (= a family of two adults and two children below 5) stayed in this hotel after having stayed in the center of Stone Town for two days. This was so much more relaxed for visiting town. Our kids were free to run around in the garden, swim in the pool, etc. after a morning in town. We spent the morning in Stone Town and came back to enjoy the afternoon at the hotel. We stayed in a family apartment, which was very spacious and well-equipped. The only downside is that the service in the Sports Bar is slow. Food is good and staff are very friendly! The presence of the Mrembo Spa on the premises is an absolute bonus. Their massages are great.

Room Tip: If you take a dalla-dalla (local taxi bus) on the main road you'll spend less than 2000 Tsh (1,3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FastFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on our hotel. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your kids had ample space to play and have fun. We are a family oriented hotel and it gives us a very satisfying feeling to know that during your stay, your children felt comfortable to play around and enjoy their time at our place. However, we are sorry to know that you experienced slow service at our sports bar and we hope that the next time you visit us, you shall be served in the best way possible.

Thank you!

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

A welcoming hotel with a good standard of service and facilities. It is relatively small and enables guests to feel they are receiving personal service. The service and food in the restaurant were good at breakfast and dinner. Dinner on the beach is very relaxing and is accompanied by traditional music and a campfire. I was less partial to the sports bar but it seems to be popular with sports fans and those looking for a more informal setting. The do make very good pizzas, which can also be served at the poolside.
There is a very good pool - views out to sea. a good size. lots of sunbeds and the opportunities to sit in the sun or shade. It is open from dawn to sunset.
The rooms are all of a good size and well equipped but the upper floor palm court rooms are particularly comfortable (although larger sized TVs would be appreciated in these larger rooms).
We particularly enjoyed the concert and meal at the Mtoni Palace. The tour, food and music were all very good and it was great to know that we wee helping to preserve this important historical site.
Khadija was very helpful enabling us to sort out onward travel, excursions and accommodation issues.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so delighted to read your comment regarding our premises; Mtoni Marine & Mtoni Palace Ruins. It makes us truly happy to know your expectations were met and you were comfortable. The Mtoni Palace has always been amazing and we are glad you got the chance to experience a great evening at the palace.

Thank you for your suggestion regarding the TVs in our palm court rooms. We will work on it and we hope that the next time you pay us a visit, we shall have worked on your polite suggestion.

Looking forward to having you with us soon!

Thank you.

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We went as guests to swim at the beach only all facilities were provided yet we were not residents staff friendly and even offered to take care of belongings also the beach is open to the local public which is a good thing next time I shall reside there

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mohammedsohail13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comment regarding your day at the beach. We are pleased to know that you were taken care of and that your belongings were also looked after. It gives us great happiness to know that our staff efforts in ensuring our guests are satisfied are being recognized.

We truly look forward to be able to serve you soon. Thank you! Karibu sana,

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is the hotel i stayed in Zanzibar for 2 nights and I have no complains.

Great rooms, value for money, amazing swimming pool and to top it all off an awesome restaurant. It is very close to the town but still far enough to give you that sense of privacy.

The only thing I didn't enjoy was the hotel's beach at the particular time I was there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for writing a review on Mtoni Marine. It is truly a great feeling to know that we meet our guests' expectations. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Thank you again!

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
4.3 mi away
Mangrove Lodge
Mangrove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chuini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
2.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Botique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge
2.4 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.2 mi away
Zanzibar Ocean View
Zanzibar Ocean View
#155 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mtoni Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mtoni Marine Hotel

Property: Mtoni Marine Hotel
Address: Malawi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mtoni Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mtoni Marine is located on the west coast of Zanzibar, 10 minutes north of Stone Town and neighboring the legendary Mtoni Palace. This laid back and family friendly hotel is the ideal location from which to explore Stone Town and the rest of the island, while providing a peaceful retreat from it all. The hotel offers great facilities including a newly built infinity pool, a variety of restaurants and entertainment,Spa,The neighboring Mtoni Palace where Princess Salme was born and the perfect setting for Zanzibar weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Mtoni Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mtoni Marine Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing