We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel with a laid-back atmosphere. Great for families and a good value close to Stone Town”
Review of Mtoni Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mtoni Marine Hotel
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Joya and her staff are wonderful and the hotel is a great for families and couples alike. It is near to Stone Town's attractions but also far enough away to be relaxing. The family suite was very convenient and we look forward to coming back soon to this wonderful, low-key hotel. Only area of improvement would be the breakfast spread, which was a little thin in choice and of only average quality. That said, a great place and an excellent value - recommend it. (the Mtoni palace dinner and concert is a must - well worth it and beautiful done.)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the staff and the Manager, Gioia, I would like to thank you for posting a review on your stay with us. Thank you for appreciating the staff and our premises as a whole. We are happy to know that you loved our place and that you plan on visiting us again.
We are however sorry to know that you found our breakfast "thin in choice", we are usually praised for it and our guests always have nice things to say about it. We hope that the next time you visit us, we shall be able to meet your expectations in terms of breakfast as well.

Thanks again.
Karibu tena.

Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Mtoni Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Unfortunately, unfortunetely and unfortunetely we could spend here only 2 days.
This hotel was the BEST of our 3 accomodition in that 2 weeks what we spent on the island. The hotel is professionly managed and this appears in every moment.
The hotel is situating right on the beach but close to the bay. Don't worry, the hotel has a giant infinity pool hence nobody wants to go to the beach. Originaly I reserved a family house but on our arrival the staff recognized that our 3 kids are are not taking to big place, hence they supposed us to down-grade to a family apartment because that is enough for us and cheaper too. They were right, the family apartment has 2 large bedrooms, a small communal room and two bathrooms - it was absolutely enough for us.
The beach bar / restaurant is great, kids portions are available at a friendly price.

If I have to say something wrong about the hotel here is two issue:

1) there was no water recirculation in the kid's pool, hence the water was a bit dirty

2) it is nearly impossible to set up a the proper water temperature in case of using the shower. it goes from ice cold to burning hot in every 10 seconds, the management should do something with it because it was hard to use the shower.

That is all! The payment settlement was fast and punctual, I was happy to stay there and will return one day.

Room Tip: family room #104
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiltheGroundhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful comment and we are so happy to know that you could rate our hotel as the "Best Accommodation" that you had during your stay in Zanzibar. It also gives us much pleasure to know that you were happy with our services and staff as well.

I am however sorry that you were not too satisfied with the kids' pool and the shower system in your room. Our showers are regulated to the standard level and so it comes as a surprise to us, but we are grateful for your feedback and we shall work on it to serve you and our guests better. Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I came to Mtoni Marine the first time in 2008 during ZIFF and again during Christmas 2011. It was a truly lovely and unique place with great food (lovely fish and you can get freshly made omelets prepared after your own choice for breakfast). Atmosphere is quiet, friendly and staff very helpful. Guests are grown up and decent - this is not a party place, but ideal for relaxation or writer's getaway. Rooms are esthetically decorated with fresh flowers on the bed every day and small soaps with clove scent (probably bought by a local producer?), with or without sea view. Be sure to hand some tips to the piccolo or maid when they help you! The spa is also great, so is drinking chill white wine on the beach by night surrounded by candle lights in the sand and musicians.

This beach resort is placed just 10 minutes drive outside beautiful Stonetown and is a good place to explore the rest of the island. I didn't have the opportunity to go on any of Mtoni's guided tours, but were told by other guests that visiting the monkey island was exciting. They also assist with spice tours and other adventures.

On the negative side, you must be prepared to have your food stolen by naughty crows and other birds when eating in the outdoor restaurant, unless you play close attention.

I've traveled alone there and as a woman never felt unsafe, so I highly recommend this place and Zanzibar for all travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We cannot thank you enough for the overwhelming comment regarding our hotel. We are so pleased to know that you are our regular customer and that you have been visiting us almost every three years since 2008.

We would also like to thank you for describing the details of our hotel so vividly. It gives us great pleasure to know how much our guests enjoy their stay and are satisfied. To answer your question, you are right, our clove soaps are from the local producers here in Zanzibar.
Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review on our hotel and your stay with us.

We truly hope we have you with us way before the next three years.
Karibu sana!

Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I really had a nice stay at Mtoni Marine, Sports Bar have a nice live atmosphere, food excellent and a nice view over the ocean. OK its not one of those up-class resorts on the East Coast of Zanzibar, but a well run place to stay close to Stone Town but not in Stone Town.

I wanted to have a quiet stay, not bothered by anyone and this is exactly what I got. My room was always clean, the cleaning ladies extremely pleasant personalities.

If you want a place just outside Stone Town, try this resort. They have a couple of nice excursions if you want some action, I was not looking for that.

Hope it help someone

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kobus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review on our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel proved to be the perfect spot that you were hoping to find.

We hope that we will be able to have you with us again soon.

Thank you!

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I had the honor of having our Wedding Reception at Mtoni Marine. It was absolutely fabulous! The Zanzibar Weddings team helped us plan our wedding and I can't recommend them highly enough. We had our ceremony at Mbweni Ruins and then after our cocktail hour and photos we made our way down the long jetty off the beach, past the mangroves, where we boarded two traditional arabic dhows and sailed towards Stone Town. The dhows were accompanied by the sound of a live African Jazz Duo. The sails were hoisted and the winds filled the canvas as we pushed North past Stone Town bay and past the old Dhow harbor. We embraced the magnificent African sunset overlooking Bawe and Prison Island as we celebrated with local beer and wine and music.

After an hour sunset sail, we pulled up to our destination, Mtoni Marine Restaurant from which we were greeted with amazing large bonfires on the beach. Disembarking the dhows on the sands of Mtoni Beach, we were all welcomed with the festive sight and sounds of African Ngoma Drummers and Dancers. We then all took our seats at a long community candle-lit table with fairy lights on the beachfront. We had the restaurant and beach all to ourselves and we dined with our feet in the sand under the starry skies to a seafood fiesta. We had a 3-tier chocolate brownie cake made by a local baker. After dinner, we danced to beats by DJ Neil on the carved out sea sand dance floor. Guests also relaxed at our arabic style beach lounge with lots of comfortable furniture, pillows and a shisha.

The atmosphere and food was incredible and it truly was a fairy tale. After the wedding we spent the night in one of the Palm Court Room's and it was perfect. It was very spacious, clean, had a big bed, bathtub and separate shower. It also looked out over the grounds and ocean. We highly recommend this hotel and restaurant!

Room Tip: The Palm Court Rooms are wonderful. Large, spacious and very clean.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkspeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comment - We are so happy to know that Mtoni Marine has given you so many memories and that your wedding was one to remember. We appreciate you taking your time to describe your whole experience with all the details. I am sure it is one you will never forget.

Thank you for all the positive comments for our staff and setting of your wedding by Weddings on Zanzibar. We, at Mtoni Marine believe that " The path of happiness is so narrow that two people cannot walk on it unless they become one". We are honored to have had this opportunity to host your wedding on the beach of Mtoni Marine, Zanzibar.

We look forward to your next visit !

Ahsante Sana.

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Decent place with friendly staff. The beach is ok, not great. We felt it was a bit pricey, but that was probably due to the time we went (jan 1st week). We stayed in a villa, which was nice for the family

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandeepAggarwal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on our hotel. We are glad to know that you appreciated your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly. We are always striving to provide our guests with the best services. As you said you stayed with us during the first week of January, that is surely peak season for most of us and so our prices vary according to different seasons. Nevertheless, we are happy you took your time to write about our hotel.

We look forward to being able to serve you again in future.

Thank you.

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Mtoni for 10 days and we didn't want to leave. The rooms are very clean, and those working there where extraordinary friendly and helpful. The people working there seem to enjoy working there and the atmosphere they create is just something one has to experience first hand. We will love to come back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine_h68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sparing your precious time to write about us. We are so pleased to know that you had a good stay and that our staff made you feel comfortable. Our guests' happiness and comfort is always our top priority and we are happy that we met your expectations. We are confident enough to say that without a doubt, our staff enjoy their job and love what they do.

Thanks again! We look forward to having you with us at Mtoni soon.

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
#19 of 37 in Zanzibar City
79 reviews
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
#22 of 33 in Stone Town
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
2.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
293 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kholle House
Kholle House
#15 of 33 in Stone Town
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mtoni Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mtoni Marine Hotel

Address: Malawi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £100 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mtoni Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mtoni Marine is located on the west coast of Zanzibar, 10 minutes north of Stone Town and neighboring the legendary Mtoni Palace. This laid back and family friendly hotel is the ideal location from which to explore Stone Town and the rest of the island, while providing a peaceful retreat from it all. The hotel offers great facilities including a newly built infinity pool, a variety of restaurants and entertainment,Spa,The neighboring Mtoni Palace where Princess Salme was born and the perfect setting for Zanzibar weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mtoni Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mtoni Marine Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing