We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel”
Review of Beyt Al Salaam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beyt Al Salaam
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Reviewed 14 January 2008

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed our stay. We chose this hotel because it offered the opportunity to stay in a traditional house in the heart of stone town and it didn't disappoint, though it is quite a pricey experience.

The building has been beautifully renovated, on the ground floor there is the reception room and restaurant, then on the first floor are 2 bedrooms and a guest lounge stocked with coffee books and an honesty bar, whilst on the top floor are the remaining four bedrooms. We actually booked the princess room (the cheapest and only small room), but were upgraded to one of the prince rooms on arrival as the hotel wasn't full, much to our advantage. All the rooms are decorated differently, but all offer zanzibar style beds (similar to a four poster but structured to support the mosquito net), and in addition to the usual bedroom furniture, our room also had a sofa. The rooms all have air conditioning and a ceiling fan, though the fan wasn't that effective through the mosquito net and we had to resort to using the a/c every evening. The bathroom in our room was large, though the shower wasn't always hot, and in some rooms the toilet and shower/bath are screened off with a curtain rather than separated by a wall/door from the main part of the room, which may not be to everyone's liking.

The hotel is on the north western edge of Stone Town, close to the sea and in a good area, there are a number of restaurants that you can safely walk to from the hotel and the night market in Forodhani gardens is also within walking distance. The main disadvantage of the location is it's proximity to a mosque, you can't really fail to hear the call to prayer at sunrise, though for me it added atmosphere and it was easy enough to go back to sleep.

Service at Breakfast was a bit hit and miss, breakfast consisted of fruit, bread and cookies and eggs that were cooked to order. The food was fine, but on 2 occasions we waited for more than 10 minutes before anyone came to serve us (and we had made an effort to find someone in that time). Service otherwise was excellent, the rooms were very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful,and every evening when you go out for dinner they come in, turn down the bed, spray mosquito repellent in the room and put the mosquito net surrounding the bed down. We checked out in the middle of a torrential downpour, in an effort to keep us dry on the way to our transfer, the masai guard lent us each an umbrella and then followed us round in the pouring rain to collect them, a nice touch.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank womanintokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Beyt Al Salaam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2007

I would agree with the other reviews, this is a small hotel, very individual in style. Excellent location near to everything and opposite Serna Inn if you get lost! Rooms are quite big with excellent AC and ceiling fan, windows open onto Kelele Square which is lovely and shaded with large trees.

Bathrooms were clean and large with rainforest shower (at least in room I had) and toiletries. Zanzibari beds and furniture. Lovely to have a little tray with tea and coffee in room. The sitting room was comfortable and peaceful with some lovely books, particularly liked the wonderful "coffee table" cookery books. The honesty bar was a nice touch. I stayed towards the end of the season and I think there were only two guests in hotel, perhaps because of this staff were not on top of making sure there was water and cold drinks in the fridge all the time (it's a small thing but so important in this part of the world). Breakfast area is a funny little "lean to" affair - not unpleasant - just odd - can't really imagine what it would have been like had hotel been full!

As I understand it, the hotel is about to open a restaurant in one of the downstairs rooms so I imagine breakfast will soon be served there. That said I was unfortunate to feel unwell during my stay and I would like to extend my thanks everyone at the hotel who looked after me but ESPECIALLY to Pious who walked with me to find a chemist and then escorted me back to my hotel.

I hope nothing changes too much - especially the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank london5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2007

This wonderful boutique hotel is located in the heart of the historical Stonetown.It offers a very personalised touch and service, and just a few exclusive luxurious rooms. We had two fantastic rooms furnished with local antiques, rugs, and lots of other beautiful pieces. We stayed there overnight and wish we would have planned to stay longer to enjoy this little oasis of peace.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ZoeCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

Zanzibar was just amazing and Ras Nungwi where we stayed at the North of the island is worth a visit too.

In Stone Town we stayed at a new place called Beyt al Chai. It is really a lovely old B&B. It was a former tea house they told us and looked very colonial in style. It was recommended to us and we liked it very much. It is what Stone Town is all about and is well kept and very well run. Very authentic style and not a big fussy hotel. The staff were super, really friendly and could not have been nicer to us.

The rooms were huge and very much what we had hoped for; four poster Zanzibar beds, cool (with ceiling fans) and well appointed open plan bathroom areas. We also liked the lovely sitting room great for drinks from the little honesty bar or just for relaxing with a book.

The location of Beyt could not be better in Stone Town. Safe and central. Stone Town itself is worth a visit but be prepared it is very poor and not ion a great state of repair. We'd recommend that you do spend a couple of days there though just to get a feel for the real Zanzibar - you will not get that in the beach resorts to be honest.

Overall we had a superb time on Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank georgewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Styliste Modeli... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rania010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#28 of 33 in Stone Town
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#24 of 33 in Stone Town
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tausi Palace Hotel
Tausi Palace Hotel
#20 of 33 in Stone Town
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyt Al Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyt Al Salaam

Address: | Kelele Square, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3120, Tanzania (Formerly Beyt al Chai)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £51 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyt Al Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who want to experience the charm of a classic Zanzibar setting with a touch of ancient Arabian mystique, the place is Beyt Al Salaam, formerly known as Beyt Al Chai. This is an exquisite 10-room boutique hotel within a traditional Zanzibar house, built on 3 floors in what was once a tea house. Sitting only a few paces from the sea, the house is cool and breezy. On a typical day, guests relax in our beautifully appointed lounge and rooms overlooking a square filled with hibiscus and ancient tamarind trees - simultaneously feeling the pull of the mysterious Indian Ocean that lies just beyond the trees and soaking up the ambiance of this World Heritage Site only steps away from the shops, restaurants and attractions of contemporary Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beyt Al Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beyt Al Chai Hotel Stone Town
Beyt Al Salaam Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing