We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Chahafi Resort
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Wow, how should I begin? many things captivated me about Lake Chahafi Resort but the beauty of living on a quiet Lake shore should give a pointer. The dormitories, the chirping Lake birds, the treks and excursions the delicious meals are some of the memories I carried with me from the Resort.
A must visit while in Kisoro, South Western Uganda.

Room Tip: Look out for tented accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amwine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

If you are travelling in south-western Uganda, into exploring stunning new destinations far off the beaten track, and looking for a relaxing place to chill for a bit in between, Lake Chahafi Resort is definitely a great tip for you!

Admittedly up to now it`s not yet too hard to discover off-the-beaten-track-places in south-western Uganda, as this part at the centre of Africa is still in its early stages as upcoming tourist destination. I was lucky enough to combine travelling there with a job that provided me with great insights into the rapidly developing tourism undertakings in the region, namely hosting a radio show concerned with travel, culture and history of south-western Uganda on a local radio station. In course of this work I came across Lake Chahafi and - as it is a quite new and so far the only place accommodating travellers around - Lake Chahafi Resort.

While tracking the mountain gorillas in Bwindi Impenetrable and Mgahinga National Parks is surely both the most well-known and popular tourist attraction, the highlands around Kisoro have much more to offer. Such as great hikes to neighbouring Lake Bunyonyi across mountains and rainforests and climbing volcanoes at the border between Uganda, Rwanda and Congo. Long story short, there is much to do for adventurous people. Yet, as there are still very view places to accomodate travellers, most tourists rush from bordering towns in Rwanda to Kisoro, Kabale or elsewhere, without taking their time to fully enjoy the great lakes and beautiful nature.

So, Lake Chahafi Resort comes in quite handy! Although it is ambitiously named a Resort it is really a campsite, directly at the shores of Lake Chahafi, one of the lesser known lakes in the region. The heart of the Resort is an open-air bar and restaurant from which you can enjoy the stunning views on Mount Muhavura, the highest of the Virunga vulcanoes. Lake Chahafi is also very famous for birdwatching, so you will sure be entertained by a variety of birds` twittering during the day and crickets` clittering by night - pure nature experience after all!

I was very happy with the food served there - you will be able to choose from a variety of both international and local dishes. There are also possibilities for nice barbecues. Evenings are best enjoyed at the cosy fireplace which in my opinion is a great asset as the nights up in Kisoro can get quite chilly.

Sleep quality will still largely depend on your tent as the Resort has no own tented accomodation so far. However, furnished tents are in planning, after all Lake Chahafi Resort is brand new and to some extent still under development. As for November 2012 unfortunately this is also true for bathroom and toilet facilities, which are still rather basic, although hot shower and sanitation facilities are promised for January 2013.

Nevertheless, the place is really great to hang out, sunbathing at the loungers on the wooden patio right at the lakeshore. I wished I would have had some more days to spend there... Also I took a boat trip across the lake in one of the dug-out canoes offered by Lake Chahafi Resort, birdwatching and looking out for otters busy fishing in the Lake. For those loving history Lake Chahafi might also be of great interest, as this place has been the site of battles between the British, Belgian and German colonial forces (trenches can still be seen!), fighting over territory around 1915, as well as anti-colonial resistance. Last but not least, I really enjoyed walking just along the Ugandan-Rwandan green border.

In short, in my opinion it is really worth to check out this place, really nicely compatible with other activities around the area!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Tere S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kisoro hotels
0 mi away
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
#4 of 13 in Kisoro
19 reviews
0 mi away
Mucha Hotel
Mucha Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kisoro
21 reviews
0 mi away
Mucha Bistro and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Traveler's Rest Hotel
0 mi away
No photo provided
0 mi away
No photo provided
Heritage Guesthouse
#7 of 14 in Kisoro
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Chahafi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Chahafi Resort

Address: Lake Chahafi, Cyahafi, Kisoro,Uganda | P.o.Box 283,Kisoro, Kisoro, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Kisoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Kisoro
Price Range: £84 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on shore of Lake Chahafi,in south eastern direction of Kisoro district near Rwandan border. We are a luxury resort with eight furnished ensuite cabins with comfy double or twin beds. The cabins are well designed to match the environment: with netted windows that can be rolled up and down to allow for privacy at the same time enjoying the natural surroundings, the cabins are erected on stilts and a deck with breathtaking views on Muhavura volcano and the Lake. We are a spot for travelers who may wish to explore the twin lakes Chahafi and Kayumbu, and as a base for tracking Mountain Gorillas, golden monkeys or hiking the virunga ranges that include: Mt.Muhavura, Mt. Gahinga, and Mt. Sabinyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake Chahafi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing