We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turn Left before DRC.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Traveler's Rest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kisoro
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Portal, Uganda
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Turn Left before DRC.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Charming little hostelry. Lovely staff that work to please. Admirable are the water conservation efforts, it rained the entire duration of our visit.

Wonderful masks and bric a brac to admire and purchase. Good library to wait out the rainy day, lots of literature on, surprise...Gorillas. Good food, served buffet style in clay pots and a well stocked bar. The log fire was obligingly lit after a wet afternoon's walk when we returned from Mgahinga.

Lovely place, I will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlkaSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    50
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
42
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambs
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

I did not stay at this premesis but have eaten there a few times on my recent stay in Kisoro and previously. The lunch time menu is basic but good and good value for money around 10000ush for burger and chips. We tried the set evening menu this time too. it was 30000 for a 4 course meal and it was super. the log fire in the lounge is lovely too and there are plenty of people around.The staff are very friendly too. Several sucessful visits

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otwayCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

This a hotel with history having acted as a base for the very first gorilla researchers and is worth visiting for that alone. The log fire in the bar (it gets cold in Kisoro), four-course set dinner, polite and attentive staff and lack of TVs or wi-fi internet are also all from a different era, and this may not be for everyone. But it has to be the best bet in Kisoro. The rooms are far from luxurious, but the beds are comfortable and have mosquito nets, and everything worked in the bathroom. A good base for gorilla treks or, as in my case, simply passing through the town on the way to Kampala.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to be twin singles, book early if you want a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Lovely, charming hotel and rooms however shady dealings. We arrived late in the night after having made reservations by phone during the day. Proprietor tried to claim miscommunication and increase price by 30%. She was not upfront and deceptive, urging us to unload our SUV and settle in before paying the undisclosed increased rate. After learning of the price increase we could not stay on good faith, we reloaded and stayed down the road at the Tourist, which isn't as nice but the staff is engaging, friendly and honest.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed on Christmas night and the food for dinner was really nice. However I agree with the previous review that the packed lunch was a bit average and we didn't eat it. Breakfast was fine though. They have a very cosy fireplace.
But we were a bit dismayed by our room. Firstly we asked for a double but got two twin beds. They said it was our tour operators fault but in any event they said they only had two rooms or something with a double and said we could push ours together. But that wasn't possible because the mosquito nets didn't go over the two beds and there were lots of mosquitoes so that wasn't an option. The bathroom was also terrible made out of concrete and was quite appalling.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adventuregirl986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed here prior to visiting the gorillas in Bwindi. The welcome was warm and staff are very friendly and helpful. Bar area with fire is comfortable and warm. It seemed that many staying here are part of groups visiting Bwindi, as a result there is a bit of a group mentality, especially at meal times, which personally I didn't care for.

This hotel is let down by the food, which is over priced and poor quality. A great deal is made of dinner, which has a long menu, however the quality was not good. I don't eat meat but do eat fish/veggie and am flexible over this, but the food I was offered was not good. On the second night I was given an omelette in a tomato sauce - weird and not pleasant. The packed lunch was truly a waste of money - far better to self cater and being your own food. Breakfast had to be preordered the night before after dinner.

It is a real shame that the hotel is let down by the food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed here for two nights prior to a Bwindi gorilla trek so it felt appropriate to stay where Diane Fossey did. Very clean and comfortable rooms with a good view to the volcanoes on the Rwandan border. Very good food in restaurant and cosy little bar. Friendly young dog, Sushi, as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kisoro
12.1 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
20.6 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
0.0 mi away
Mucha Hotel
Mucha Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kisoro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
12.2 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
13.6 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveler's Rest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveler's Rest Hotel

Property: Traveler's Rest Hotel
Address: Bunagana Road, Kisoro, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Kisoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kisoro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Rest is an excellent place for tourists visiting the endangered mountain gorilla in Southwest Uganda. The hotel, built in a somewhat colonial style, has ten rooms and one suite at reasonable prices. The garden is home to many birds, and in the evenings, when it gets cooler, visitors can warm themselves at the fireplace in the lounge.In the restaurant every evening a fine 4 course dinner is served. "Gorillas in the Mist" researcher Dian Fossey stayed here many times, calling it her "second home". The hotels offers a massage-service, perfect after a long gorilla trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Traveler's Rest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing