We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding venue!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ishasha Wilderness Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding venue!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I had a 50-person safari wedding at IWC this past December where we booked the entire camp for accommodations, ceremony and reception. Words do not exist that can describe how incredible the experience was. The manager, Jane, is exceptionally gifted at paying close attention to every detail, resulting in the most relaxing, well-run "camp" you can imagine. Indeed, "camp" is hardly the right word to describe IWC: as other reviews mention, the accommodations provide the height of comfort, the food (all meals of the day) is plentiful and delicious, and the staff are true friends by the end of your stay.

As a vacation spot, I cannot recommend it highly enough. As far as hosting a wedding there, it provided the perfect combination of class and wilderness that we were looking for. The ceremony by the riverbank under an acacia tree, about a three minutes' walk from the main lodge. The camp provided cool drinks at the ceremony site, and for the reception at the main lodge, the camp arranged all of the tables and seating, the dance area, a cocktail and appetizers area on a veranda by the river, an outdoor lounge just beside the dance floor, and a fire on the same veranda by the veranda at the end of the evening.

The natural beauty of the camp's location and its tasteful decorations mean that very, very little decoration is required or even recommended. We brought a sparse few additional table decorations (table runners, our own vases, guest favors, and family candle holders) and speakers for dancing, but that was it. Basically, if you have IWC running everything, your safari wedding would have incredible food, naturally beautiful decorations and the most stunning ceremony backdrop and reception location you could wish for. Your guests would also, of course, have time in Queen Elizabeth National Park, famous as the home of Uganda's tree-climbing lions, and much other game besides.

The place itself is magnificent and every interaction we had with the staff was excellent. I cannot recommend IWC highly enough, either for a visit or to host your special day!

Room Tip: Every room is beside the river, so you can't really miss out when it comes to rooms. =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    32
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
99
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was a very comfortable camp and far exceeded expectations. The tented accommodation was excellent with en-suites and very spacious and comfortable bedding, flushing enviro friendly toilets, hot showers (upon request) and great communal dining and meeting space.

To be able to lie in bed and hear the river flowing gently outside is so serene and relaxing. The chance of the occasional visit by an elephant to frolick in the river (occurred twice in the two days we were there) is an added bonus.

The only criticism, which is probably a bit unreasonable given you are in the wilderness, is that WiFi is only available for three hours in the evening - and even then it was a bit of a lottery.

Food and service surpassed expectations.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are very much the same but a couple are not directly on the river so request one b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were a group of 20 Ugandan Tour operators and stayed for 2 Nights. Ishasha wilderness camp is hidden treasure on the banks of Ntungwe River, right inside Ishasha sector famous for tree climbing lions. The restaurant setting facing the gentle flowing river is superb. The food was good and on the last evening we were treated to a sundowner - wow- a cool drink in the middle of the the savannah over sunset!

The staff are very nice and hospitable above all they make you feel safe in the wild being escorted to and from the rooms.

The rooms were beautifully laid and are very spacious yet environmentally friendly. The owners put in a lot of ideas.

I will stay again with my family

Room Tip: If a couple ask for room/Tent NO. 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Being in the bush, looking over a lovely river, with very comfortable rooms, i would highly recommend this camp; very nice staff.
we just regretted not staying longer to enjoy the peaceful and lovely location
we saw the climbing lions which was a must as well
just a little minus for the food, that was a little heavy for us

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanilla2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have staid at Ishasha a number of times with groups of guests that I was guiding on safari. The location is excellent and a 2 or 3 night stay offers great wildlife and birding opportunities. The camp itself is simple, but very comfortable, the food is good and the staff extremely accommodating and friendly. I highly recommend Ishasha Wilderness Camp to anyone visiting Queen Elisabeth - it really is the best choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold River, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is not the lodge experience..... The food was bad, the occupancy was very low, so the old food is served. Watch out...... They try hard, but not enough training... The tents are full of bugs. We told the manager the first night and second night it was full of bugs again, lack of pride and attention to detail.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chanaka_Crystal_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed for 1 night prior to departing to Bwindi for our Gorilla trek and I’m so glad we did. I thought we might be restricted with regards to game drives with only staying the one evening but couldn’t have been more wrong.

Our Safari guide was Ben from Wild Frontiers and he was amazing. His experience and extensive knowledge regarding the African bush made our safari here one we’ll never forget. He made it educational yet so much fun, we packed in hours of game drives and with 20 minutes to spare before leaving the park he managed to locate the magnificent Tree Climbing Lions!!!! – THANK YOU BEN!

Back at the camp, our tent (No. 5) was immaculate and looked out onto the Ntungwe River – very peaceful.

The food was excellent and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

If you’re thinking of Gorilla trekking, can thoroughly recommend combining it with a stay at Ishasha Wilderness Camp.

(Booked via XA! African Wildlife Safari’s – a fantastic and faultless African safari company).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
27.9 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
463 reviews
3.9 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#14 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
118 reviews
32.5 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#10 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
#18 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
22 reviews
35.0 mi away
Kyambura Game Lodge
Kyambura Game Lodge
#26 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
61 reviews
32.6 mi away
Park View Safari Lodge
Park View Safari Lodge
#15 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ishasha Wilderness Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ishasha Wilderness Camp

Property: Ishasha Wilderness Camp
Address: Wild Frontiers Uganda (G&C Tours Ltd), Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ishasha Wilderness Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the ten spacious framed canvas rooms, situated in the wooded area besides the river, is comfortably furnished and with its own private en suite bathroom and dressing area providing running water, solar hot water 'bush' showers and a flushing eco-friendly toilet. We also offer "Fly-in" safari packages which include transportation to and from nearby airstrips as well as game drives and other activities included within the rates. Please inquire with us for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Ishasha Wilderness Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ishasha Wilderness Camp Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Ishasha Wilderness Camp Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing