We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilderness feel, friendly staff, picturesque setting, great game drives.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ishasha Wilderness Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wilderness feel, friendly staff, picturesque setting, great game drives.”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed for 1 night prior to departing to Bwindi for our Gorilla trek and I’m so glad we did. I thought we might be restricted with regards to game drives with only staying the one evening but couldn’t have been more wrong.

Our Safari guide was Ben from Wild Frontiers and he was amazing. His experience and extensive knowledge regarding the African bush made our safari here one we’ll never forget. He made it educational yet so much fun, we packed in hours of game drives and with 20 minutes to spare before leaving the park he managed to locate the magnificent Tree Climbing Lions!!!! – THANK YOU BEN!

Back at the camp, our tent (No. 5) was immaculate and looked out onto the Ntungwe River – very peaceful.

The food was excellent and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

If you’re thinking of Gorilla trekking, can thoroughly recommend combining it with a stay at Ishasha Wilderness Camp.

(Booked via XA! African Wildlife Safari’s – a fantastic and faultless African safari company).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    30
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
98
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had a fantastic two day stay at Ishasha wilderness camp. Everything about the camp was spot on, we even had the place to ourselves on the second night. The staff were very attentive and the room (tent 7) even came with a tree full of weaver birds.
That doesn't even include the food which was amazing, both in taste and presentation.
As it was the low season the camp was quiet, but that just meant we could sit for hours at a time watching the lions, both in and out of the fig trees. We had them to ourselves, and they even managed to raise their weary and somewhat fattened bodies for a photo or two.
All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinandAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We only stayed one night, but wish we would have stayed longer. The camp is very nicely decorated and clean. I was a little leary of the bucket showers, but they were more than adequate. It is easy to take 2 showers on 20 liters of water. But, I am sure you can request more in needed. The location is just on a river and the sun rose over it when we were there--stunning. The staff was exceptional. The food was probably the best we had while in Uganda and that includes Entebbe. The presentation of the meals was also better than elsewhere. The wildlife in this section of the park was much more abundant than the north, at least during our stay. Many kobs, topi, buffalo, vervet monkeys, elephant, and abundant birdlife. We were lucky to see the tree climbing lions on our exit out of the park. One thing that would enhance the game drives would be for the lodge to provide guides as they do in other parts of Africa. Our driver was great, but he can not know the habits of the local wildlife when he does not stay there much. When there are local guides, they can tell you not only how many lions there are, but all of their relationships to one another. When the staff knows this type of detail about their animals, it can also help to prevent/ discover poaching (maybe the UWA does this all on their own). Overall, a great stay that was way too short!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Elephants were enjoying an afternoon snack across a small river a hundred feet away as we checked in. If you like your animals wild and up close, this is your spot.

We came for the (mythical?) tree-climbing lions to this camp in the south region of Queen Elizabeth National Park called Ishasha, though no one in the lodge had spotted a lion on any of the three days we were there. Nearly everything else about our stay exceeded expectations.

Just enjoying an afternoon drink near a firepit along the river we saw elephants, baboons, colobus monkeys, and a variety of birds. Dinner was by candlelight along the river on china with linen, and extremely high quality 3 or 4 course meals, particularly impressive given the remote location. Be adventurous, though - the bugs come big and small, and were interested in my clothes and my food despite my generous use of DEET. Come with a sense of adventure!

The rooms were very well done given the location - flushing toilets, stone flooring, and a lovely open shower area. The room itself was perfectly fine, again above expectations for the remote location.

My only complaint was the showers - we cam back from a game drive the first night a bit late, and the showers and dinner felt very rushed, never what you want on vacation. The 2nd day, we requested 3 and 3:15 showers (time must be reserved because staff actually prepares the 20 liters of warm water to order, no easy feat) - the first 20 liters arrived at 3:30 after I asked again, the 2nd didn't come until almost 4 - my wife and I both managed to shower using the first 20 liters.

The service otherwise was fantastic and friendly. I doubt there is a peer to this location anywhere in the Ishasha region.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boskk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I have stayed in so many lodges and bush camps in Africa, but Ishasha really does it for me. The setting on the Ntungwe River, the accommodations are so spacious, well designed and very comfortable, THEN you have the dining and lounge area, also within view of the river and what staff! The staff were so clued up, just perfectly experienced to understand what was needed and when. Just minutes away fantastic game viewing was to be had, thousands of Buffalo, Topi and Uganda Kob spread across the savanna, made this part of the world very much one that had not changed in thousands of years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Ishasha Wilderness camp. The tents, communal eating and leisure areas were all in excellent condition and so well suited to the environment. The wild life was plentiful and within reasonable access from the camp. We made nice friendships with other travellers in the communal areas. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. A great place to sample Africa.

Room Tip: All the sleeping areas were reasonably separated for privacy. Lodge staff accompanied you at night f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This place is amazing. After driving down from Mweya Safari Lodge, at the northern end of QENP, Ishasha was a contrast in terms of the terrain and also the sense of remoteness. Our great regret was that we only stayed one night. We enjoyed the company of some other folks - expats based in Kampala. The facilities were first class, adapted beautifully to its remote location with locally generated power, careful use of water, but you would never know. The 'tented accommodation' was wonderful and the large common dining shamba was a delight. We didn't see any lions - it was if they had all left for a convention - but the proximity of elephant, buffalo and hyena to the camp was remarkable. We saw the biggest elephants in our time in Uganda near the airstrip. The adjacent swamp teamed with kob topis and warthog. The birdlife was similarly spectacular - 8 species of large raptors spotted. I was particularly taken with the tse tse fly traps distributed around the camp, and the hordes of butterflies that rose up as we walked between our tent and the dining facility.

Room Tip: I had no way to choose between them - all looked good and face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
27.9 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
455 reviews
3.9 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#14 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
110 reviews
45.4 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#1 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.1 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#11 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
#18 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
21 reviews
35.0 mi away
Kyambura Game Lodge
Kyambura Game Lodge
#26 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ishasha Wilderness Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ishasha Wilderness Camp

Property: Ishasha Wilderness Camp
Address: Wild Frontiers Uganda (G&C Tours Ltd), Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ishasha Wilderness Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the ten spacious framed canvas rooms, situated in the wooded area besides the river, is comfortably furnished and with its own private en suite bathroom and dressing area providing running water, solar hot water 'bush' showers and a flushing eco-friendly toilet. We also offer "Fly-in" safari packages which include transportation to and from nearby airstrips as well as game drives and other activities included within the rates. Please inquire with us for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Ishasha Wilderness Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ishasha Wilderness Camp Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Ishasha Wilderness Camp Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing