We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, will definitely come back”
Review of Mtoni Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mtoni Marine Hotel
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Lovely place, will definitely come back”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I came to Mtoni Marine the first time in 2008 during ZIFF and again during Christmas 2011. It was a truly lovely and unique place with great food (lovely fish and you can get freshly made omelets prepared after your own choice for breakfast). Atmosphere is quiet, friendly and staff very helpful. Guests are grown up and decent - this is not a party place, but ideal for relaxation or writer's getaway. Rooms are esthetically decorated with fresh flowers on the bed every day and small soaps with clove scent (probably bought by a local producer?), with or without sea view. Be sure to hand some tips to the piccolo or maid when they help you! The spa is also great, so is drinking chill white wine on the beach by night surrounded by candle lights in the sand and musicians.

This beach resort is placed just 10 minutes drive outside beautiful Stonetown and is a good place to explore the rest of the island. I didn't have the opportunity to go on any of Mtoni's guided tours, but were told by other guests that visiting the monkey island was exciting. They also assist with spice tours and other adventures.

On the negative side, you must be prepared to have your food stolen by naughty crows and other birds when eating in the outdoor restaurant, unless you play close attention.

I've traveled alone there and as a woman never felt unsafe, so I highly recommend this place and Zanzibar for all travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We cannot thank you enough for the overwhelming comment regarding our hotel. We are so pleased to know that you are our regular customer and that you have been visiting us almost every three years since 2008.

We would also like to thank you for describing the details of our hotel so vividly. It gives us great pleasure to know how much our guests enjoy their stay and are satisfied. To answer your question, you are right, our clove soaps are from the local producers here in Zanzibar.
Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review on our hotel and your stay with us.

We truly hope we have you with us way before the next three years.
Karibu sana!

Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    73
    26
    18
    12
See reviews for
54
53
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I really had a nice stay at Mtoni Marine, Sports Bar have a nice live atmosphere, food excellent and a nice view over the ocean. OK its not one of those up-class resorts on the East Coast of Zanzibar, but a well run place to stay close to Stone Town but not in Stone Town.

I wanted to have a quiet stay, not bothered by anyone and this is exactly what I got. My room was always clean, the cleaning ladies extremely pleasant personalities.

If you want a place just outside Stone Town, try this resort. They have a couple of nice excursions if you want some action, I was not looking for that.

Hope it help someone

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kobus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review on our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel proved to be the perfect spot that you were hoping to find.

We hope that we will be able to have you with us again soon.

Thank you!

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I had the honor of having our Wedding Reception at Mtoni Marine. It was absolutely fabulous! The Zanzibar Weddings team helped us plan our wedding and I can't recommend them highly enough. We had our ceremony at Mbweni Ruins and then after our cocktail hour and photos we made our way down the long jetty off the beach, past the mangroves, where we boarded two traditional arabic dhows and sailed towards Stone Town. The dhows were accompanied by the sound of a live African Jazz Duo. The sails were hoisted and the winds filled the canvas as we pushed North past Stone Town bay and past the old Dhow harbor. We embraced the magnificent African sunset overlooking Bawe and Prison Island as we celebrated with local beer and wine and music.

After an hour sunset sail, we pulled up to our destination, Mtoni Marine Restaurant from which we were greeted with amazing large bonfires on the beach. Disembarking the dhows on the sands of Mtoni Beach, we were all welcomed with the festive sight and sounds of African Ngoma Drummers and Dancers. We then all took our seats at a long community candle-lit table with fairy lights on the beachfront. We had the restaurant and beach all to ourselves and we dined with our feet in the sand under the starry skies to a seafood fiesta. We had a 3-tier chocolate brownie cake made by a local baker. After dinner, we danced to beats by DJ Neil on the carved out sea sand dance floor. Guests also relaxed at our arabic style beach lounge with lots of comfortable furniture, pillows and a shisha.

The atmosphere and food was incredible and it truly was a fairy tale. After the wedding we spent the night in one of the Palm Court Room's and it was perfect. It was very spacious, clean, had a big bed, bathtub and separate shower. It also looked out over the grounds and ocean. We highly recommend this hotel and restaurant!

Room Tip: The Palm Court Rooms are wonderful. Large, spacious and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkspeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comment - We are so happy to know that Mtoni Marine has given you so many memories and that your wedding was one to remember. We appreciate you taking your time to describe your whole experience with all the details. I am sure it is one you will never forget.

Thank you for all the positive comments for our staff and setting of your wedding by Weddings on Zanzibar. We, at Mtoni Marine believe that " The path of happiness is so narrow that two people cannot walk on it unless they become one". We are honored to have had this opportunity to host your wedding on the beach of Mtoni Marine, Zanzibar.

We look forward to your next visit !

Ahsante Sana.

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Decent place with friendly staff. The beach is ok, not great. We felt it was a bit pricey, but that was probably due to the time we went (jan 1st week). We stayed in a villa, which was nice for the family

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandeepAggarwal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on our hotel. We are glad to know that you appreciated your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly. We are always striving to provide our guests with the best services. As you said you stayed with us during the first week of January, that is surely peak season for most of us and so our prices vary according to different seasons. Nevertheless, we are happy you took your time to write about our hotel.

We look forward to being able to serve you again in future.

Thank you.

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Mtoni for 10 days and we didn't want to leave. The rooms are very clean, and those working there where extraordinary friendly and helpful. The people working there seem to enjoy working there and the atmosphere they create is just something one has to experience first hand. We will love to come back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine_h68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sparing your precious time to write about us. We are so pleased to know that you had a good stay and that our staff made you feel comfortable. Our guests' happiness and comfort is always our top priority and we are happy that we met your expectations. We are confident enough to say that without a doubt, our staff enjoy their job and love what they do.

Thanks again! We look forward to having you with us at Mtoni soon.

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstadt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

first if you arrive all look well! on the check in they forgot to give you the key for safe and poolcards, mean go back and ask! the bed they make for 7 year old boy an baby bed! again walk to reception ask! the room was ok and clean, not very big. but the view! not ok! the last room in the row and look outsinde in nothing. the tv! every day an game, work, not work, work not work. the bed eytremly hard! is not very good for sleep! absolute NO GO! the room not had wifi! you need to go to restaurant! and here same with tv, work,not work,work, notwork!! but they had complete wifi!!but reception not give the w-lan key!! the absolute NO GO the beach! can not go into the water, morning no water! afternoon still water BUT like an waste damp! now some positve! the restaurant! the food real ok! good! and some specials! the price for an hotel real ok! as well for beer an softdrinks! only the service the food need some day 1 houer! the price for taxi to stone town! not cheap but ok! BUT not use the booking on the reception for ALL tours!! they charge you more the DRIPPLE! then regulär prices for all tours like stone town/bootrip/all! better do by yourself, i had not one problem to found all in stone town direct and NOT dangerous! only need to unterstand thats all.

Room Tip: Not use the standart room on the back side! we had room 16! check all before you go in, like tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Udo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at our hotel. We are genuinely sorry for all the inconveniences that you faced during your stay with us. We apologize that our team seemed to miss every prescribed operational check with you. This is something that has not happened before before whereby leaving our guests dissatisfied and unhappy. We are happy that you took the initiative to reach out to us and this definitely going to be an eye opener for us. Once again, I apologize on behalf of the team of Mtoni Marine for this incident.

If you would like to discuss this matter any further, please feel free to contact me.

Thank you! We hope we will be able to serve you again in future.

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Have stayed in this hotel on several occasions over the years and always appreciate small additions and improvements such as the Spa. Great location for combining beach with Stonetown visits, excellent pool, great breakfast and dinner. Club Rooms are good size with large bathrooms and comfy beds. Great value. Reception staff are wonderful as ever. Sports Bar is a cheaper alternative to the main restaurant but service is variable as is the food. Best stick to pizza and burgers there. The Mtoni Palace concert evening is magical but has suddenly become incredibly expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on your stay at our hotel. We are always happy to hear from our regular customers and considering the fact that you have consistently found our hotel good gives us a great feeling. We also would like to thank you for noticing the improvements and changes we have made; it shows how well you know our hotel which is simply amazing.

We are however, sorry to learn that you found the concert and dinner expensive. Our Tour, concert and dinner is a conservation project and we are trying our best to complete our mission of conserving the palace. Nevertheless, we hope that we will be able to cater to your needs in the best possible way.

Thank you and we hope you visit us again soon!

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
#21 of 38 in Zanzibar City
66 reviews
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
2.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 34 in Stone Town
281 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge
2.5 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mtoni Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mtoni Marine Hotel

Property: Mtoni Marine Hotel
Address: Malawi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mtoni Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mtoni Marine is located on the west coast of Zanzibar, 10 minutes north of Stone Town and neighboring the legendary Mtoni Palace. This laid back and family friendly hotel is the ideal location from which to explore Stone Town and the rest of the island, while providing a peaceful retreat from it all. The hotel offers great facilities including a newly built infinity pool, a variety of restaurants and entertainment,Spa,The neighboring Mtoni Palace where Princess Salme was born and the perfect setting for Zanzibar weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mtoni Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mtoni Marine Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing