We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£87
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£105
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£105
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
RikA1
Ghent, Belgium

Charming and friendly

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2024
Very charming and original hotel in the old Stone Town. In the middle of the historical city. Everyone exceptionally friendly and helpfull. You can get help in booking excursions end trips, with usefull and honest advise. Good breakfast.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela Brenco, Owner at Zanzibar Palace Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 10 Apr 2024
Thank you for taking the time to send this feedback. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£85
  • Agoda.com
    £92
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
0.1 miles from Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£87
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £91
  • Agoda.com
    £66
  • Hotels.com
    £91
0.4 miles from Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Restaurant, lounge & bar
Booking.com
£71
  • Expedia.com
    £86
  • StayForLong
    £63
  • Agoda.com
    £76
0.2 miles from Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£71
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £46
  • Expedia.com
    £66
  • Hotels.com
    £66
0.2 miles from Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£94
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £94
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£72
  • Expedia.com
    £78
  • Agoda.com
    £64
  • Hotels.com
    £78
0.4 miles from Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£264
  • Expedia.com
    £331
  • StayForLong
    £260
  • Hotels.com
    £308
0.5 miles from Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£111
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
    £97
  • Hotels.com
    £101
0.1 miles from Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
£72
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £62
  • Expedia.com
    £80
0.3 miles from Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£399
  • Hotels.com
    £399
  • ZenHotels.com
    £285
  • Vio.com
0.4 miles from Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Stone Town
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
618
144
29
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
618
144
29
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor steep stairs two nights no elevator walking tour charming hotel third floor forodhani gardens call to prayer the location is perfect dunia daniela suite zanzibar heart stonetown arabica
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2024

Nice place, big room, only minus is stairs up to the toilet. There could have been a mini fridge so you can get cold water.there are many steps approx 90 up to the room, it gives some exercise, but it's ok. The staff is super friendly.A bit boring breakfast, the same everyday. The hotel is well located for walking around.

Room tip: You have to be able to handle stairs, there is no elevator
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela Brenco, Owner at Zanzibar Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms and friendly staff. Apologies for any inconvenience with the stairs, but we're pleased they provided a bit of exercise. We'll work on adding variety to our breakfast options. We're happy you found our location convenient for exploring and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2024

We were warmly welcomed by staff members with fast, efficient check in and was presented with cold Passionate Fruit drinks which were cold and tasty. No elevator in hotel but I was able to walk the stairs daily without any problems. The room were comfortable size with excellent wifi and cold air. There are 3 English stations on room TV 6,7, and 22. The included breakfast was good with lots of choices. Also Coffee was delivered to my room every morning on request with no charge. The Staff was very nice and efficient including the Owner Danielle. The locations has plenty of souvenir shops and Restaurants right outside of the door. We felt very safe walking day and night. The dinner is served from 1800-2000. The food was excellent. Also a 13 minute walk to the 6 degree restaurant and a 5 minute walk to The Old Fort restaurant with both having excellent foods and both took Visa. Out thanks to Danielle and the wonderful staff for an enjoyable visit.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Papawillie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela Brenco, Owner at Zanzibar Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Big thanks for sharing your experience! Your feedback means a lot, especially since you hung around for almost a week, giving you the chance to really check out the Zanzibar Palace Hotel and soak in the vibes of Stone Town. We get you've got other spots on your travel list, but fingers crossed Zanzibar makes it back into your plans someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2024

The hotel is clean, the restaurant is very tasting but above all staff is super super kind and make you feel always welcome.
The structure does not have the elevator but the staff bring your luggages to the rooms and down and some steps worth a stay there because it is in a perfect position for visiting the town and do excursions (if you stay in Nungwi and you want to go to Nakupenda you have to make 2 hours drive to the port).

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maria Giovanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela Brenco, Owner at Zanzibar Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Thank you! We appreciate your feedback and are happy you enjoyed your stay and all that Stone Town has to offer. Please come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2024

The hotel ordered a taxi for us, which waited for us at the airport and quickly took us to the place. I recommend this hotel, very good location, atmospheric interior, delicious breakfast, very nice staff and the owner. After checking out, we could easily leave our luggage and explore Stone Town.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela Brenco, Owner at Zanzibar Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Thank you for sharing your experience: we're happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024

Had a fabulous time at the Palace Hotel! Our room was exceptionally clean and comfy. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning before heading out for the day. Highly recommend dinning there for lunch and/or dinner- delicious! The highlight of our stay however was the outstanding staff. We were treated with the utmost kindness and care, always with a warm smile. Daniela is the lovely owner of the hotel and will ensure your stay is wonderful!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank susandQ7871JQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela Brenco, Owner at Zanzibar Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2024

Thank you Susan for taking the time to write this great review. I will pass it on to the staff. We're all happy you enjoyed staying at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel and hope you come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews