We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pit stop for your travels!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maruhubi Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maruhubi Beach Villas
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pit stop for your travels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

When we flew in to Zanzibar Island, we asked our cab driver to take us somewhere close to Stonetown but still nice because we were only stying one night. He brought us to Maruhubi Beach Villas and since this was in February, the tourist traffic was insanely quiet. I think we were the only ones there. We immediately fell in love with the place and were able to negotitate half the price of a villa!
We were given the villa right at the end, touching the ocean, it was very clean, spacious, romantic, and very exclusive. I loved every minute spent at this resort because the breakfast was good, the view was gorgeous and the staff were friendly. They also helped us get a motorbike rental for the week that we were there at a very good cost as well!
The resort was also within walking distance to other beach resorts and also Stonetown (if you want to explore). The pool was very nice as well, and the ocean water rose up against the pool at night time. It was quite surreal.
When we ended up heading north of th island for the next week, they were happy to keep our luggage (from our KIlimanjaro climb) for us in a safe place. We packed up our backpack and explored the island for the next week and came back to stay another night befor we flew out, at the same price we had negotiated the first night we stayed.
If we ever came to Zanzibar again, this would be our choice pit stop again :)

Room Tip: Ask for the one on th very end towards the ocean, very quiet and beautiful at night and in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

After spending 2 nights in Stonetown, we spent 2 nights here and were very glad we did.
Being at the beach was relaxing and quiet, a perfect complement to bustling Stonetown. Maruhubi is a place to really relax and we did. We had a large room with a wrap-around sea view (#1). The room was very comfortable with a casual style. It has a very nice swimming pool, which is open 24 hours and illuminated at night. We went swimming in the ocean at sunset, a very short walk from our room. A long walk on the beach at low tide was also a highlight. Juma, the manager, and his team were great, very helpful and accommodating. They lent a modem so we would have internet access in our room. There is free wifi closer to the office.They will arrange discounted taxi transportation to Stonetown, which is about a 10 minute drive. We had dinner both nights at Mtoni Marine Hotel next door, where you can have a romantic dinner on the beach. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifelongTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Me and my husband stayed at Maruhubi Beach Villas in February 2011 for 4 days. So this review is long overdue but it has to be done!! But we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was absolutely brilliant! I am sorry for the experience of the reviewer from Paris, but I have to disagree because Juma was an EXCELLENT HOST and he totally went out of his way to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. He organised us tours (spice tour, snorkeling, stone town tour- had a private guide) and always made sure he got us the best deals for trips and taxis. Even made sure we know what is too much to pay for souveniers etc - and believe me this information is very handy when you are bargaining with the locals.We also would not have had enough time to explore everything ( a week off work - so very sad!) so it was great to have someone local that is willing to help you out and we DEFINITELY HAD AN AMAZING TIME in the 4 days.

We initially booked the room for the whole week but wanted to explore the north of Zanzibar before heading back to the UK. Juma had no problem in letting us only stay the 4 days and let us use the internet to find a place up north; even contacted a couple of places to get us the best deal since we had nothing booked and it was a last minute decision by me and my husband. We did find a place and he organised us the taxi which we shared with another couple who we met at the villa and they also could only sing Juma's praises!

We had room nr 1 and the views were awesome. They were revamping the garden but this did not matter since we could see the potential in it becoming a much greener place with lotsa plants and grass to lie on next to the pool (which by the way was nice to swim in especially at night when it was still very hot). Our rooms were cleaned daily and we had fresh towels daily. You had aircon in your room which was very good and you needed it that time of the year!

The restuarant food was very basic (had lovely, friendly waiters) and breakfast had fresh fruit every day; however you had the option of spending your day in stone town and then you have a great choice of restuarants. They had a selection of wines and beers (local ones as well!) and it was nice to sit outside at the "back" of your room (you had a back door from your room leading to your own little veranda) watching the views and reading a book.

Maruhubi villas had the atmosphere; friendly faces, was clean and gave you the luxury of a hot shower at night and a true feel of Zanzibar!

I would definitely want to go back and I am sure Maruhubi villas would have grown into even a more beautiful place to put your feet up, sipping on a glass of wine and watching the sun set over the ocean.

Well done Juma - I hope the owner knows what a gem you are!

C&D

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dili
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

We have just left Maruhubi Beach Resort and have a wonderful few days. We very much wished we could have stayed longer, and will be back in the future. Maruhubi is very conveniently located for Stone Town, but feels like a peaceful haven away from the city. Juma the manager is a wonderful host who made us feel very at home and individually cared for, particularly following some stressful experiences in Dar. The accommodation is lovely too. There is much to do in Zanzibar and we'll be back basing ourselves at Maruhubi. We were there during low season, which made us feel extra-special at Maruhubi, though of course the weather is not as ideal as in other months. Thanks Juma and team for facilitating a very relaxing and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atauro81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

This hotel does a great job making guests feel welcome. Great pool on the ocean (open 24 hours) a plus for great night and morning swims. Great service when you request anything and the manager really wants to make you feel comfortable (he's even willing to let you use the office for internet). Food was good, rooms comfortable (and air conditioned - a must in the humid temperatures). The beds were enormous and comfortable and at least 3 of the rooms overlooking the ocean have multiple beds in each of the rooms. The property seemed safe (patrolled by security guards). Although the beach access is not one of Zanzibar's most picturesque beaches (those are east) it was very nice. The hotel is a little way from stone town and a cab will need to be arranged (they will help you with that) and you must bargain the price aggressively.

Overall what this hotel lacks, the management and staff are more than willing to try to make up.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Microfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

NEVER try to stay in this hotel unless you turn up on the day and they have accomodation. The rooms are very nice and they have a good loation and facilities but is totally let down but the unreliable way it is run by the manager, Juma.
We booked 3 rooms for one night during a very busy period in Zanzibar (music festival) and when we arrived we were told by Juma that they had had a prioblem 2 days ago and our rooms were unusable. They tried to send us somewhere else (the manager in the other hotel said he'd got a phone call 5 minutes before we arrived to see if he had rooms), which was twice the distance from Stone town and the rooms were not what we booked and were like a youth hostel so we said that we wouldn't stay there.
Back to the Marahubi who didn't do anything to find us somewhere. It was our taxi driver who found us another hotel, 3 hours later,, but it cost us $340 dollars instead of $225 for the night.

I'm almost 7 months pregnant and we were travelling with my 12 year old son and my husband's mother, who is partially sighted. The incompetence at the Marahubi ruined our little holiday and I would strongly advise anyone thinking of staying there to STAY AWAY.
By the way, the Ocean View where we did stay was very nice- no pool but access to a very nice beach

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vixky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

Perfect little hotel if you fancy staying in the outskirts of Stone Town for a short break, with friendly, helpful staff to accomodate your stay. Provides a peaceful refuge away from the hustle of Stone Town; swimming pool with sea alongside - great for cooling off after a day of sight-seeing in the town. You can either get to Stone Town on foot via the beach(30 minutes) (depending on the tides), this is a glimpse of a truly authentic experience of Zanzibar life as you enter Stone Town through the main harbour port. You can also get there on foot via the road(there is a pavement and it takes roughly 30 minutes) - another interesting experience in order to awaken your senses to the true goings-on of this part of the world.
If this is what you´re looking for, then I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALdeJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maruhubi Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruhubi Beach Villas

Property: Maruhubi Beach Villas
Address: P.O. Box 3088, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maruhubi Beach Villas is situated on the seafront, five minutes north of Stone Town, between the Maruhubi Palace Grounds and the tropical gardens of Mtoni Marine Centre. Maruhubi is ideally located for exploring Stone Town, whilst having the peace and beauty of a beach location.The six stone-built villas have large verandas, which overlook Mtoni beach, all with excellent sea views. Each villa has two air-conditioned double bedrooms with en suite shower, toilet and basin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maruhubi Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruhubi Beach Villas Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing