We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location”
Review of Chavda Hotel Ltd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chavda Hotel Ltd
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Built around a quiet little tile courtyard The Chavda is a lovely hotel. It has the feel of a middle eastern merchant's house starting from the huge brass studded doors at the entrance to the pierced metal work lamps and wide plank floors. We booked our room through Hotels.com and got a great deal. We got a big king sized bed in the traditional local style, with a comfy foam mattress and mosquito nets that were in good condition and closed properly. The room itself was generously sized and the bathroom had good water pressure and very hot hot water (be careful it is hot). The staff are friendly and helpful and could arrange day trips, drivers and other activities if you wanted but they weren't overly pushy (we did run across this in other places we stayed). The rooftop restaurant had good wi-fi service and you could see most of Stone Town and some of the coast while you sipped your drink. Also the breakfast had a fantastic selection of fresh fruit and real coffee that actually tasted quite decent a nice change for eastern Africa. If your going to Stone Town I would recommend the Chavda as a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pina_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    36
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
10
25
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaarst
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The hotel is situated in a perfect location in the heart of Stone Town.
Only a few minutes walk to the seaside, the museum and the old fort.
Roms are large and very clean with excellent airco.
Interior is nice sansibary style.
Nice rooftop restaurant where also a excellent breakfast is served.
Service and staff is really extraordinary but friendly and supportive.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eiyha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Hotel was everything I thought it would be. Great location and beautiful property. Great double room. Hot shower and AC. Price was competitive with other places. Accommodations were clean. I would return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 396Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The rum we boked was a suite with 2 rom.
Nice bedd, nice shower, good brekfast and god ala carte in the retsturang, wery good wi-fi at the resturang ( didn work in the room )
Perfect spott in the town.
Dont forget to taje a beer at Freddy Mercury resturant/bar.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nidorf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This hotel was great! Great location. It was perfectly clean and comfortable with hot showers, a tasty breakfast, and a beautiful view from the rooftop restaurant. The staff was attentive and accommodating. We were looking to splurge a bit, and definitely felt like we got what we paid for. Still, there are cheaper options around Stone Town if you look for them.

Room Tip: The staff are very helpful with scheduling activities for a good price, but you have to know what th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

after many mixed reviews of this hotel, i have to admit it was a lot better than i had expected. we arrived and were put into a wonderful twin room, which was actually two separate inter connecting double rooms, with en-suite facilities in both rooms, mini bars and televisions. for an overnight to explore stone town, i would recommend the hotel, they have their own backup generator, which is convenient if the power fails, and i did not see any rusty bathroom fittings. sure, it is what it is, you are not going to be waited on hand and foot, but was impressed with the air conditioners, which were a godsend and all in all a comfortable nights sleep. food wise, i would probably recommend a restaurant in the area, but the rooftop restaurant and bar is great for sun downers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirrahcram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

As part of our Zanzibar honeymoon we spent three nights at Chavda Hotel.
From the outside the hotel looks great. It's very pretty and both the outside, the hallways, and the courtyard are kept in the old Stone Town style.
Besides, everything was bad at the hotel. The rooms are dark and smelly with rusty bath rooms. The view from the rooftop restaurant was beautiful but the food was terrible.

Our first problem occured soon after arrival. We had booked a honey moon suite via Expedia but were giving a small room. We asked whether this really was a suite and they told us that it was indeed a suite. Later when asking to see a regular double room we realized that we had been given a regular and not a suite. Getting a refund for the two nights we spent in the regular room took hours that we could had spent in the city.

Besides the hotel had a terrible staff policy. When we returned a dish we hadn't ordered we saw our waiter getting yelled at by a superior until he began crying. Other staff told us any returns would be taking from their salaries.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danish-salik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stone Town hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#23 of 34 in Stone Town
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#28 of 34 in Stone Town
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 34 in Stone Town
642 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tausi Palace Hotel
Tausi Palace Hotel
#20 of 34 in Stone Town
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 34 in Stone Town
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chavda Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chavda Hotel Ltd

Property: Chavda Hotel Ltd
Address: Baghani Street | East of Kenyatta Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chavda Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chavda Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chavda Hotel Stone Town
Chavda Hotel Ltd Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing