We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous little hotel in the heart of StoneTown”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zanzibar Coffee House
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Arusha, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous little hotel in the heart of StoneTown”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Myself and my boyfriend loved our night in the Coffee House in Stone Town, we wished we had booked more than one night there. We loved the architecture of the building, the decoration of the room, and the breakfast there was one of the yummiest we've had with some amazing coffee to accompany it. The cafe downstairs makes the yummiest cakes as well (try the passion fruit tart!). All the staff were very friendly as well. Definitely recommendabe. We'll be heading back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Aisling,
Thank you for your review! Your songs of praise for the Coffee House were sung before your post on Trip Advisor. We received a friend of yours and her three travel companions as guests to the Zanzibar Coffee House on YOUR recommendation. Ironically, they arrived the following night to your stay! Next time, we coordinate to come all at the same time.

Looking forward to your next visit! And should I make it to Arusha before your next visit to Zanzibar - I'll have the ladies pack you a special PASSION FRUIT tart! Asante sana! Until next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    158
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
74
230
78
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I've always loved the Zanzibar Coffee House as a returning tourist in the city, and this time I decided to splurge on a room for one night. I took the room without an attached bathroom and expected it to be simple, but it was spectacular! Gorgeous room, very clean and fresh, and the bathroom was even bigger than the bedroom! Such style. And the rooftop patio is the most lovely place in town to have breakfast (of course amazing coffee and the best granola anywhere) and wifi means you can catch up with friends while enjoying the comfy cushions. Five star character! Also very accommodating to help us with bedding for the children.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Nice to hear from you!! Thank you for the review!
I'm glad we could offer you, your family and friends a comfortable place to stay during your travels. It's always great to have the kids around too - they offer us a fresh burst of energy and life. Zanzibar Coffee House is your house too!

Safe travels! And, I hope you return to Spring in Toronto!

Cheers, Tia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Excellent hotel with few rooms, charming staff, everyone very helpful. I will choose this place again next time on Zanzibar. They were also helpful in arranging an excursion on the island. Good coffee.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Soren,
Thank you for your time and dedication to the review! The charm, helpfulness and appeal of the Zanzibar Coffee ladies keeps guests coming back time and time again!
Karibu Zanzibar Coffee House for a "good coffee" anytime!
Asante sana, Tia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a great spot. Room we were in was perfect with exceptional AC! Well kept clean and spacious. People were very friendly and helpful. The coffee shop is very nice with their celebrity Barista, a former Tanzanian champion. The breakfast was great and delivered on the rooftop. Location upside: right next to the Emerson Hotel and it's wonderful rooftop restaurant. Location downside: no auto access so could be a bit hard to locate on foot, especially at night but there are signs. One other consideration for those with mobility issues, there is no elevator that I was aware of in the guest house (4 floors). Their are other hotels that were cheaper but the Zanzibar Coffeehouse was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Fritz,
Thank you for your review, input and advice!
Glad to hear you had such a pleasant stay and were able to enjoy the breakfast and AC! Mobility is a problem in all of StoneTown - my word, you should have seen the trouble we went through moving apartments the other week. Part of the magic (or misery) of the place.

Safe travels and times in Nigeria.
And when in Zanzibar next- KARIBU ZANZIBAR COFFEE HOUSE,
Tia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had heard about Zanzibar Coffee House from some friends of ours and when I booked a room, I asked if they were running any specials. Manuel was really helpful and let me know about an off-season special, so we got our room for 1/2 price! We stayed in the Macchiato room, which was beautiful with a big bed, air conditioning, and a nice bathroom. The bed was really comfortable and the place was very quiet. We were also able to purchase wine and sit up on the roof enjoying the view. Breakfast in the morning was served on the roof and it was delicious. You are able to order specialty coffee with your breakfast as well as omelettes or pancakes. Everything was fresh and delicious.

Really, I couldn't recommend Zanzibar Coffee House enough. It was beautiful, the staff was very friendly, and it was a great location in Stonetown. We also had coffee and lunch at the restaurant downstairs, which was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Macchiato room and it was great - quiet, spacious, comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of the Zanzibar Coffee House. It is our hope that everybody who stays with us leaves feeling as good as you.
We're so glad you were able to make good use of the rooftop, as it is one of the very special place in all of Zanzibar!
We look forward to welcoming you again and making your next visit even better!
Asante sana,
Zanzibar Coffee House Staff!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. Everybody was very friendly and professional. All the rooms are very unique and well maintained. It's central location allowed for easy access to many sites and restaurants. Best of all was waking up to the smell of amazing coffee. That was a true treat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you RICO for your wonderful review!! What a great way to stay connected!
We are always happy to help at the Zanzibar Coffee House. You're staying on was no problem and our watchman said he enjoyed the late night company!
Glad to hear you travelled safe!
All the best in Nigeria! Hope to see you there - otherwise:
KARIBU TENA ZANZIBAR COFFEE HOUSE!
Asante sana, Tia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very nice stay, great coffee and a wonderful terrace where breakfast is served. Can be warmly recommended. I have nothing more to add so please let me post this review now, please. Thank you very much, Jakob

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Jake K,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We have heard with great pleasure about how much you have enjoyed your stay with us at Zanzibar Coffee House.

Already in advance we would like to thank you for any further recommendations from your side. If you ever make it back to Stone Town we would love seeing you at our place again!

Karibu tena!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Zanzibar Coffee House

Property: Zanzibar Coffee House
Address: Mkunazini 1563/64, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibar Coffee House Hotel offers a touch of magic and romance in an authentic Arabic house deep in the heart of Stone Town. Transformed into a stylish hotel with harmonious interiors, antiques and rich fabrics, it is one of the oldest buildings in Zanzibar constructed by the Wazir to Sultan Said Bargash in 1885. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Zanzibar Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Coffee House Hotel Stone Town
Zanzibar Coffee Hotel
Hotel Zanzibar Coffee
Zanzibar Coffee House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing