We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Lodge Zanzibar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Zanzibar Hotel(Stone Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kisiwa House(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dhow Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tausi Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Al Minar(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Al Johari(Stone Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beyt Al Salaam(Stone Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
10
21
14
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
21
14
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocation is greatone nightmosquito netair conditioningroofbreakfastzanzibarwifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We killed two bugs in the first room. They changed us to another room, and found bedbugs there too. Had paid for 3 nights, and they were VERY reluctant to refund any money. It was like a 2-hour hassle with them.
If it was clean, it would be an acceptable low-end hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Served it purpose, a stop over for 1 night before starting an overland camping trip through Eastern Africa - convenient walk to every where, no lounge though, so we walked up to the Africa House for dinner and drinks. (didn't review it, but WAY over priced).

But I easily walked to the slave memorial, the beach, post office and liquor store from the Garden Lodge. For a quick stop over, this will do quite nicely.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polo789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Friendly staff, clean and reasonably priced. Good mosquito net with no holes and large comfy bed. Decent breakfast although watch out for the crows eyeing up your food! I also like the location which is just out of stone town, so its a but less hectic.

I would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
Thank ceriog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here two nights and to be honest it was basic but nothing flash. I am a backpacker and my motto is as long as it is clean then it is fine, this place wasn't as clean as I would have liked. The sheets had stains on them and the bathroom still had hair visible on the floor.

The mozzie nets had holes in, the fans in the rooms were useless and the breakfast was poor.
Location on the other hand was great, located at the quiet end of the main street and in a safe location.

You get what you pay for I guess!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I loved the Garden Lodge. It was like staying in a large old style house. The room was reasonably priced and each one different. There was even hot water which can be a bit of a luxury!! The lodge had lovely balconys to sit and chill on and a nice rooftop terrace to sit and read a book in the sun or shade.

The staff were ok, mit miserable sometimes but helpful enough and I wasn't there for customer service anyway. The lodge is on a lovely quiet and safe street, surrounded by a lovely garden away from the hustle and bustle but still within 5 minutes walking distance to the action.

Large bottles of cold water can be bought at reception and they have fridges on each floor so you keep it cool if needed. There is also a telly on each floor.

As far as budget accommodation goes it was lovely, clean and I just felt really relaxed there.

We did go for breakfast one morning but didn't have enough time to wait for the relaxed pace of the lady cooking the breakfast. I went in to the kitchen but don't think I was meant to and one thing I could say was to stay away from the fruit as it is all cut up prior to people arriving so is sitting out in the warmth giving ample time for for flying nasties to have a wee munch or other things!!

Apart from that minor thing though, I loved it and would recommend a stay if heading that way.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ooopsydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews