We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ishasha-Ntungwe River Camp
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Queen Elizabeth National Park
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorers Hub(Kampala)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Hotel(Kampala)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ruch(Kampala)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
9
7
3
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
7
3
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivertree climbing lionsgateishashacampparkmosquitoes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 26 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2009

This camp opened in August 2008 and is located about 3 km from the Ishasha gate at QENP. The rates are much less than the Ishasha Wilderness Camp which is located inside the park. In Feb 2009 we paid $210 for a tent for non-residents and $170 for residents and the rate includes all meals. Alcohol from the well-stocked bar is extra. Although there is no electricity, there are solar-powered refrigerators and an oven. So you don’t have to worry about getting warm beer!

The not-quite luxury tents have comfortable twin beds and enough space for your luggage, however, there are no shelves or tables for clothes and small items. An addition built onto the back of the tent houses a toilet, sink, and solar-powered hot shower. The back zipper of the tent opens into the facilities so the tents are fully self-contained. Netting on all tent openings ensures the tent to be mosquito and insect free so an additional mosquito net is not required.

A superb young chef named Benson prepared the meals. A sample dinner was stuffed tomato, onion soup, homemade rolls, barbecued chicken with rice and gravy, fresh green beans and carrots, and sponge cake for dessert. We also enjoyed full breakfasts and wonderful lunches.

On one afternoon we were delighted by a local family who entertained us with traditional dancing, drumming and singing.

We were all well taken care of by the excellent manager and staff.

Wildlife venture into the area where the camp is located and the Ntungwe River is nearby. Elephants, lions, and during the rainy season, hippos, can be heard at night. On our last night we heard several lions roaring in the distance beginning around 5 am.

The downside to this location is that when it rains the road leading to the camp is extremely slippery and difficult to negotiate, even with 4WD. However, the manager, Michael, assured me that the dirt road would be covered with murram which will alleviate the problem.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annielf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es gibt 2 neue Zelte, die geraeumiger sind und auf Pfaehlen stehen. Unbedingt bei Buchung nachfragen.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews