We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simba Safari Camp
Nearby Hotels
Mweya Safari Lodge(Queen Elizabeth National Park)
US$451
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ishasha Wilderness Camp(Queen Elizabeth National Park)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pumba Safari Cottages(Queen Elizabeth National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Katara Lodge(Queen Elizabeth National Park)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge(Queen Elizabeth National Park)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Enganzi Game Lodge(Queen Elizabeth National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge(Queen Elizabeth National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Twin Lakes Safari Lodge(Queen Elizabeth National Park)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Irungu Forest Safari Lodge(Queen Elizabeth National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kyambura Game Lodge(Queen Elizabeth National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
37
59
26
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
59
26
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull barbudget pricebudget lodgehot waternational parkrooms are basica long road tripluxury serviceat this price pointgame drivesensuite roomstayed here for one nightfew minutes drivea great place to staytoilet and showerrift valleysimba
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The location and set-up of Simba Safari Camp is great, and the lodge has clearly been well planned and designed. However, after three nights spent there as a family of four plus one friend, we felt that, with better management the place could offer far more than it does at present. Our two-bedroomed cottage was comfortable enough but neither of the showers worked (extremely poor pressure and faulty shower-heads), and the toilet in the one bathroom was not flushing properly. We reported the problems and somebody came to check, but the situation didn't improve so we ended up using the communal ablution facilities provided for the campsite. The restaurant was equally disappointing. Most of the items on the breakfast menu were 'out of stock' and it appeared that no effort was being made to replenish these items. I have no problem with being served a breakfast of fruit, eggs and toast - but then don't present your guests with a menu of unavailable options! Dinners were adequate (if a little uninspired) but expensive - USD 8 for a plate of rice and mixed vegetables! Also there were only 2 choices of main meal each night, with those same meal choices provided every other day. All in all, it felt like Simba could be a great place to stay if they just sharpened their game.....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Simba Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at Simba Safari Camp share we appreciate the compliments on the lodge and the constructive criticism. We genuinely see it the same way, Simba Safari Camp has really great potential, I am sorry to hear about your challenges with water and it is really the case that with Kasese being so hot levels do sometimes dip too low causing the pressure on the shower heads and cloak rooms to get low. However, we do regularly replenish the water by purchasing from the local council to meet our guests needs but it seems the high demand over the festive period surpassed supply – this is of course not an excuse and we do sincerely apologies for the inconvenience

I am happy to note that the breakfast was fine but we will definitely take away the offering menu card that shows too many but unavailable choices and work to make it more spot on.

We really thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciate and like that of all our other guests will make sure we learn from it. We hope too that we will have the opportunity to host you in the future and that you will experience a huge improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a decent enough place with clean rooms furnished with charming wood beds, draped in mosquito netting. There was hot water as promised, though not at great pressure. We stayed here for one night in low season and were the only guests.
My only complaints about this place and the reason we only stayed one of the three nights we'd planned are:
1) Location. The place sits just off the Fort Portal -Mpondwe Road, a major trucking route between DRC and the rest of East Africa. Between 0600 and 2200 there is regular traffic and the trucks are extremely loud...its kind of like staying next to an airport...not the vibe/atmosphere one wants for a safari.
2) Price. We paid $93 for a double en-suite room -bed and breakfast. I would have rated the place 4.5 stars for value if it were in the $50 price range. It annoyed me that the staff (on the phone in Kampala and then again at the lodge) were unwilling to negotiate the rate...especially since we were the ONLY guests and would have possibly stayed 2 more nights.

One final observation...it seems the owners of this place have not yet been introduced to the lamp shade....all lighting is from bare white bulbs or florescent tubes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Simba Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear guest,

Happy New Year! Thank you for choosing Simba Lodge as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased hear that the rooms met your expectations, a clean room and hot water, coupled with excellent service and scrumptious meals are some of the main things that leave our guests happy throughout their stay with us.

We are as disappointed as you are to note that the trucks during your stay made us miss scoring 100% with you. This not the norm I assure you. We are located edge of Uganda’s most popular Queen Elizabeth National Park, with panoramic views across the park’s extensive savannah plain teeming with wildlife as well as Lakes George and the famed Kazinga Channel. We are the closest accommodation to the park’s Kasenyi plains (preferred area for game viewing drives on the edge of Lake George) as well as all other areas of northern Queen Elizabeth National Park, including the Mweya Peninsula and the Kazinga Channel; well known for launch boat cruises, close range game-viewing as well as bird-viewing.

You have a right to be satisfied with whatever you pay for and we are sorry to hear that we missed having you for an extra two nights because of this. You deserve good value for your money. In an effort to remain transparent and fair we have fixed prices and this policy helps us run the lodge accordingly, however, we take each guest’s input seriously and we shall review and see if there is something special we can do in the low seasons especially.

Your valuable suggestions help us better our services and improve our standards, again we thank you for choosing Simba Safari Camp and we welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Simba is nice, not too far from the park entrance.
Rooms are very basic. For 93usd for a double I would expect a bit more atmosphere in the rooms. But they looked clean.
We stayed in the dorm for 14usd per night, no breakfast included. Since nobody else used it we had the room to ourselves anyway. Beds where good, gorgeous mosquito nets. Clean. Hot showers through solar power. Nice.

But. (you felt it comin' didnt you?).
I read in a lot of reviews that (kitchen)service in Africa is slow. I have my own restaurant in Masaka and I might be a bit prejudiced, and even myself got average reviews about the time food can take.
But seriously, 2,15 hours to make guacomole with toasted bread?? I even said I wanted it as a starter and that I would order food later. The waitress just always looked at me with her big eyes spread open wide. When I ordered for my diner 1 hour after the starters, I still didnt get anything, and in the end we got it all together but not together, just mixed up.
We ordered like this:
5pm:
1 guacamole with toasted bread
1 portion of hash brown potato
5h45:
2 tuna sandwich
1 plain chips
1 masala chips

We got it like this:
7h15:
1 tuna toasted
1 guacamole
10 mins later:
all the chips + the hash browns
5 mins later: the last tuna, which was now a plain sandwich, not toasted. When I asked how there could be a difference in 2 same dishes, the answer was: this one is brown brown and the other one is white white.

I dont now but I was really worked up and down again and didnt even talk anymore to the staff about it. I was just fed up with it and soooo hungry.

Next day I took the fixed menu and that was very fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lenke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Simba Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for staying with us at Simba Safari Camp and for sharing your experience.

We are pleased to hear that the room was clean and we met your expectations in terms of the accommodation. Yes we are very close to the Queen Elizabeth National park, one of Uganda’s most popular National Parks and we hope you got to experience the wide range of activities in and around the park e.g. boat ride on the Kazinga Channel, a game- drive on the Kasenyi plains, tracking the regions’ famous tree climbing lions, chimp tracking in Kaymbura Gorge and so much more.

As Simba Safari camp is our comfortable basic lodge we specialize in set menus as this allow our chefs to showcase their talent and specialty and for our guests tends to be cheaper way to dine than ordering separately priced items. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the mix up in your order and delay in service. Regardless of having a fixed menu we still aim to be flexible and give our guests the option to personalize their orders and it a shame this was at the cost of timely service. We continue to carry out training with our service staff, improving their communication techniques to ensure professionalism and prompt service.

Thank you again for leaving your valuable comments as it is indeed feedback like your that allows us to identify the areas we can improve and exceed our esteemed guests’ experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here for one night about a week ago and absolutely loved it!!

Idealy located close the QENP but far enough outside so you don't have to pay the $35 entry fee or the exorbitant prices of the lodges inside the park.

Camping was $7 per night and extremely comfortable, the staff even lit a kerosene lamp near(ish) to your tent during the evening to make it easy to find in the dark after a few beers....wonderful.

The toilets and showers were clean and worked perfectly and had electricity during the night (no more head torch needed to find the loo roll) oh and there was loo roll too!!

The food was delicious, I had the vegetable stew and roast potatoes which were great. fairly priced. one lunch time it took what felt like an age to turn up but we did arrive an announced and this is not an unusual occurance in ugagnda, you just got to wait it out and appreciate it even more when it does turn up!

The staff here we really great, they even helped us pack down our tents when were were leaving! In the evening they even lit a small bonfie and put chairs round for guests to enjoy....lovely way to end the day with a cool beer.

Last but not least they have a super fast wifi connection....I have no idea how they have managed it, but it was amazing after having no internt connection for weeks anywhere else in Uganda....and its free,

In conclusion if you dont have the $$$ to spend in a high end lodge this a great alternative, do not hesitate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Simba Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Simba Lodge as your camping destination. We are very pleased to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the lodges facilities and friendly staff. It is indeed feedback such as yours which motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.

We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again Kate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

During our stay in Uganda we spent two nights in this accommodation
.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff at SIMBA SAFARI CAMP was very friendly and helpful, they works very well. Do not forget that we are in Africa and here all the workers are fast and very efficient.

Well run by the manager Oscar Rodriguez, and his professionalism is very noticeable and helpful.

Perfect location! Just outside the Queen Elizabeth National Park (saves you on fees), were we had some magnificent game drives.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martadolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Simba Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such lovely comments! We are very pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay at Simba Safari Camp. It is indeed feedback such as yours that motivate us as a team in delivering services to the best of our ability.

We shall be sure to pass on your respects to the manager, Oscar. We look forward to the opportunity of accommodating you again on your next holiday and leave you with only more lasting memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews