We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good at all.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ishasha-Ntungwe River Camp
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Not good at all.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I had looked at this place when passing and decided to try it as an alternative to the costly Wilderness Lodge. The booking went through OK and so we arrived. It had been raining off and on and they can't be blamed for that. However we were told only one of the booked Stilted Tents was available for the first night. There were four in our party and we had booked BOTH stilted Tents. We were shown Betty's booking page and fair enough only one booked on there. However we had a voucher for both and as we were staying two nights we wanted what we had booked. After initial resistance we got the two tents. Don't know about those evicted.
The tents were fine and what we expected except there was no river view just a reedy swamp. Inside was as shown on the website and we were happy enough with that. Nice bed, usual offices etc.,. Hot water by solar heater.
Sadly the approach path could do with attention as it was raised grass and unit. Staff seemed to have made their own paths too.
There is no criticism of Betty, and ex UWA warden we knew by happenstance, but severe criticism of the 'absent management/owners' in Kampala. They do not have a clue about running a succesful Lodge.
Meals were bland and unimaginative. We feel stocks were low after teh Christmas period and the chef was doing his best with leftovers. How many ways to cook a Banana are there? this view was re-inforced by the strong taste of Knorr soup from a packet in the "Fresh Mushroom" Soup. We also noted on the second day that 'supplies' arrived by motorcycle from the village and noting the produce, it was no surprise that these formed our dinner. We think the place was living from hand to mouth and profits remain in Kampala.
All in all we died not mind the Camp and restaurant as much as Dympna seems to have done. We stay at lots of places like this and like a bit of rusticity away from Modern large Lodges.
However it was unacceptable to be served such food in such circumstances so doiubt we will be returning any time soon. There are two other Camps immediately adjacent and will try them.

Room Tip: Take only the two modern Tents on Stilts. Or go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solagna, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

even in the worst rains the welcome from Betty and her staff was great, we spent just one night in this wondeful campsite on the river Ntungwe in the Ishasha plain but we'll be back soon and for a longer wonderfil stay! thanks Betty!

Room Tip: ask for a lunch on the river bank!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dario f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

This was our only mistake during our wonderful trip :( We were a bit concerned before we left home but our tour operator assured us it would be fine for one night. It was a dump. The entrance was like going into a swamp, it was wet and gloomy. Reception was a damp open sided hut and as for our tented accommodation.......awful. We upgraded (there was only one other couple staying there so no problem with that) for an outlandish charge and that was slightly better. You can't even hear a river never mind see one. The food was very average with no choice. Terrible place, to be avoided.

Room Tip: Take off the ground accommodation !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DympnaBrayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels

dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I guess the approach through grass and mud didn't help. The road was blocked so we couldn't leave again for a game drive. The tent we were brought to was moldy and old. We requested an upgrade to a tent/chalet on stilts - cost of upgrade $60. Base cost was $120 so total of $180 was way too high for what was offered. This is a VERY basic location. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was OK given the environment. No light after 11pm. No electricity. An experience for one night. Not to be repeated.

Room Tip: If you can afford it - get off the ground!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed here for one night in sept 2011. We felt so welcome. The shower was really nice and warm and the tents spacious. As a vegetarian I was delighted with the delicous dinner, the best I had on my trip in Uganda! We were lucky to see 6 tree climbing lions, 2 of them within 30 min. drive from the camp

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Loved this simple little eco safari camp. Wonderful staff, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitgum, Uganda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Down a track that got progressively more muddy and made us grateful we had 4WD, we received a very nice welcome from the manageress Betty and her team. Soon installed in our tents, we could easily get back to the Ishasha gate for an afternoon game drive. The raised 'river edge' tents were clean, tidy and fairly well appointed. Great stone bathrooms. Very good food with attentive service, on the river bank. Recommended but, as ever, negotiate when booking, to get an acceptable price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CommanderBUganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queen Elizabeth National Park
0.0 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.0 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#13 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
#17 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Engiri Game Lodge
Engiri Game Lodge
#30 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tembo Safari Lodge
Tembo Safari Lodge
#20 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ishasha-Ntungwe River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ishasha-Ntungwe River Camp

Property: Ishasha-Ntungwe River Camp
Address: near Ishasha gate, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ishasha-Ntungwe River Camp (INRC) welcomes you to Uganda. INRC is a well established camp site and safari lodge designed to provide comfortable accommodation adjacent to the natural habitat of wild animals. INRC is strategically along the Ntungwe river next to an elephant track. INRC's camp consists of spacious tents with an exquisite African interior located in a calm environment. The tents are spread out on the ground with a private veranda in the front and a toilet/bathroom at the back. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ishasha-Ntungwe River Camp Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing