We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
£98
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Christoph v

Lovely place, best in town

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Mar 2024
Zanzibar Coffee House is still the greatest place in Town, very nicely done with style, great coffee and very lovely stuff, especially the ladies at the rooftop. I felt very welcome, also when I checked in in the middle of the night. I came allready a few times and will come for sure again
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£105
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £105
0.1 miles from Zanzibar Coffee House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Restaurant, lounge & bar
Tripadvisor
£86
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £86
0.2 miles from Zanzibar Coffee House
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
£97
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £97
0.1 miles from Zanzibar Coffee House
Pool
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£265
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £265
0.4 miles from Zanzibar Coffee House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £74
  • Algotels
0.3 miles from Zanzibar Coffee House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £66
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Zanzibar Coffee House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £274
  • Expedia.com
    £399
0.4 miles from Zanzibar Coffee House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £97
  • Vio.com
0.3 miles from Zanzibar Coffee House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £78
  • Algotels
0.4 miles from Zanzibar Coffee House
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £75
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Zanzibar Coffee House
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Stone Town
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
584
229
37
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
584
229
37
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great coffee rooftop terrace private bathroom charming place breakfast is served the ground floor historic building enjoyed my stay a wonderful stay min walk boutique hotel air conditioning arabica suite barista bourbon heart
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 874 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2024 via mobile

The staff were so friendly and helpful. The coffee and food was great! Their joy was infectious and created a wonderful vibe throughout the place. The rooms themselves were beautifully decorated with small thoughtful touches. The room had A/C and was comfortable at night. It can be a bit loud as people pass in the alleys, but that'll occur no matter where you stay because everything is so close together.
The breakfast was delicious and had a good variety of options. It was nice guests could use the rooftop even after cafe hours as it's cooler up there. I particularly enjoyed the ability to fill up water easily before heading out too.
They also booked my taxi and tour - both were great!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank J-BStaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024

Excellent place. You would come back because of
- the awesome 360 degree view roof terrace
- the excellent coffee
- the atmosphere
- good food
- the style
- near Secret Garden, a top notch restaurant

Considerations:
Lack of Pool or Beach: Those looking for water-related activities might find this aspect lacking. You can of course eg rent a boat+captain at the beach (5-10 min walk, currently around USD 20) and go to a nearby island or snorkeling. Decent chance of seeing dolphines too.

Access: Situated in a labyrinth of narrow streets, the place isn't directly accessible by car, requiring a short walk. This minor inconvenience is easily outweighed by the charm and ease of navigation once you're familiar with the area.

Room tip: All rooms are different - size are very variable. Some have bathrooms in the hall.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakobfag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2024

Absolutely wonderful - super rooms, cool and quiet with lovely comfy beds, amazing breakfast on the rooftop with savoury, sweet, fruit ´, great location, lovely staff. Great value. Welcome drink much appreciated, Richard was great helping me deal with a car rental company, Ali always helpful, suggestions of local restaurant were great.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kbroml118361
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

No hotel guest in hotel. Only went there a couple of times to buy Tanzania Coffee to take home. Also we were served hot lemongrass and ginger tea with honey and lime which was very tasty. Cost was 6000 tnz shilling each. (2 USA Dollars). They also took credit cards

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Papawillie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2024

We arrived early and were met by the owner who let us check in early and gave us a bigger room as it was quiet on that day. Recommended a local guide. A welcome coffee was provided and we chose their coffee which was amazing. The staff were cheerful and extremely helpful, and the service was great. The room was traditional and very cool with a/c. Nice small touches such as local robes. Breakfast on the rooftop was picturesque and there was plenty of fresh food and coffee to start your exploration of this vibrant town. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davidklawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews