We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the room and views from the breakfast spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zanzibar Coffee House
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved the room and views from the breakfast spot!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I guess anything looks great after 2 weeks of camping, but my gal friend and I had a great time at this hotel!

We booked the airport transfer with our travel agent (kind of pricey at USD15 but I wasn't sure what to expect so still worth it!) and arrived with no problems. Cars can't come in here, but you could pay a small tip for the guy with the wooden pushcart to follow with your luggage to the doorsteps after you parked nearby. Got brought up to our twin room (Moccachino) - thankfully on the next floor only - and we just loved it! The rooms are kept in very traditional style but the bathroom was very modern looking. Warm shower (seriously, after the trickle and lukewarm water we had in Arusha, this was heaven), strong ceiling fan and aircon for you to choose, bottled water, mozzie nets on the beds (we didn't need it) kept us happy! It is also very central, although one might get lost in the maze on the way to the waterfront!

The welcome drink was any drink off its cafe's menu, which I thought was awesome! And breakfast was free flow cereal/oatmeal, fruits, yoghurt, as well as 1 cooked breakfast (we opted for pancake and waffle for 2 of us) and coffee (including choice of lattes!). The views from the roof top was gorgeous! The breakfast was the best part of the stay, although it is a long and narrow way up. You could opt to sit outdoor or there are huge cushions in the room which looked really comfy.

Wifi works well in the room, although they had different passwords at different floors.

On the other hand, I did find it a little pricey (we paid USD140 for the ensuite twin room including breakfast, and USD15 for the airport transfer) but this could be just the rate for Zanzibar. The reception staff are not the most friendly (they were ok), so I took a star off my rating. Overall, I would still recommend this place!

Room Tip: It could be a tad noisy for the rooms facing the front (ours was the Moccachino room, where 1 of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chayying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    158
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
73
230
78
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Jalisco
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

There is little beauty, comfort, or ambiance outside the rooms. It was chaotic in the tiny lobby and no one ever really greeted me or made any effort to make me feel welcome. We moved a half block away, spent $25 dollars more, and found a different world in our new hotel. This hotel was simply much too expensive for what it provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajiiccharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I can't really judge the quality of the rooms and food at this place, since my fiancee an I stayed at a different hotel in Stone Town, but, we would make a stop here every day to enjoy the coffee, tea and some traditional Swahili sweets. Definitely, make sure you visit this place when in Stone Town and don't miss their coffee, a spicy Zanzibar tea with ginger and cinnamon and the cookies.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JankoJerinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

While everything in Stone Town is difficult to find, Zanzibar Coffee House is worth a few wrong turns! The property is basic, but impeccably clean and has great character. The upstairs roof is incredible and the breakfast served is top notch.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in August and had the Macchiato room. The hotel was built in 1885 and has 10 rooms that all bear coffee style names. Our room was rather basic but we gather this was intentional in keeping the décor traditional. The bed was large with mosquito netting but the ensuite was small and a good tip is to shower in the morning before the hot water runs out. If you are expecting amenities 'a la Hilton' then don't stay here. However the location in the midst of the Old Town is good and you feel you are immersing yourself in the local amenity but if you are not an adventurous traveller this area may not be for you. Try something closer to the harbour.The Old Town is literally a maze of streets and very easy to get lost in - speaking from personal experience but happily we were rescued by 2 local girls who escorted us back to our hotel (with nothing for payment but a smile).
Our tariff included breakfast and this was wonderful. It is served on the upstairs terrace - you have to walk up some windy narrow stairs to get there - and platters of colourful, fresh fruit, pastries and juices are set out for you to enjoy. You are then asked what cooked breakfast you would like and this is individually prepared for you in the kitchen below along with coffee or tea in any style you like. You can eat breakfast on one of the outside tables on the balcony or lounge inside in Arabic cushion splendour. Breakfast definitely was the highlight of our stay here.
At other times of the day you are free to come up here to relax and enjoy the rooftop view and can help yourself to drinks (you pay extra for) from the small fridge close by. There is a coffee house downstairs (open to the public) where you can have a light lunch if you want but for dinner you need to walk to a nearby restaurant. There were not many restaurants to choose from actually but we did go to The Spices restaurants (5 min walk) which was very good and inexpensive and entertaining when there was a blackout midway through our meal. This seems to be a regular occurrence as candles came out quickly but were not needed for long as the power came back on (they were cooking with gas anyway).
Staying 2 nights in the Old Town is enough though - we did a walking tour one morning (streets too narrow/jumbled for cars) and also looked around the harbour and fresh food market. We then headed to the beach on the East Coast for a different type of Zanzibar holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I spent three nights staying in this small hotel. It was a real surprise being so deep in old Stonetown history. The room that we stayed in was fantastic with olde world charm and very nicely decorated with heaps of hot water in the shower! The roof top restaurant was an amazing way to start the day with a huge breakfast and fantastic views over Stonetown. The area itself was right in the middle of old Stonetown and once we got our bearings was easy to find in amoungst the labyrinth of streets. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a look at most of the rooms and they were all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Right in the heart of Stonetown and handy to the sights and waterfront once you know how to orientate your way around the alleyways. The building is well presented and really gives you a sense of the history of the place. I thought the coffees were average and a couple of the staff members weren't particularly friendly compared to the other places I stayed at in Tanzania. I had a comfortable nights sleep and overall the stay was OK. Tip - for lunch or a few drinks head to the Rooftop of the Swahili House next door for a great view of the town and coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waynesworld1nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#15 of 33 in Stone Town
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Coffee House

Property: Zanzibar Coffee House
Address: Mkunazini 1563/64, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibar Coffee House Hotel offers a touch of magic and romance in an authentic Arabic house deep in the heart of Stone Town. Transformed into a stylish hotel with harmonious interiors, antiques and rich fabrics, it is one of the oldest buildings in Zanzibar constructed by the Wazir to Sultan Said Bargash in 1885. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Zanzibar Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Coffee House Hotel Stone Town
Zanzibar Coffee Hotel
Hotel Zanzibar Coffee
Zanzibar Coffee House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing