We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tented camp with great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ishasha Wilderness Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The staff is what made this place! Very friendly great service! The chef is excellent! All the meals were great. Sometimes we got lucky enough to see the elephants along the river. The only drawback is that you have to ask for a hot shower. Only cold shower available unless you request a hot one. Which means you need to leave your tent and goo to reception to ask. Also no charging in tents, only in reception area. We stayed in tent 4. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

A wonderful camp tucked away in QENP's Ishasha sector. The tents are specious and fairly luxurious, especially considering the eco-focus of the camp. There is no running hot water, but the staff will boil a bucketload for you whenever a hot shower seems like a good idea. The location is stunning, right on a riverbank. During our stay we saw elephants and buffaloes come down to the water on the other side, and heard a male lion roaring not far from the camp throughout one night. Food was good, sometimes excellent, and the permanent tea station as a nice touch, as was the bush breakfast and sundowners on the ridge. Abu is probably one of the best managers around, and was an incredibly graceful host. Overall, a wonderful stay and experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeThroughALens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I just did Sobek mtn travels African Primate Safari in Uganda and Rwanda ( amazing trip) and this was everyone's favorite place to stay. The setting is idyllic, on a river below a bluff right in the Ishasha park , you are surrounded by the sights and sounds of the African jungle and savannah . Not a big place maybe 8 canvas cabins , simple and elegant with private bath ( environmentally friendly but can still get a hot shower). The staff is so nice, want coffee in your room at 5 AM before a game walk ( no problem). The food is amazing , the chef Michael prepares menus that rival 5 star restaurants , hard to believe you are in the middle of no where. The dining area is open to the river . Perfect place to enjoy nature !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An outstanding tented camp in the grounds of the Southern Sector of the Queen Elizabeth National Park.
First greeting was a big bull elephant feeding at the river as I arrived. I was the only guest in this camp, and the service was flawless. I stayed 1 night in May '14.
The permanent tents are good size, typical ECO style, but comfortable, clean and spacious. The Winner is each tent has its own view of the river, where despite being there only one night, watched colobus monkeys, baboons, and elephant as if they were at my command.
Food was outstanding quality and more than enough. I felt I had been fattened up to be fed to the lions :)
Winnie and Mark who manage the establishment were great to meet and dine with, the evening watching the fireflies and stars over a fire and drink.
1 night was not enough, and despite seeing the tree climbing lions, leopard and plenty of elephant definitely have Ishasha Wilderness Camp on my "am coming back" to list.

Room Tip: All the tents are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This camp is perfect! The tents are very big and beautifully located. The beds are huge and very comfy and the bathroom is as big as most standard hotelrooms. There is no warm water in the rooms, but whenever we wanted to take a shower, they brought a big kettle of hot water to our tent.
We really loved the food, every 4 course dinner, 2 course lunch and breakfast was prepared with love. Every wake up call came with tea and homemade cookies.

All the staff is very friendly and helpful. We really recommend this camp!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AvW12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

April 2014: Just enjoyed a wonderful two nights at Ishasha Wilderness Camp. As stated by other reviewers, the setting is terrific, right along the banks of the river. Sleeping in the luxury tents about ten meters from the sounds of the fast flowing river was incredibly peaceful. The food was excellent, and the staff, up to and including manager Abu, were very gracious and accomodating. This area of Queen Elizabeth Park is much less traveled than the Northern sector, so when we found a leopard and later a group of tree climbing lions during our game drive, we were the only vehicle there, which is very unusual for an African safari. IWC provided a truly memorable experience. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a really unique place to stay - a very memorable experience! Their 10 tented dwellings are pretty much right on the river, so you hear the flow of the water constantly. It's very unique and relaxing. They even set up the dinner tables near the river so you could really enjoy the experience. The service was excellent, the maanger terrific, and the food very good - they even did a good job with the vegetarian options! So much so that the carnivores wanted them!

The only downside is spotty internet service and no outlets in the rooms. Also, taking a hot/warm shower can be a bit of a challenge - par for the course in a venue like this.

Notably, we went on a game drive and saw a bunch of lions sleeping in the trees in the afternoon - it was a fabulous! Definitely consider this options if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
27.9 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
476 reviews
3.9 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#14 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
123 reviews
45.4 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#3 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#11 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
99 reviews
48.1 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#12 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
129 reviews
35.0 mi away
Kyambura Game Lodge
Kyambura Game Lodge
#26 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ishasha Wilderness Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ishasha Wilderness Camp

Address: Wild Frontiers Uganda, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range: £469 - £546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ishasha Wilderness Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the ten spacious framed canvas rooms, situated in the wooded area besides the river, is comfortably furnished and with its own private en suite bathroom and dressing area providing running water, solar hot water 'bush' showers and a flushing eco-friendly toilet. We also offer "Fly-in" safari packages which include transportation to and from nearby airstrips as well as game drives and other activities included within the rates. Please inquire with us for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Ishasha Wilderness Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ishasha Wilderness Camp Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Ishasha Wilderness Camp Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing