We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Class in the Wild”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ishasha Wilderness Camp - Queen Elizabeth National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Elephants were enjoying an afternoon snack across a small river a hundred feet away as we checked in. If you like your animals wild and up close, this is your spot.

We came for the (mythical?) tree-climbing lions to this camp in the south region of Queen Elizabeth National Park called Ishasha, though no one in the lodge had spotted a lion on any of the three days we were there. Nearly everything else about our stay exceeded expectations.

Just enjoying an afternoon drink near a firepit along the river we saw elephants, baboons, colobus monkeys, and a variety of birds. Dinner was by candlelight along the river on china with linen, and extremely high quality 3 or 4 course meals, particularly impressive given the remote location. Be adventurous, though - the bugs come big and small, and were interested in my clothes and my food despite my generous use of DEET. Come with a sense of adventure!

The rooms were very well done given the location - flushing toilets, stone flooring, and a lovely open shower area. The room itself was perfectly fine, again above expectations for the remote location.

My only complaint was the showers - we cam back from a game drive the first night a bit late, and the showers and dinner felt very rushed, never what you want on vacation. The 2nd day, we requested 3 and 3:15 showers (time must be reserved because staff actually prepares the 20 liters of warm water to order, no easy feat) - the first 20 liters arrived at 3:30 after I asked again, the 2nd didn't come until almost 4 - my wife and I both managed to shower using the first 20 liters.

The service otherwise was fantastic and friendly. I doubt there is a peer to this location anywhere in the Ishasha region.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boskk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

I have stayed in so many lodges and bush camps in Africa, but Ishasha really does it for me. The setting on the Ntungwe River, the accommodations are so spacious, well designed and very comfortable, THEN you have the dining and lounge area, also within view of the river and what staff! The staff were so clued up, just perfectly experienced to understand what was needed and when. Just minutes away fantastic game viewing was to be had, thousands of Buffalo, Topi and Uganda Kob spread across the savanna, made this part of the world very much one that had not changed in thousands of years.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalcolmWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Ishasha Wilderness camp. The tents, communal eating and leisure areas were all in excellent condition and so well suited to the environment. The wild life was plentiful and within reasonable access from the camp. We made nice friendships with other travellers in the communal areas. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. A great place to sample Africa.

Room Tip: All the sleeping areas were reasonably separated for privacy. Lodge staff accompanied you at night f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This place is amazing. After driving down from Mweya Safari Lodge, at the northern end of QENP, Ishasha was a contrast in terms of the terrain and also the sense of remoteness. Our great regret was that we only stayed one night. We enjoyed the company of some other folks - expats based in Kampala. The facilities were first class, adapted beautifully to its remote location with locally generated power, careful use of water, but you would never know. The 'tented accommodation' was wonderful and the large common dining shamba was a delight. We didn't see any lions - it was if they had all left for a convention - but the proximity of elephant, buffalo and hyena to the camp was remarkable. We saw the biggest elephants in our time in Uganda near the airstrip. The adjacent swamp teamed with kob topis and warthog. The birdlife was similarly spectacular - 8 species of large raptors spotted. I was particularly taken with the tse tse fly traps distributed around the camp, and the hordes of butterflies that rose up as we walked between our tent and the dining facility.

Room Tip: I had no way to choose between them - all looked good and face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This lodge is just beautiful -- a little oasis in the bush. The staff was just wonderful and very friendly. The food was delicious. I just loved sitting on the terrace and watching the hippos. This is a very lovely lodge. I stayed here for a few nights on my way to track the mountain gorillas so I had my own guide and driver for the game drives. I am not sure if the lodge has its own safari jeeps as well or if they make arrangements for guests without cars.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheltydog2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night in July 2013. My one regret is that we only stayed for one night. Upon arrival, we were met with a warm welcome and an informative tour around our well maintained tent (5). The bed was large with an excellent mosquito net, there were many pieces of furniture around the tent and the attached bathroom was as equally well furnished with all amenities you could require. The staff throughout our stay were excellent, obviously well trained, always delivering food from the right and very polite. The manager came over to each table at dinner and introduced himself which was a nice touch. We spent a lovely relaxing morning sat on our verandah reading and listening to the river and birds. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to visit

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kirbsterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

What an experience to stay in this beautiful luxury campsite along the river! You cant almost call it a campsite, since the tents look just like beautifully decorated appartements. The staff is very helpfull and friendly and the food is delicious! Youre surrounded by animals and close to the tree-climbing-lions. I would really come back to this place and stay a couple of days longer!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aflora87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
27.9 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
490 reviews
32.5 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#11 of 34 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
105 reviews
45.4 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#3 of 34 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#15 of 34 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
128 reviews
48.1 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#12 of 34 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
136 reviews
32.5 mi away
Park View Safari Lodge
Park View Safari Lodge
#14 of 34 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ishasha Wilderness Camp - Queen Elizabeth National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ishasha Wilderness Camp - Queen Elizabeth National Park

Address: Wild Frontiers Uganda, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range: £436 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ishasha Wilderness Camp - Queen Elizabeth National Park 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury, eco-friendly camp located in Uganda's Queen Elizabeth National Park - famous for its tree climbing lions. It is an idyllic retreat for people who truly enjoy the wilderness. Being within the park the wildlife is free to also pass through the camp and elephants can be seen bathing in the river, buffalo enjoy grazing and resident troops of Black-and-White Colobus and vervet monkeys are frequently viewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Ishasha Wilderness Camp - Queen Elizabeth National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ishasha Wilderness Camp Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Ishasha Wilderness Camp - Queen Elizabeth National Park Uganda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing