We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spotless tented camp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A beautiful location on the water with lovely spotless tents overlooking the water. You can see the moon out of your tent door. Excellent staff who watched out for our safety all night. Rustic with a walk to the bathrooms and some difficulties with the shower etc but just beautiful camping type experience. The tents are tiny and quite squashed for two but it is as it says a bush lodge

Room Tip: the tents are lovely if a bit tiny but it is a bush lodge as it says
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank segalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent a very pleasant two nights at the Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge during our trip to Uganda. The tents are very comfortable, and the food was great. The location above an inlet of Kazinga Channel can't be beat, and it was delightful to see and hear the hippos in the water. I woke up at 5:30 one morning to see a cape buffalo walking right in front of my tent! As usual, though, the real pleasure in staying here was being in the company of such a welcoming and attentive staff, who made sure we were well taken-care of for the duration of the stay. The location is ideal for game drives in this part of QENP, as well as reaching the launch for the Kazinga Channel boat ride. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunHaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great place to stay for couples and families. Incredible tents in the middle of the bush in the savanna where you can listen to (and sometimes see) the wild life all around. The staff was especially friendly and the rooms were always kept clean. Great food too! Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a great time at Bush Lodge staying in one of the tents. Gorgeous views, lovely food (although I could have done with slightly bigger portions, they did bring me extra desert when I asked for it!). The best thing about Bush Lodge is the lovely staff, particularly the waiter William, who went out of his way to organise a homemade birthday cake for my friend as a surprise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallycinnamon999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was my second visit to Queen Elisabeth Bush Lodge, this time with our 1 year old son - who loved every minute of it (staff very child friendly :-)

We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Since we last visited (July 2012), the tents have been well maintained and some shining up has been done. The ourdoor baths are safari-chick and hot water will be provided upon request. The beds and bed nets were comfortable and the tents are overlooking a small 'bay' in the Kazinga Channel with good wild life watching. During night, you can hear hippos roaming around alongside monkeys, buffaloes and birds - a true safari experience.

The bush lodge is very conveniently located for game drives at the Kasenyi plains and for chimp trecking in the Kyambura Gorge, but for the launch trip on the Kazinga channel you'll have to drive 45 minutes to the Mweya peninsula (beautiful ride, so no worries). This time, we went lion-tracking with the experimental tourism project - 3 hours with a beautiful pride of lions, off road riving permitted - one of my best safari experiences ever!

Food at the bush lodge is a bit hit-and-miss - we had some quite bland soups and puddings but tasty mains and salads. Dinner is served outside whit small kerosene lamps hanging besides the tables - it looks stunning - but it can be a bit difficult to see what you are actually eating :-) Asked for mosquito coils but none were available - so think of bringing you own (mosquitoes not a big problem though) together with a torch. Staff are very friendly and accommodating - but they sometimes struggle keeping up with meal times and need to be reminded a few times of special requirements (such as food for our toddler).

All in all, I really enjoy Queen Elisabeth bush lodge and to me it has that true safari feeling that I miss at the more upmarket, hotel style Mweya Safari Lodge.

Room Tip: 'Hippo' and "Leopard' both have good views of the Kazinga channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dane-in-Tanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed here in Jan 2014. The location is wonderful, right beside the channel which means that you are really close to the wildlife. The staff were lovely and welcomed us well. There was some confusion around meal times but this was resolved. The food was basic but really good use of local of ingredients and we really enjoyed it. The room was basic but functional and the staff escorted us between the main shared area and the room in case of any wildlife encounters so we felt safe. The wildlife sounds during the night were incredible.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachieLandmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Really good location and vistas over the channel. Tents were comfortable, and the toilet block always clean. Thought the staff were very friendly and approachable unlike previous reviewers. Highlight for me was the food, served outside and of a very high quality. Cold beer to boot, which is a bithit and miss in Uganda for obvious reasons.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laflafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
10.4 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
484 reviews
7.7 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#11 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
104 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#12 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#3 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
137 reviews
0 mi away
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
#17 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
25 reviews
7.3 mi away
Park View Safari Lodge
Park View Safari Lodge
#13 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge

Address: Queen Elizabeth, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range: £43 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Elizabeth Bush Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing