We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent group accommodation within a short drive of fantastic wildlife.”
Review of Simba Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simba Safari Camp
UK
2 reviews
“Excellent group accommodation within a short drive of fantastic wildlife.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed at Simba Safari Camp with a group of 23 school children and 8 adults. The dorms were perfect for large groups and helpfully were split in to two so girls and boys could be separated.

The adults stayed in either single or twin lodges. These were very comfortable and the showers ran warm for the majority of the time. Not something I can say of any accommodation I have stayed in outside of Kampala. The lodges all have a private veranda which is protected from the elements in even the heaviest of downpours.

As we were a large group we were provided with buffet style food in the restaurant. All the meals were of a very good standard and the staff were very helpful.

We all felt very welcome at Simba Safari Camp and had a very relaxing couple of days. The grounds are extensive and in parts have great views out towards the national park. There is a lovely outside area around an open fire that proved to be a great spot to unwind at the end of a long day.

I would highly recommend this place for groups and would definitely return with my family to stay in any of the lodges. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monksUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UgandaLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Simba Safari Camp, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We cannot thank you enough for choosing Simba Safari Camp and going a step forward to share your experience with us. How honored we are t have hosted you and the little ones as well.

We could not have put it any better, Simba Safaris Camps is excellent and perfect for a relaxing holiday, whether when you are travelling individually or in groups, as our accommodation is flexible enough to handle both in terms of the room types and the meal plans. We are indeed blessed to be right on the edge of Uganda’s most popular Queen Elizabeth National Park, with panoramic views across the park’s extensive Savannah plain teeming with wildlife as well as Lakes George and the famed Kazinga Channel.

We genuinely go out of our way to make sure our guests feel like they never left home and we are delighted that you got experience this first hand. Comfortable and clean rooms no matter how many guests we have, mouth watering meals regardless of the number of guests, cozy camp fires to keep you warm in the nights coupled with the breath-taking views and helpful & welcoming staff –we hope you never want to leave 

The Kasese area is also very student friendly as it has a significant number of activities that provide both entertainment and learning opportunities for our young children or developing adults. Apart from the famed game viewing drives in Queen Elizabeth National Park or boat cruises on the Kazinga channel, they could visit the scenic crater lakes and Katwe Salt Lake to learn about traditional salt mining or explore Edward Flats and spot the regions' famous tree climbing lions (88 km from Simba Safari Camp) or even visit Kikorongo Cultural center to meet the women of the community and learn how to make traditional baskets and necklaces (2 km from Simba Safari Camp)and so so much!

I trust you and the children got to experience some of this – if there still some of these activities on your to – do list, we hope this will mean we get to see all again in the near future, including your family. Again, we are greatly appreciate your feedback and for having chosen Simba Safari Camp and leaving such lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    53
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
34
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This budget place lies at a favorable spot if you want to do game drives in the Kasenyi planes or visit the Kyambura Gorge. We had difficulties finding an even spot for our tent but facilities are well maintained, good food and very cold beer (not self-evident in Uganda!) is served and they have free Wi-Fi! In the evening they put up a nice campfire with lots of Internationals present (not partying all night).
But the waiters and staff often seemed not to understand what we wanted to say - which lead to some discussions over lunch. Other than that this location is perfectly fine as a budget option.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonno2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Simba Safari Camp, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at Simba Safari Camp and for sharing your experience with us. Yes indeed, we are lucky to have the closest accommodation to the park’s Kasenyi plains (preferred area for game viewing drives on the edge of Lake George) as well as all other areas of northern Queen Elizabeth National Park, including the Mweya Peninsula and the Kazinga Channel; well known for launch boat cruises, close range game-viewing as well as bird-viewing. There is also an opportunity to go for guided chimpanzees tracking in Kyambura Gorge too if you are up for it.

As Simba Safari Camp power is connected to the mains electricity we have managed to purchase good freezers and fridges that keep our food fresh and drinks cold which may be a challenge for other lodges that solely rely on solar power. Hope you got to taste of the very popular Ugandan beer called “Nile Special Lager”

We love and have always worked with the local communities to create a sort of livelihood for them, by hiring some members of the local community and professionally train them to meet the standards of international service. This however, comes with the challenge of the language barrier,more and more they are continuing to learn and will soon have mastered the language in no time. We are confident on your next visit they will have many stories to tell you about the area, its history and its lovely warm people as majority of them have been born raised around the Rwenzori Mountains, Kikorongo and Queen Elizabeth National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The location and set-up of Simba Safari Camp is great, and the lodge has clearly been well planned and designed. However, after three nights spent there as a family of four plus one friend, we felt that, with better management the place could offer far more than it does at present. Our two-bedroomed cottage was comfortable enough but neither of the showers worked (extremely poor pressure and faulty shower-heads), and the toilet in the one bathroom was not flushing properly. We reported the problems and somebody came to check, but the situation didn't improve so we ended up using the communal ablution facilities provided for the campsite. The restaurant was equally disappointing. Most of the items on the breakfast menu were 'out of stock' and it appeared that no effort was being made to replenish these items. I have no problem with being served a breakfast of fruit, eggs and toast - but then don't present your guests with a menu of unavailable options! Dinners were adequate (if a little uninspired) but expensive - USD 8 for a plate of rice and mixed vegetables! Also there were only 2 choices of main meal each night, with those same meal choices provided every other day. All in all, it felt like Simba could be a great place to stay if they just sharpened their game.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Simba Safari Camp, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at Simba Safari Camp share we appreciate the compliments on the lodge and the constructive criticism. We genuinely see it the same way, Simba Safari Camp has really great potential, I am sorry to hear about your challenges with water and it is really the case that with Kasese being so hot levels do sometimes dip too low causing the pressure on the shower heads and cloak rooms to get low. However, we do regularly replenish the water by purchasing from the local council to meet our guests needs but it seems the high demand over the festive period surpassed supply – this is of course not an excuse and we do sincerely apologies for the inconvenience

I am happy to note that the breakfast was fine but we will definitely take away the offering menu card that shows too many but unavailable choices and work to make it more spot on.

We really thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciate and like that of all our other guests will make sure we learn from it. We hope too that we will have the opportunity to host you in the future and that you will experience a huge improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a decent enough place with clean rooms furnished with charming wood beds, draped in mosquito netting. There was hot water as promised, though not at great pressure. We stayed here for one night in low season and were the only guests.
My only complaints about this place and the reason we only stayed one of the three nights we'd planned are:
1) Location. The place sits just off the Fort Portal -Mpondwe Road, a major trucking route between DRC and the rest of East Africa. Between 0600 and 2200 there is regular traffic and the trucks are extremely loud...its kind of like staying next to an airport...not the vibe/atmosphere one wants for a safari.
2) Price. We paid $93 for a double en-suite room -bed and breakfast. I would have rated the place 4.5 stars for value if it were in the $50 price range. It annoyed me that the staff (on the phone in Kampala and then again at the lodge) were unwilling to negotiate the rate...especially since we were the ONLY guests and would have possibly stayed 2 more nights.

One final observation...it seems the owners of this place have not yet been introduced to the lamp shade....all lighting is from bare white bulbs or florescent tubes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Simba Safari Camp, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

Happy New Year! Thank you for choosing Simba Lodge as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased hear that the rooms met your expectations, a clean room and hot water, coupled with excellent service and scrumptious meals are some of the main things that leave our guests happy throughout their stay with us.

We are as disappointed as you are to note that the trucks during your stay made us miss scoring 100% with you. This not the norm I assure you. We are located edge of Uganda’s most popular Queen Elizabeth National Park, with panoramic views across the park’s extensive savannah plain teeming with wildlife as well as Lakes George and the famed Kazinga Channel. We are the closest accommodation to the park’s Kasenyi plains (preferred area for game viewing drives on the edge of Lake George) as well as all other areas of northern Queen Elizabeth National Park, including the Mweya Peninsula and the Kazinga Channel; well known for launch boat cruises, close range game-viewing as well as bird-viewing.

You have a right to be satisfied with whatever you pay for and we are sorry to hear that we missed having you for an extra two nights because of this. You deserve good value for your money. In an effort to remain transparent and fair we have fixed prices and this policy helps us run the lodge accordingly, however, we take each guest’s input seriously and we shall review and see if there is something special we can do in the low seasons especially.

Your valuable suggestions help us better our services and improve our standards, again we thank you for choosing Simba Safari Camp and we welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masaka, Uganda
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Simba is nice, not too far from the park entrance.
Rooms are very basic. For 93usd for a double I would expect a bit more atmosphere in the rooms. But they looked clean.
We stayed in the dorm for 14usd per night, no breakfast included. Since nobody else used it we had the room to ourselves anyway. Beds where good, gorgeous mosquito nets. Clean. Hot showers through solar power. Nice.

But. (you felt it comin' didnt you?).
I read in a lot of reviews that (kitchen)service in Africa is slow. I have my own restaurant in Masaka and I might be a bit prejudiced, and even myself got average reviews about the time food can take.
But seriously, 2,15 hours to make guacomole with toasted bread?? I even said I wanted it as a starter and that I would order food later. The waitress just always looked at me with her big eyes spread open wide. When I ordered for my diner 1 hour after the starters, I still didnt get anything, and in the end we got it all together but not together, just mixed up.
We ordered like this:
5pm:
1 guacamole with toasted bread
1 portion of hash brown potato
5h45:
2 tuna sandwich
1 plain chips
1 masala chips

We got it like this:
7h15:
1 tuna toasted
1 guacamole
10 mins later:
all the chips + the hash browns
5 mins later: the last tuna, which was now a plain sandwich, not toasted. When I asked how there could be a difference in 2 same dishes, the answer was: this one is brown brown and the other one is white white.

I dont now but I was really worked up and down again and didnt even talk anymore to the staff about it. I was just fed up with it and soooo hungry.

Next day I took the fixed menu and that was very fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Simba Safari Camp, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for staying with us at Simba Safari Camp and for sharing your experience.

We are pleased to hear that the room was clean and we met your expectations in terms of the accommodation. Yes we are very close to the Queen Elizabeth National park, one of Uganda’s most popular National Parks and we hope you got to experience the wide range of activities in and around the park e.g. boat ride on the Kazinga Channel, a game- drive on the Kasenyi plains, tracking the regions’ famous tree climbing lions, chimp tracking in Kaymbura Gorge and so much more.

As Simba Safari camp is our comfortable basic lodge we specialize in set menus as this allow our chefs to showcase their talent and specialty and for our guests tends to be cheaper way to dine than ordering separately priced items. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the mix up in your order and delay in service. Regardless of having a fixed menu we still aim to be flexible and give our guests the option to personalize their orders and it a shame this was at the cost of timely service. We continue to carry out training with our service staff, improving their communication techniques to ensure professionalism and prompt service.

Thank you again for leaving your valuable comments as it is indeed feedback like your that allows us to identify the areas we can improve and exceed our esteemed guests’ experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here for one night about a week ago and absolutely loved it!!

Idealy located close the QENP but far enough outside so you don't have to pay the $35 entry fee or the exorbitant prices of the lodges inside the park.

Camping was $7 per night and extremely comfortable, the staff even lit a kerosene lamp near(ish) to your tent during the evening to make it easy to find in the dark after a few beers....wonderful.

The toilets and showers were clean and worked perfectly and had electricity during the night (no more head torch needed to find the loo roll) oh and there was loo roll too!!

The food was delicious, I had the vegetable stew and roast potatoes which were great. fairly priced. one lunch time it took what felt like an age to turn up but we did arrive an announced and this is not an unusual occurance in ugagnda, you just got to wait it out and appreciate it even more when it does turn up!

The staff here we really great, they even helped us pack down our tents when were were leaving! In the evening they even lit a small bonfie and put chairs round for guests to enjoy....lovely way to end the day with a cool beer.

Last but not least they have a super fast wifi connection....I have no idea how they have managed it, but it was amazing after having no internt connection for weeks anywhere else in Uganda....and its free,

In conclusion if you dont have the $$$ to spend in a high end lodge this a great alternative, do not hesitate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Simba Safari Camp, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Simba Lodge as your camping destination. We are very pleased to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the lodges facilities and friendly staff. It is indeed feedback such as yours which motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.

We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again Kate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, España
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

During our stay in Uganda we spent two nights in this accommodation
.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff at SIMBA SAFARI CAMP was very friendly and helpful, they works very well. Do not forget that we are in Africa and here all the workers are fast and very efficient.

Well run by the manager Oscar Rodriguez, and his professionalism is very noticeable and helpful.

Perfect location! Just outside the Queen Elizabeth National Park (saves you on fees), were we had some magnificent game drives.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martadolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Simba Safari Camp, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such lovely comments! We are very pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay at Simba Safari Camp. It is indeed feedback such as yours that motivate us as a team in delivering services to the best of our ability.

We shall be sure to pass on your respects to the manager, Oscar. We look forward to the opportunity of accommodating you again on your next holiday and leave you with only more lasting memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queen Elizabeth National Park
0.0 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marafiki Safari Lodge
Marafiki Safari Lodge
#5 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Primate Lodge Kibale
Primate Lodge Kibale
#3 of 8 in Kibale National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#8 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#1 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#14 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simba Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simba Safari Camp

Property: Simba Safari Camp
Address: Queen Elizabeth National Park 33024, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simba Safari Camp is a safari accommodation on the border of Queen Elizabeth National Park and only 2 km from the equator. Located on a hill it offers spectacular views of Lake George, the Kazinga Channel and the savannah plains teemed with wildlife. The camp offers 11 spacious rooms with en suite facilities and private verandas, as well as 4 dormitory rooms and a campsite. A restaurant and well-stocked bar are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Simba Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simba Safari Camp Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Simba Safari Camp Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing