We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Oasis in Stonetown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zanzibar Coffee House
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had heard about Zanzibar Coffee House from some friends of ours and when I booked a room, I asked if they were running any specials. Manuel was really helpful and let me know about an off-season special, so we got our room for 1/2 price! We stayed in the Macchiato room, which was beautiful with a big bed, air conditioning, and a nice bathroom. The bed was really comfortable and the place was very quiet. We were also able to purchase wine and sit up on the roof enjoying the view. Breakfast in the morning was served on the roof and it was delicious. You are able to order specialty coffee with your breakfast as well as omelettes or pancakes. Everything was fresh and delicious.

Really, I couldn't recommend Zanzibar Coffee House enough. It was beautiful, the staff was very friendly, and it was a great location in Stonetown. We also had coffee and lunch at the restaurant downstairs, which was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Macchiato room and it was great - quiet, spacious, comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lizzy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your glowing review of the Zanzibar Coffee House. It is our hope that everybody who stays with us leaves feeling as good as you.
We're so glad you were able to make good use of the rooftop, as it is one of the very special place in all of Zanzibar!
We look forward to welcoming you again and making your next visit even better!
Asante sana,
Zanzibar Coffee House Staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. Everybody was very friendly and professional. All the rooms are very unique and well maintained. It's central location allowed for easy access to many sites and restaurants. Best of all was waking up to the smell of amazing coffee. That was a true treat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you RICO for your wonderful review!! What a great way to stay connected!
We are always happy to help at the Zanzibar Coffee House. You're staying on was no problem and our watchman said he enjoyed the late night company!
Glad to hear you travelled safe!
All the best in Nigeria! Hope to see you there - otherwise:
KARIBU TENA ZANZIBAR COFFEE HOUSE!
Asante sana, Tia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very nice stay, great coffee and a wonderful terrace where breakfast is served. Can be warmly recommended. I have nothing more to add so please let me post this review now, please. Thank you very much, Jakob

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Draken67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Jake K,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We have heard with great pleasure about how much you have enjoyed your stay with us at Zanzibar Coffee House.

Already in advance we would like to thank you for any further recommendations from your side. If you ever make it back to Stone Town we would love seeing you at our place again!

Karibu tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A wonderful and welcoming place to stay, where you feel like family and the coffee is amazing. A great boutique hotel with clean, air conditioned rooms, good food and coffee! Each morning starts with rooftop dining of a complimentary breakfast that is DELICIOUS. The food, coffee and teas in the café are all wonderful! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Patricia D,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and your lovely comments. It is with great joy that we hear how much you have enjoyed your stay at Zanzibar Coffee House. Comments like yours are signaling us that we are on the right track and enable us to improve our services further.

We hope to see you again in Stone Town - you are always most welcome to pop in for a coffee or stay overnight with us.

Karibu tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The ladies at Zanzibar Coffee House are the sweetest ever and will make sure you get the perfect stay. We spent hours on the rooftop terrace which is the perfect place both to start your day with the fantastic coffee of the house and to end your day with a beer from the self service bar.
Situated in the heart of Stone Town you are onlly one step from everything. Get lost among the twirling roads and don't miss the Zanzibarian pizza at the forodhani garden!

I will most certainly stay at Zanzibar Coffee House if I have the chance to return to Stone Town!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Elin G,

Thank you so much for your nice review. It is always with great satisfaction that we are receiving compliments from our guests. Our ladies at Zanzibar Coffee House are what usually makes a stay with us a special occasion. They fill this beautiful building with much spirit and friendliness. I am pleased to let you know that they were very happy to have heard about your comments.

In any case, you are most welcome back at Zanzibar Coffee House whenever you can make it to Stone Town. We would be happy to seeing you popping in for a coffee or even host you overnight again. Karibu tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

What a beautiful place, great coffee upon arrival, incredible view over Stone Town, charming and tasteful rooms, and a delicious breakfast up on the rooftop. A treat of a place at the end of our trip. Wish I was back there now.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kimberlycwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear kimberlycwalker,

We thank you a lot for receiving this great review from you. Our mission is to make your stay as comfortable and accommodation as possible. It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we are hearing how much you were enjoying our breakfast in the morning on the lovely rooftop.

We hope that you can make it back to Stone Town soon; you are most welcome at Zanzibar Coffee House - Karibu tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Tucked away, in central Stonetown, a haven of peace and recuperation, with the best coffee in Zanzibar, and fascinating bedrooms which were very clean and comfortable. The facilities included nets and room safes and the bathroom was very modern and a delight to use. The staff were extraordinarily welcoming and helpful. The roof top terrace for breakfast or those moments when you need to chill was exceptional. If ever in Stonetown again this is the place we would head for.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear MaryN,

Many thanks for your great review. It is our mission to make your stay with us as pleasant as possible and hearing that we have succeeded is a great confirmation for us. It is always with great pleasure that we are hearing how much many guests are enjoying our breakfast in the morning.
Many thanks also for mentioning our staff; after all they are filling the house with their spirit and their friendliness is also what makes our place so welcoming.

We would be very happy to hosting you again very soon - Karibu tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Coffee House

Address: Mkunazini 1563/64, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £71 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibar Coffee House Hotel offers a touch of magic and romance in an authentic Arabic house deep in the heart of Stone Town. Transformed into a stylish hotel with harmonious interiors, antiques and rich fabrics, it is one of the oldest buildings in Zanzibar constructed by the Wazir to Sultan Said Bargash in 1885. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Zanzibar Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Coffee House Hotel Stone Town
Zanzibar Coffee Hotel
Hotel Zanzibar Coffee
Zanzibar Coffee House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing