We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Style Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Style Charm”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Our stay at the lovely "olde world" Zanzibar Palace Hotel was great. The owner, Frans was friendly and very helpful as were all the staff. The evening meal prepared by the chef was fantastic!
The location of the hotel was perfect for taking in a tour of Stone Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    121
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
74
343
47
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We booked a two week trip through Imagine Africa who arranged all our safaris and accommodation extremely well and efficiently.

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is brilliantly located in old Stone Town. The hotel has huge amounts of character and the rooms are spacious. We stayed 2 nights and arranged trips to Jozani Forest and saw the Blue Sykes and Colobus monkey; a walking tour of town, a boat trip to see the giant tortoises on Prison Island and the best spice garden tour we have ever done.

All the staff were really helpful and the food great especially the passion fruit and avocado drink. Free wi=fi was a bonus. Hotel is in quiet area away from mosques !

Room Tip: There is a massage parlour run by the hotel but next door - fab ! The stairs are a bit steep and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

2 nights in a fab little hotel. Great chef ...food and staff. Owner was extremely accommodating. Loved the town and hustle and bustle. The Dunia suite was amazing. We also went out on day trip ti prison island. It was a lovely outing and the snorkelling was great. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Only having one night in Stonetown we opted for the Zanzibar Palace for it's location & on review recommendations. It didn't disappoint! Fantastic boutique hotel and we were in the Shaba room complete with the most amazing bathroom with a bath that could have doubled as a plunge pool!
Staff are so attentive & friendly ... and the bar may be small & cosy but the cocktails pack a punch - welcome reward after climbing Kilimanjaro. Free wifi too & really good coffee at breakfast time.
Highly recommend a stay

Room Tip: There are only 9 rooms in the hotel and we stayed in Shaba which we loved - the bath is big enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luce01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I travelled by myself to Zanzibar for a weekend, and both the hotel and the staff exceeded my expectations. Robert was very welcoming, accommodating, and let me have a late check out since my flight didn't leave until 5PM. The breakfast was wonderful, and they arrange taxi transport for you for tours and to and from the airport if you want! One of the nicest places I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EShoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We chose this hotel after a friends recommendation. A great find! The service was outstanding, we travelled with our children aged 9&11 and the staff could not have been more attentive or accommodating.

We had a fantastic time in Stonetown and have fond memories of of our time there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed at the Zanzibar palace for two nights at the start of this month after a week in mainland Tanzania and a week in northern Zanzbar.
Robert and the staff are superb and could not be more helpful giving us first class guidence on what to do in Stone Town. They arranged a guided tour with a local guy called GODFREY KASISI who was really very very knowledgable and helpful.
The buliding is lovely with many original features but if you cannot " hack " stairs this is not the place for you, we stayed on the top floor in the Rosewood Room that was good.
We did not eat in the hotel at night, and for that matter few others did either. This is an area that we felt they needed to be bit more ambitious, there is a spa treatment room but it only open on request. This is situated in a building next to the hotel that also has a roof top terrace, perhaps the restauarnt should be up there??
Anyway they are really nice people and desreve to suceed but there is an awful lot of new and very good competition about.

Room Tip: They all looked good but Roswood is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Property: Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing