We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beyt Al Salaam(Stone Town)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Princess Salme Inn(Stone Town)(Great Value!)
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
123
81
22
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
81
22
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttlechumbe islandclose to the airportfreed slavesresident managerr rquiet locationcalamaria wonderful staylow tidebeach hotelspice farmthe hotel managersea foodthoroughly enjoyed our staysmall poolindian ocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Thank you for a very pleasant stay at Mbweni Ruins- we were very well taken care of and all the staff was helpful, quick and smiling. We felt very welcome and came to relax very easily.

We came late in the evening and had to check out at 10 am but we were most welcome to stay and relax the whole day which was so nice- we went for some shopping in town and then back to the hotel for some couple of hours relaxing on the beach and chilling in the pool.
On the premises there is a spa with a very professional hairdresser who cut our hair- great!

The hotel is a hidden gem in the city, I really recommend to stay here if you are spending some time in Stonetown. Stonetown can be busy and then it's so nice to come "home" and just be shut out of all the noise and traffic. AND you can enjoy the beach and the sky full of stars in the night!

Thank you for making us so comfortable & relaxed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karinkarinkarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear karinkarinkarin

Jambo from Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this great review. i could not have described hotel and what it offers any better! I am really glad that you had a fantastic time and the TEAM ensured your comfort. I will share your feedback with them. We look forward to host you again soon.


Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We chose this hotel as it was close to the airport and moslty because it is in front of the docking bay from which Chumbe Island boat transfers start. When we reached the hotel we were also very pleasanty surprised by the warm and efficient welcome of the resident manager and overall by the staff.
The hotel premises are very beautiful and facilities exceeded our expectations. The room was cosy and very clear, right in front of beach. The botanic garden is worth a few walks as the ruins. The hotel also has some adorable "pets" such as a bush baby and 2 dogs, completly in the wild but also very friendly.
Breakfast was very sumptious andthey even had sushi!
The beach is located so as to face sunset and you can swim between the mangroves or plunge off the dock.

We stayed just one night (28thJune 2014) as we had considered it as a "transfer" hotel but going back we would hav e stayed more. They even managed to organize a few taxi trip issues we had.

We strongly recommend this hotel for at least your first few days in Zanzibar.

Room Tip: We had a Beach view room and it was amazing but I am sure those facing the botanic garden are just as fascinating!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Samantha_Max

Jambo from Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this detailed review. I am really glad that you had a fantastic time and Dolf, the Resident Manager, and his TEAM ensured your comfort. I will share your feedback with them. We look forward to host you again soon.


Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I just sopped by this hotel for lunch while visiting the Mbweni Ruins and found it to be a hidden gem. While the ruins themselves were a slight dissapointment the hotel had magnificiant views of the ocean, great food and a spa at the ruin sites!!!!! Very interesting I thought.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelbuggy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear GUEST

Good day, thank you for visiting our hotel and dining with us. I am glad to hear that our TEAM looked after you well and that you appreciated the view, ambiance and the facilities. We hope to host you some time soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Protea Mbweni is a beautiful hotel with very friendly, efficient staff. The food is delicious food and very well served and presented. The hotel is in a stunning location, you step out of your room onto a beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the beach are super convenient
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProProtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear GUEST

Good day, thank you for choosing us as your final pit stop after a successful Kili climb. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Everyone seems to like this peachy hotel for vacation, and I couldn't agree more. The location is marvellous in every respect and the staff is so warm-hearted, always helpful and very professional. For the first two days of our stay we had chosen Mbweni Ruins Hotel, however, as the location for a workshop. A truely perfect choice: The hotel management had reserved a shaded open-air area as workshop venue and we had the luxury of a phantastic sea view and a nice breeze throughout the workshop - an extraordinary and very conducive atmosphere! The coast line in front of the hotel is a rare combination of sand beach and mangrove forest, and I enjoyed very much the opportunity to ride about the mangrove area in a kayak during high tide. All in all: a perfect stay!

Wolfgang H.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Wolfgang H

Jambo, thank you for staying with us and choosing our hotel facilities for your workshop. I am really glad that you had a fantastic time with us. I will share your feedback with the TEAM. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews