We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beyt Al Salaam
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Al Johari(Stone Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Al Minar(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dhow Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kisiwa House(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tausi Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
67
54
18
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
54
18
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut crabboutique hotellocation is greatthe hotel's restaurantbreakfast staffstandard roomon arrivalquiet areathree night staybed was comfortablepassion fruitair conditioningwooden furnituremini barper nightevery eveningmosquito net
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed there beginning of January. The room was huge (more a suite than a room), with two beds and two (small) bathrooms.

This place has a lot of charm, but gives the impression it could be better maintained and so seems a little dusty and old, but is nevertheless worth a stay.

The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneAdvisedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I recently stayed at Beyt al Chai. It is a great place; I agree with the other reviewers who rave about the staff here, the rooms, the location (just a short walk from a public beach where you can do morning exercises with the fishermen, walk on the beach, ponder, etc...) However, I did learn just today that the property has been sold and that they are closing at the end of March 2013. Double check before you make a reservation.
Having said all of this, the team here was just as nice and attentive as if the hotel would live on in perpetuity. It's a pity it's not going to...at least in its current incarnation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beyt A, Manager at Beyt Al Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Greetings from newly refurbished 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant Beyt al Salaam!

I'd like to take this opportunity to say a big thank you to you for acknowledging our service at former Beyt Al Chai hotel. The property indeed has been sold and now is part of the bigger Hotel Group that operates Doubletree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar Nungwi and Doubletree by Hilton Dar es Salaam. Soon we will be opening one morer hotel in Zanzibar, Doubletree by Hilton Stone Town.

The new management have inherited the great team with their can do attitude and attention to detail, we constantly monitor our guests feedback and ensure consistence in our service. We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel and restaurant.

Gabriella Alexander
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel is really a good place to stay when you visit Stonetown for a few days. Just 5 minutes walk from the labyrint of little streets and peacefull and quiet so you can relax after walking around this beautiful place. There are just a few rooms and that makes this hotel very personal. The crew is nice and helpfull and the rooms are clean and cool. And that makes it really a good place to stay after the heat of the town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liesbeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We were quite impressed with the Beyt al Chai. The hotel only has 5 rooms and is a restored period building with lots of great history. The Islamic influenced architecture makes you feel like you are really some place exotic. The rooms have been lovingly renovated and are clean and functional, roomy and airy. The AC unit kept us cool at night and the step up shower had plentiful hot water. We actually had a suite, though we didn't really use the sitting room at all as it was dark and windowless. The bedroom had a number of windows that had partial sea views. The location is great, right on the western edge of Stone Town, only minutes walk from Forodhani Park and the labyrinthian streets and alleys if the historic town. The service at the hotel was excellent, we felt very welcome and the staff were always eager to please and help out. The downstairs restaurant was very good for our breakfasts and although we didn't eat our evening meals there, it is reportedly very good. There is free Wifi in the rooms but no TV. We really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely return there in the future. This hotel is recommended to all other travelers planning to stay in Stone Town. Really a nice spot!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This hotel reminded me of something you see in movies from colonial Africa. My suite was placed on the 3rd floor. It contained a huge main room and adjacent shower room and a separate toilet. During the day the windows are kept open to let air into the room. The disadvantage of this is that the inside temperature was 29 degrees Celsius. The bed is surrounded by a mosquito net to keep any unwanted "friends" out of your bed. The only such thing I saw was a tiny gecko in my toilet room one night.

Stone Town suffer power outages regularly. The greatest disadvantage for you in this is that your AC will not automatically turn back on. Which means that if your trying to chill your room you run the risk of having your effort thwarted by a power outage, even if the outage is only a few seconds.

If you want to stay in something that feel authentic, and have a African experience I highly recommend this. If your a comfort creature that wants your room a steady X degree, and absolutely no chance of bugs this is not for you.

The hotel has an excellent restaurant. You'll eat breakfast here in the morning, but it is also highly recommended to try it for your evening meal. The service is great, and the food the same. The only negative thing is that it can take a while before getting the food. Estimate an hour for breakfast.

The hotel does not have fitness center or a pool. It is located 100m from the beach. However the beach does not have any sun-chairs, nor is the beach an excellent beach. The tours offed from the hotel is severely overcharged. For example a spice tour from the hotel cost 60USD per person, while we got it for 40USD for 5 people on the street.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akaLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews