We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay; A well managed hotel; Staff were very friendly and helpful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I had a very nice stay here. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was well run and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. I would have liked to stay longer than the one night there. Next time perhaps I will spend longer in Stone Town. I have no hesitation in recommending the Zanzibar Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gleesonmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a great place. Well appointed, thoughtful staff, filling breakfast. Robert was able to help us with all our needs, arranging a spice tour, a trip to Prison Island, and a ride up to Nungwi beach. The staff was very responsive to all our requests.

When returned to Stone Town after the Northern Zanzibar beach, they thoughtfully upgraded our room to a suite, as two of our party were leaving on a 3:30am flight.

Great place, and I wish them the best of luck.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitterroot82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in early March this year, I specifically chose this hotel for the room with the open view bathroom.

Being on honeymoon and after a week on safari with canvas tents, this hotel was beyond luxurious - beautifully decorated with old wooden furniture, colourful lamps, cushions and drapes, it truly gives a feeling of being in an ancient Arabic palace. The bed was huge and very comfortable, positioned on tall pillars, so you have to climb up using those decorative chests on either side - like in the old films of a Thousand and one Arabic nights! The roof-top bathroom where you are showering while observing the dhows passing by in the harbour - it was absolutely spectacular! Highly recommend for honeymooners.

Both nights it was raining at night and early morning; by the time we finished breakfast it was mostly sunny again, and the city felt clean and washed.

The breakfast was tasty. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, as the food there was mostly western, and we were craving for curry. This is probably the only suggestion I would offer - to make the dinner choices more elaborate and varied, as we were keen to eat in the hotel the night we arrived.

There were no mosquitos, even though the net was provided.

Hotel was quiet, located in a fairly quiet street close to harbour, there was music heard from far away, but it was not disturbing.

The hotel management is very polite and attentive, the staff is friendly and helpful.

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Zanzibar Palace!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this cozy hotel. The management and staff are very professional and were always willing to go a step farther step to assist us with whatever request we had. Thank you all very much for accomodating all of our requests and Kyle's; I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience Stone Town to its fullest.

Room Tip: lower rooms are best if you're not up for the challenge of climbing stairs; however, the staff i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We loved everything about the Zanzibar Palace hotel. I thought this boutique hotel with its unique ambience & great personalized service was worthy of a 5 star rating.
It is hidden away in one of the winding narrow alleyways of Stonetown, close to shops & within walking distance to the sea. The hotel is very discreet from the outside but once you set foot inside, it is like stepping into another world. It's filled with loads of history, character & charm. We received a very warm welcome by the assistant manager. He was very attentive & hospitable & he couldn't do enough for us. He quickly organised a very informative city tour of Stonetown at a cheaper cost than what we would have paid if we had organised it ourselves. The rest of the staff were also very friendly & helpful. We were kindly given an upgrade to "The Sultana room". This room was huge with a large balcony overlooking the rooftops. It was so beautifully furnished & tastefully decorated. Lots of nice touches, Bookcase with books, a large bath & a safe to lock away valuables. Complimentary ironing was provided & on our return from our night out, the room was prepared with the mosquito nets & air conditioning was switched on to cool down the room. The breakfast was lovely. Although I have a gluten free diet there was still ample between the omelette I ordered & a selection of food from the buffet. I would definitely recommend staying here but stay for at least 2 nights if you can so you have plenty of time to appreciate the experience.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BrisbaneWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was a lovely boutique hotel. We had a warm welcome and a cold drink on arrival. Mark, Robert and the whole staff team were helpful, friendly and attentive. Our room, the Sultana Suite, was beautiful; the balcony ran the length of the hotel and was an amazing place to watch Stone town from. Mark and Robert arranged two trips for us, a guided walk around Stone Town and a trip to Prison island both really enjoyable. They advised us about the best pharmacist, the nearest ATM and they even sorted out a problem with our return flight.
Breakfast was good, the coffee was particularly good and I am very fussy about my coffee!
For us this was the perfect place to stay, it had character, a degree of luxury, a good central location and most of all lovely staff.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front which was great to watch the world go by. The stairs were steep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The location is perfect, close to the attractions Stone Town has to offer, but at the same time in a quiter part of the town. On arrival, we were presented with a passion fruit smoothie/juice and a cold towel, and our luggage was taken up to the room for us. The hotel and the rooms are decorated with antique, traditional Zanzibari furniture, but have all modern facilities. Breakfast is very good, with many options. The staff was very helpful and was interested in making our stay as good as possible. Their spa is also worth a try!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
18.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £109 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing