We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful, relaxing experience in Zanzibar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mtoni Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mtoni Marine Hotel
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful, relaxing experience in Zanzibar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was in Zanzibar for work, and had the pleasure of staying at the Mtoni Marine, the staff are amazing, the rooms are very comfortable and spacious... The food is pretty good too!!

It's definitely a place i would go back to for work or pleasure!! Very easy to forget the "Work" and vacation more, but isn't that what Zanzibar is all about!!

Room Tip: The beach side rooms are more ideal since there is less noise on that end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuranIdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to post a review about our hotel.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nothing gives us more happiness than to know that our guests are satisfied.
We look forward to your next visit!

Thank you
Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    73
    26
    18
    12
See reviews for
54
53
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have been round the world and stayed in many resorts but this has got to be one of the best places we have stayed. The staff are friendly, especially the Marketing Manager Shazma, who went out of her way to make sure that the guests were taken care of, especially the children. High levels of Customer Service and the rooms are excellent. Highly recommend the Mtoni Ruins Concert and Dinner. The resort is so convenient for Stone Town and Forodhani Park. The Swimming Pool is the cleanest I have seen in these parts of the world and a fantastic location to experience the Sunset and Sunrise, sitting by the pool. A very memorable experience and will definitely go again and again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alnoor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review about your stay with us. We are truly very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Zanzibar. On behalf of the team of Mtoni Marine, I would like to thank you for appreciating our efforts and our services. It is always a pleasure and a great feeling to know our guests are satisfied and happy.

Once again, we say thank you & karibu sana.

We very much look forward to your next visit at Mtoni.

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Avoid the bustle of Stonetown, yet remain only a short taxi ride away. Great security! AC works. Professional staff. Next door to Mtoni Palace ruins. Don't miss out on Mtoni night gala affair. Swimming pool excellent. Get a boat ride to prisoner's island and go snorkeling.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on your stay at our hotel.
We are happy that you had a good time here.

We would also like to thank you for recommending an evening at the Mtoni Palace Ruins for the famous concert and dinner program that we have.

We look forward to serving you again soon!

Thank you!

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel, it had all the makings of a disaster as I was told that my reservation for a Palm Court room made via Bookings.com had not gone through and I could either have a club room or look for another hotel. I really wanted a room with a verandah and sea view, so looked at a few other hotels but decided to stay at Mtoni Marine as I was offered a family room (basically a 3 bedroomed villa) and a free concert and dinner at the Mtoni Palace ruins. The reservations manager really tried his best, and later came to the swimming pool to say that they had a cancellation and I had my Palm Court room! The room was delightful, clean, spacious and everything worked.
The swimming pool was clean, good bar meals were served there and the free wifi worked well.
The evening concert and meal at the Mtoni Palace ruins was delightful with a wonderful atmosphere.
On the second day, I opted for the sunset dhow cruise which was good value and the crew were helpful and friendly.
Overall a delightful stay at a delightful, well-run hotel with friendly, helpful staff. I hope to visit again

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank tropicopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
I would like to first apologize to you regarding the misunderstanding with the booking you had made. We are sorry that you had to step out and go look for another alternative. But I am glad that it got sorted and that you finally got what you had booked for.

We are however, very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also enjoyed your evening at the Mtoni Palace Ruins for our famous concert and dinner program.
Once again, thank you so much for appreciating our staff and hotel in general.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Absolutely wonderful place! Staff was friendly and welcoming.

Wonderful accommodation was splendid and area was good although it raining.

Restaurant food was great as well. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful time....

Room Tip: Go in summer not rain season. even though it is still wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanita007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for appreciating our staff and the food too!

We are already looking forward to having you with us again soon.

Karibu sana!

Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I spent a week here. Nothing to really write home about, except maybe the very excellent lime juice served at the pool-side bar! The rooms are average, the food is average. Nothing bad, but nothing spectacular either.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and they do have a variety of day trips they can organize for guests, which was very helpful. There's a particular cab driver based at the hotel called Abdi who was fantastic. Helped us get great rates for a Stone Town tour and a trip to see dolphins on the East Coast. You must also spend an evening at Forodhani Gardens in town for some awesome sea food fest from street vendors.

Basically, we used it as a base for all our other activities in Zanzibar. Not much to do at the hotel itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irofrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at our hotel.
We are not a luxury hotel, but more of a hotel which has comfort and style. Our rooms are very spacious and have a unique style. We are at a very strategic position, being only 10 minutes North of Stone Town makes it easier for our guests to explore the rest of Zanzibar, like you did.
However, we are happy to know that you appreciate our staff and that you got to do a few tours during your visit in Zanzibar.

Thank you so much and we hope that you shall visit us again in near future.

Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Sa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a really good location if you want to be in town. It must have been good about 5 years ago but no maintenance has been done since. Completely over priced for what you get. Food and service is basic. Pay another $20 and you can get a interconnecting room for a couple and 2 kids at the Sea Cliff Zanzibar which is only another 20 minutes away. Sad but I would not recommend Mtoni Marine-

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. It has really saddened us to know that we did not meet your expectations and that you picked another hotel over us.

I am aware that you checked in on Friday afternoon and checked out early morning on Saturday. After your check in, the receptionist on duty had asked if everything was okay and your response was positive. We were surprised when you checked out so early the next morning and upon inquiring your reason for checking out you stated that you were planning on joining a few friends at Sea Cliff and that you only want to know our cancellation policy. Even after the receptionist insisting on asking what the problem was with the hotel, you did not mention what you were unhappy about.

It is a bit surprising for us to hear that our hotel according to you, is not well-maintained as we are constantly working on making our hotel a better place and this evident from all the T.A feedback we receive from guests. I am sorry to say but since you have not visited our hotel for the past 5 years, it is difficult to judge the state of our hotel for just a couple of hours that you were at our premises. Just for the record, we have never received any negative comment regarding maintenance or cleanliness about our hotel.

Once again, we are sorry for not meeting your expectations and we truly hope that you shall visit us again in the future.

Should you want to discuss this matter any further, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you.

Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
4.3 mi away
Mangrove Lodge
Mangrove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chuini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Africa House Hotel
The Africa House Hotel
#26 of 33 in Stone Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
3.2 mi away
Zanzibar Ocean View
Zanzibar Ocean View
#150 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
0.2 mi away
Abla Beach Apartments
Abla Beach Apartments
#76 of 198 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mtoni Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mtoni Marine Hotel

Property: Mtoni Marine Hotel
Address: Malawi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mtoni Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mtoni Marine is located on the west coast of Zanzibar, 10 minutes north of Stone Town and neighboring the legendary Mtoni Palace. This laid back and family friendly hotel is the ideal location from which to explore Stone Town and the rest of the island, while providing a peaceful retreat from it all. The hotel offers great facilities including a newly built infinity pool, a variety of restaurants and entertainment,Spa,The neighboring Mtoni Palace where Princess Salme was born and the perfect setting for Zanzibar weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mtoni Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mtoni Marine Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing