We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the ferry, friendly staff, great breakfast!”
Review of Princess Salme Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Princess Salme Inn
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Close to the ferry, friendly staff, great breakfast!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel. It is only a five minute walk from the ferry (although you do have to look for it well as we found no sign, just ask around I'd say, no use for a taxi if you arrive by ferry). We stayed here before and after our trip to the north of Zanzibar, and stayed a few days each time.

It was decently priced (47 USD for double room with bathroom) for a nice, clean room. There was AC and a vent, the shower included a shampoo and soap dispenser and there was a small safe. And a comfy bed! The staff is very friendly and helpful and they make the most lovely breakfast (I never left the breakfast table hungry). They also help if you want to take any kind of tour around the island.

There is also free WIFI, but you can only access it on the roof or on the top floor. We also saw a tv on the roof, although we did not use it, so I have no idea whether or not it works. But you'll have enough to do in Stone Town instead of watching tv, anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor if you'd like WIFI access in the room itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    74
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
57
28
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stenungsund
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was our fourth stay at the Princess Salme Inn, and I must confess my review is biased by the simple fact that I like the place and its staff. Every time my wife and I have been received and taken care of far better then in many posh hotels. The place is simple but adequate and extremly clean. The booking works nicely on the net, but as old customers we were also able to make a telephone booking when we, due to change of plans, needed a few extra nights.
I said it before but must say it again: The staff is very friendly and helpful, nothings seems to be a problem for them. And all with a smile.
We find the place well situated, as we often come by boat (close to the ferry landing and to the dhow harbour). We have found the surroundings safe and quiet.
The only spot on their shirt is the entrance from the street. It is still dirty and more or less through other people's kitchen... We don't mind, but others may.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Friendly and helpful staff and very comfortable room.
Good location.
Good breakfast.
Good wifi.

Safe - some reviews say they found the location unsafe, but I felt as safe here as I did in any parts of east africa. There are the usual hawkers but they were fairly polite and did understand no.

Also, I used the laundry service and it was efficient and clean. another traveller mentions a bad experience and paying upfront and I'm surprised they even offered to pay upfront as it's normal practice to pay on collection anywhere I have been.

Room Tip: Single room was very comfortable, clean and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coylehugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, had a/c and a fan. We stayed 7 nights and really enjoyed our stay. the laundry-service was good, the breakfast was very good. the staff was really nice and helpful. They offer almost all tours you can do on Zanzibar to decent prices. We were asked everyday if our room needs cleaning and we could decide.
The internet works, although it sometimes is really slow, but ist works all the time. That is a good thing! There is free tea and coffee all day.
If we come back to Stonetown, we'd stay at the Princess Salme Inn and no place else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We went to princess salme inn since we saw it recommended in other places. Truth to be told for that price you can not expect more. Decent room with a/c and roof fan. Clean except the bed full of ants... They have free internet access goes slow, not their fault at all. The entrance of the hostel is close to an small dirty alley where people lays in the floor, but we felt secure at any time. Overall experience was OK. We didnt like stone town much so spent there only 1 night.

PLEASE Do not do laundry here. We left few pieces of clothes to the laundry for a total of $10. We asked if was possible to get it for next day. They told us yes and we paid. Just before leaving they hand us our clothes and I felt the bag heavier....Surprise, we open the bag and an stinky sweat smell comes from there....all the clothes were dirty extremely sweaty smelly and few of them had grass on them...Never ever happened to me that. I was extremely furious at that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chema_GD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here for more than a week as I found it is a good value.

Rooms are clean and comfortable with Zabzibar beds and 24-hour hot shower.
Quiet, Fast wifi. Even an electronic safe in the room!. Friendly staff.
Especially wonderful breakfasts everyday with lots of fruits and tasty juice.
Free coffee and tea any time.

They even served me a breakfast at 5:00 am when I had to check out early
in the morning for the flight to Dar es Salaam. I love this hotel!

Located near ferry terminal so a bit distance from the town center though not a big deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Hoon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahab, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Princess salme is very close to where the ferry's arrive in Stone town, and close enough to walk anywhere in stonetown. We would walk about 2km to the fancy new cocktail bar at '6 degrees south' or 'africa house' (next door to each other), watch the sunset (probably best places to watch it in stonetown), then slowly walk back towards Princess salme inn, passing the seafood market were we'd have dinner then carry on. It's abit dark closer to the inn so the one night we finished quite late & caught a taxi which was insanely cheap and easy (they'll quote a really high price but since it's only 2km away you can get it way down!!). The bar/kitchen/restaurant area at princess salme is on the rooftop so you get your own private view from there aswell. The breakfast is dam good, and staff so sweet! Overall a very cool experience & since stone town is pretty small its easy to walk everywhere from here.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
16.6 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Salme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Salme Inn

Property: Princess Salme Inn
Address: Mizingani Road, Malindi | P.O Box 2310, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 255, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Salme Inn is a bed and breakfast hotel perfect for travellers looking to see Zanzibar for less. When you're out and about all day, a comfy bed and hearty breakfast are all you need! So book Princess Salme Inn, a bed and breakfast in Stone Town Zanzibar where you pay less and sleep well. Princess Salme Inn is a simple but comfortable bed and breakfast hotel in Stone Town growing incorporating its customer needs. It is in an old Arabic mansion with traditional touches. The hotel has remained one of the cleanest in the area and still maintains the lowest rates in town. Our team will assist planning and recommending tours, transfers and even safaris ... .. Our rooms are simple with the highest level of cleanness. We have variety of rooms to suite your needs and budget, and leaving you satisfied at the end. From Backpackers to Honeymooners, from cheap / budget customers to mid-range customers. The rooms are naturally decorated in Zanzibarian style with traditional Zanzibar beds. We are working hard to bridge the gap between client satisfaction and management perception of good service. Your honest reviews even if they are bad and good ones, all help us grow better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Jovago.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Princess Salme Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Salme Hotel Stone Town
Princess Salme Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing