We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel is set in fantastic grounds with the gardens, the ruins and the beach. The rooms are on the small side but they are clean and well equipped. The staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you, the restaurant is good and the views over the ocean can not be beaten. A great place to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoFi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear GUEST

Jambo from Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this great review. I am really glad that you had a fantastic time and the TEAM ensured your comfort. I will share your feedback with them. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Plus Points: rooms are clean, the beach is very nice and the compound is well kept. AC works very well. Minus points: triple rooms are small for three adults with just a little shelf for clothes. Rooms have little light. Food at the restaurant is decent but service is rather poor. Specifically, waiters are overanxious to take plates away even when still full of food. Some waiters barely speak English. Extra services are incredibly expensive: excursions cost 3 times the price that is charged in nearby Stone Town and we paid $19 for a small laundry. We enjoyed our stay but for the relatively high price we were expecting a bit more...

Room Tip: room 12 has a nice sea view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank trip_lover_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear GUEST

Jambo from Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this candid review. Thank you for both the positives and the negatives you pointed out. We will be renovating our existing facilities and expand the hotel starting Jan 2015. All the facilities related issues will be addressed then. We will however address the service related issues as soon as possible. Extremely sorry for any inconvenience caused. Please note that tours are outsourced and they are organized by a third party, and we don't have any control over their pricing. We will bring your feedback to their attention, even-though the charges are in line with what other companies charge.

We look forward to host you again and offer an excellent experience.


Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Thank you for a very pleasant stay at Mbweni Ruins- we were very well taken care of and all the staff was helpful, quick and smiling. We felt very welcome and came to relax very easily.

We came late in the evening and had to check out at 10 am but we were most welcome to stay and relax the whole day which was so nice- we went for some shopping in town and then back to the hotel for some couple of hours relaxing on the beach and chilling in the pool.
On the premises there is a spa with a very professional hairdresser who cut our hair- great!

The hotel is a hidden gem in the city, I really recommend to stay here if you are spending some time in Stonetown. Stonetown can be busy and then it's so nice to come "home" and just be shut out of all the noise and traffic. AND you can enjoy the beach and the sky full of stars in the night!

Thank you for making us so comfortable & relaxed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karinkarinkarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear karinkarinkarin

Jambo from Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this great review. i could not have described hotel and what it offers any better! I am really glad that you had a fantastic time and the TEAM ensured your comfort. I will share your feedback with them. We look forward to host you again soon.


Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We chose this hotel as it was close to the airport and moslty because it is in front of the docking bay from which Chumbe Island boat transfers start. When we reached the hotel we were also very pleasanty surprised by the warm and efficient welcome of the resident manager and overall by the staff.
The hotel premises are very beautiful and facilities exceeded our expectations. The room was cosy and very clear, right in front of beach. The botanic garden is worth a few walks as the ruins. The hotel also has some adorable "pets" such as a bush baby and 2 dogs, completly in the wild but also very friendly.
Breakfast was very sumptious andthey even had sushi!
The beach is located so as to face sunset and you can swim between the mangroves or plunge off the dock.

We stayed just one night (28thJune 2014) as we had considered it as a "transfer" hotel but going back we would hav e stayed more. They even managed to organize a few taxi trip issues we had.

We strongly recommend this hotel for at least your first few days in Zanzibar.

Room Tip: We had a Beach view room and it was amazing but I am sure those facing the botanic garden are just a...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Samantha_Max

Jambo from Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this detailed review. I am really glad that you had a fantastic time and Dolf, the Resident Manager, and his TEAM ensured your comfort. I will share your feedback with them. We look forward to host you again soon.


Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I just sopped by this hotel for lunch while visiting the Mbweni Ruins and found it to be a hidden gem. While the ruins themselves were a slight dissapointment the hotel had magnificiant views of the ocean, great food and a spa at the ruin sites!!!!! Very interesting I thought.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelbuggy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear GUEST

Good day, thank you for visiting our hotel and dining with us. I am glad to hear that our TEAM looked after you well and that you appreciated the view, ambiance and the facilities. We hope to host you some time soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Protea Mbweni is a beautiful hotel with very friendly, efficient staff. The food is delicious food and very well served and presented. The hotel is in a stunning location, you step out of your room onto a beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the beach are super convenient
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProProtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear GUEST

Good day, thank you for choosing us as your final pit stop after a successful Kili climb. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Everyone seems to like this peachy hotel for vacation, and I couldn't agree more. The location is marvellous in every respect and the staff is so warm-hearted, always helpful and very professional. For the first two days of our stay we had chosen Mbweni Ruins Hotel, however, as the location for a workshop. A truely perfect choice: The hotel management had reserved a shaded open-air area as workshop venue and we had the luxury of a phantastic sea view and a nice breeze throughout the workshop - an extraordinary and very conducive atmosphere! The coast line in front of the hotel is a rare combination of sand beach and mangrove forest, and I enjoyed very much the opportunity to ride about the mangrove area in a kayak during high tide. All in all: a perfect stay!

Wolfgang H.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Wolfgang H

Jambo, thank you for staying with us and choosing our hotel facilities for your workshop. I am really glad that you had a fantastic time with us. I will share your feedback with the TEAM. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
3.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
547 reviews
34.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
21.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,600 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins

Address: Plot number 143/93, Mbweni Street | Kiembe Samakie, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £102 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Protea in the beautiful Zanzibar, Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins provides the perfect choice for both beach and Stone Town holidays in Zanzibar. We are located amidst Mbweni Ruins dating back to 1870s and a beautiful botanical garden. The hotel is ten minutes away from Stone Town, airport, ferry terminal and the CBD of Zanzibar. Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins is a cozy boutique hotel offering serene accommodations amidst a rare blend of history, greenery and ocean with a beautiful beach. Traditional Zanzibar hospitality at its best is offered at an affordable price. It's a hotel that complements your travel style. The site where the hotel is built was once an old Arab house, which was then bought by UMCA missionaries in 1871 to build a school for girls. The hotel makes a perfect base for exploring Stone Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mbweni Ruins
Protea Hotel By Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing