We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, pretty decent place”
Review of Coco De Mer Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coco De Mer Hotel
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I stayed for 3 nights, paying $35 for each night. Considering the price, and the cost of accommodation elsewhere in Stone Town, Coco De Mer was a brilliant find.

The staff were amazingly helpful and were always on hand to answer my many questions. They offer a booking service for a shuttle bus to either the East or North of Zanzibar which costs $10 each way (15,000/- Tsh) which saved the hassle of booking from outside.

Breakfast consisted of fruit, toast, eggs done as you like them and some fresh fruit juice along with the usual tea and coffee. Decent breakfast, enough to get you going for a long morning in the streets and alleys of Stone Town. And given the fantastic location of Coco De Mer, I didn't have far to walk at all. Turn right as you come out of the entrance and you're in Forodhani Gardens, a brilliant location day and night.

The room itself did not have A/C but a fan was provided and more than did the job. The shower wasn't warm, but considering the weather, cooler water was much more preferable! Good nights sleep and the bed was comfortable. No issues with noise as some others have suggested.

All in all, decent place for the price and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here if I get the opportunity to visit Stone Town again.

Room Tip: Try get room higher up (room numbers 1,2,3)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

location is great near the car ferry. breakfast is ok, and was included. everything else is not. the room was old and in poor condition. there was no ac and the celing fan was broken. they put in a mobile fan instead of fixing it. there are local people drinking and smoking right outside the room until 10pm and then the family who live in the hotel have a very noisy dinner. the staff are not friendly, although not rude either. Some staff are embarressed by the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddypack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Smack in the middle of Stown Town's most buzzing backstreets and with a cool little café style restaurant for breakfast and the lot.

The room was shabby, with sealed windows instead of wall seperating our bed from the reception. You could hear everyone in the hallway. We didn't mind though, unless it was during the night.

The room had two beds and one of them was in so bad condition that it was impossible to sleep in. Luckily the other bed were big enough for both of us to get our sleep on.

We looked at 5 hostels before choosing this one and negotiated a rent of 40 USD per night. Accomodation in Stone Town is not cheap, so this was good value for money.

Room Tip: Bargain, hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasperbrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Nobody can call the Coco de Merd inconsistent. Having stayed in 2009 and 2011 I can confirm that nothing has changed. On a positive note at least you know what to expect when you book here, I assure you if you read the reviews below, and then stay here you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clifflonsdaledotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

This place is grotty, smells bad, and is quite possible the worst accomodation I've ever seen. There was no power on the island, so every hotel was running generators, but this hotel only ran it a couple of hours a day, and when it did, it was directly under our window. We had to use a flashlight in the bathroom, men were sitting directly outside our door smoking and drinking, air was stagnant and we could not breath. We could not bare to stay a second night - I was seriously concerned about our health. All of the campsites we stayed at during our safari would be preferable to this dive!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pip60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We only stayed here because our previous night's accommodation (Zanzibar Coffe House Hotel - which is excellent) was full. And what a contrast! I'd actually visited a friend here about six years ago, but the place seems to have changed hands and is looking decidedly run-down. The rooms were shabby, and the linen and towels either in poor condition and (in the case of the towels) not particularly clean. The bathroom was the worst part of our room, with leaking taps, ants everywhere, and a bad smell. This would be okay if they charged budget rates, but at $50 for a twin, we felt a little cheated.

However, the guy at the front desk told me that they have plans to refurbish it over the next year, so this place could be brought back from the dead - worth checking back in 2009!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solarize_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

Sun Tours under the auspices of Imaginative Travellers landed us in Zanzibar and after telling us our previous bookings were not available took us to the Coco De Mer.But beware because there are two Coco De Mer hotels in Zanzibar.The second one,where we were taken is situated next to what looked like a brothel in a very seedy part of Stone Town.After examining the tiny rooms we refused to stay there and were taken to the Dhow Palace which is a good 3 star hotel. Beware travel agents who use numerous African agents,I ended up dealing with 4 different agencies in Africa and consequently there was little good communication throughout the entire 3 week safari tour.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
Thank Babu90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#15 of 33 in Stone Town
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#28 of 33 in Stone Town
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Africa House Hotel
The Africa House Hotel
#27 of 33 in Stone Town
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco De Mer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco De Mer Hotel

Address: Gizenga Street | Box 2363, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing