We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfortable and peacefull place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kisoro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mutanda Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Wonderful lodge to come and rest for a view days, to swim in the gorgeous lakes or to walk around on one of the guided tours around the beautiful villages around the lake. Or ofcourse as a base to do the gorilla tour (which we didn't do). We stayed 3 nights and got very comfortable at the romantic fire place at night after a tasty diner after an outdoorsy day. Comfortable beds, spacious rooms and bathrooms.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms have lake view and their own private sitting area in front of it, maybe doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mleinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you Mleinie for your review. A pity we missed seeing you, but very good to know that our staff made your stay comfortable. Rose Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in this beautiful lodge on the shores of the Lake Mutanda. The view is really outstanding.
The staff is friendly, the managers are also very nice making you feel almost at home. They even extended the generator for us to watch the Switzerland football team play, thanks again guys !!!
The food is very good. The room was comfortable & clean.
Perfect stay !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Dalelita, Thank you so much for sharing with others that you have liked your stay with us. We are very happy with your review. But what a pity that the Swiss didn’t make it to next round! Best regards, Rose Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights as a base for our gorilla trek and it was perfect.
The setting is great just on the shores of the lake.
Rooms are spacious and clean, staff is great and managers are extremely friendly, and make sure everything runs smoothly.
Thanks for a great stay !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Mandel, Thank you so much for your appreciation. We feel supported by it and it encourages us to continue improving where possible. It was a pleasure to have you here. Rose Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a base for gorillas. The view was beautiful. We took the sunset cruise which was very fun. We decided to do it last minute so the guitar player wasn't available so book ahead. Staff was friendly but rarely at the reception desk which meant when our hot water didn't work we kept running between our room and the dining room looking for someone to help us. The water tank wasn't full when we arrived either so we sat in filthy clothes for an hour waiting for staff to fill the tank. Dinner was delicious. Unfortunately we were woken up by staff talking on their cell phone at 4am at the reception desk. After I got up and asked them to be quiet they were. I recommend getting a room away from the reception for this reason.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sarah, We are happy with your positive remarks, but I also want to apologise for having been disturbed in your sleep by our policemen making phone calls at the reception during the night. We had told them that from 10 pm till 8 am reception is out of bounds. During our leave they had changed shifts and forgot to tell the ones taking over. Concerning your complaint about not having hot water please understand that our guests can check in the rooms at 4 pm, but we are flexible when possible. Our staff had given out your room already at lunch hour, while water was not ready yet. For the same reason there is only somebody at the reception by the time guests start arriving. Nevertheless we regret your discomfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This small resort was intimate and charming and has fantastic views of the lake and mountains. Our glass doors opened right out with the view of the lake. The food was excellent and the service great. When our canoe did not show up as planned, the hotel owner arranged for one of his people to come pick us up. We are so glad we stayed here! It really is a special place and relaxing on the patio at the bar overlooking the mountains is a great way to end your day! Highly recommend the Mutanda Lake Resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Nicole, We are delighted with your review. thank you so much for your apprciation. It stimulates us to make things even better. kind regards, Rose Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

After a day long hike searching the gorillas with success we arrived here. A sunset and a beer at our own porch overlooking the magnificent lake was the perfect end to this extraordinary day. The only thing that was a little bit less was the food, but it did not spoil our fun. Definitely a great place to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MadMax247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear MadMax, We are delighted with you review, but wondering what went wrong with the food? It hardly happens that we don't satisfy our guests on that point. Nevertheless you had a good time while staying at Mutanda Lake Resort and that is what counts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The food they make here is excellent, the view is perfect and they staff is very friendly. Just after we arrived a group of local people came mostly women and children who came to play local music. This added a lot to the atmosphere, ad night we had a very good menu and even for the vegetarians they made a special lasagna which was delicious. All and all a beautiful very place to stay the rooms are clean and the views are astonishing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

thanks Bram for your appreciation. I hope we'll see you back again to see our renovated rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kisoro
5.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
101 reviews
18.6 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
0.0 mi away
Mucha Hotel
Mucha Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kisoro
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
111 reviews
7.9 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
#4 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutanda Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutanda Lake Resort

Address: Mutanda Road, Kisoro, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Kisoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Kisoro
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mutanda Lake Resort is perched on private peninsula with stunning views on the Virunga Mountain Range.Situated between Kisoro town, Mgahinga and Bwindi National Parks the Resort makes a perfect base for gorilla trackers, volcano hikers,bird lovers as well as those looking for a secluded place in nature. Water recreation possibilities are plenty, like swimming, canoeing or a sunset boat cruise. Accommodation is in semi-tented cottages,built on an elevated wooden platform, each with private veranda and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing