We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for chimpanzee tracking”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kyambura Gorge Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great location for chimpanzee tracking”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were unable to stay due to a land dispute but the hotel made us very welcome before and after tracking. The swimming pool and the changing area is very clean and the main lodge is very comfortable, the rooms looked extremely good. It was a shame that we could not stay and we hope that the dispute is sorted as soon as possible,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Owner at Kyambura Gorge Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear MikeyHongKong95,

Unfortunately we did not have any availability when you visited. However all activities at the lodge and from the lodge in Queen Elizabeth National Park are operating normally.
We hope to see you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
26
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

What a lovely welcome! Even before we reached our rooms, we felt at home. After a glass of fresh juice, the staff picked up our bags and we were quickly settled – even though we were a big group.
The view in every direction is breathtaking. The layout and decor are quite unlike any other lodge in Uganda. The refurbished coffeehouse is a fantastic living space. The eclectic décor provides something interesting for the eye, everywhere you look.
Despite its remote-seeming location, there’s a whole list of activities to choose from.
Spectacular sunsets, a fabulous swimming pool, attentive service, wonderful food and a real commitment to ecotourism, I can wholeheartedly recommend Kyambura Lodge. I liked it so much I wrote about it on my personal blog, Diary of a Muzungu
http://muzungubloguganda.com/2012/12/kyambura-gorge-lodge-queen-elizabeth-uganda/

Room Tip: Each is unique and separated from the others. There are stone paths, lit at night, and easy enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I loved everything about this lodge, It is set right on the edge of Queen Elizabeth park, you can sometimes see elephants and other animals in the distance. My room was just beautiful, it had everything you could possibly wish for. There was a large swing on one deck and two chairs and table on the other, both decks looked out to forest and gorge and the bamboos and monkeys could be seen and heard, sometimes even coming on to the decks of neighbouring rooms. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly, the food was just delicious at every meal and the whole atmosphere was so comfortable. I would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Kyambura Lodge is set overlooking Queen Elizabeth Park but it is not in the park itself. It takes about 20 minutes to drive to the entrance gate.

This is my favourite lodge in Uganda: interesting, eco-friendly, luxury.

All of the bandas (cottages) are gorgeous, the main building is comfortable filled with reclaimed art. The food is some of the best that you will taste in Ugandan lodges (that doesn't mean that it is exceptional, but its very good).

The swimming pool is lovely, a great place to spend a couple of hours between game drives. There is also an onsite masseuse! The staff are wonderfully friendly and attentive.

Tip 1: the cottage "Brutus" is the best, with an outdoor shower over looking the park and a stunning bedroom.
Tip 2: make sure you spend at least 2 nights, you will regret it if you don't!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Volcanoes runs four lodges in Uganda and Rwanda; we stayed in two in Uganda. Kyambura was our first stop. This two-year-old lodge on the edge of Kyambura Gorge in Queen Elizabeth Park is lovely, with comfortable, well-maintained bandas, breathtaking views, beautiful and relaxing pool, an attentive, gracious staff, and delicious meals nicely served. Everything is included, even massages, laundry, and cleaning of muddy boots, and there were no "extras." From the lodge we did game drives and other activities in Queen Elizabeth Park. But watch out for the chimpanzee trek, which is a treacherous and difficult 3-hour hike down an escarpment into the gorge. Older travelers should be forewarned.

Room Tip: The individual bandas are away from the main lodge, which is nice for privacy, but getting to and fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeamomInSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Staying at this lodge was amazing. Not only because it was located in an amazing area (not so much the main entrance since they are expanding and they are in the middle of construction, but the actual cottages/rooms themselves). The room was more than spacious and this lodge netted their bathroom walls all the way to the ceiling so bugs can’t come in. also I can plug in my electronics in my room instead of a common area in the lobby.
The area for the breakfast and pool were great and so romantic with lights lid up at night. The staff was incredibly attentive to every need. They truly embodied the call of service. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We spent three nights at the Kyambura Gorge Lodge and thought the property was gorgeous and the service excellent!

The place is a refurbished coffee mill, and has a wide, expansive feel to it (quite different from the cozy, intimate feeling of Volcanoes Safari's other lodge that we have stayed at in Rwanda). The decor is incredibly elegant and classy -- the main common area has the feel of a large, airy and posh living room, with a beautiful veranda (I was a bit confused by some of the other reviews...seems like they might be talking about another place altogether!). The views are gorgeous, of the tree canopy and then the grasslands. There is a small pool, and a simple massage house where you can get complimentary massages (I absolutely loved this bit!).

Our room was beautiful, stylish and spacious. Lovely bathroom, nice shower. Nice spots in the room and in the small porch outside to enjoy the views. We had two large, comfortable beds, but the only complaint (may seem minor but resulted in a couple of sleepless nights) is that a single mosquito net covered both beds. Invariably a mosquito or two managed to enter the mosquito net...given the dim (solar) lighting, we spent many hours (in vain) trying to find the mosquito and woke up tired.

The staff were really wonderful -- very gracious, knowledgeable and efficient. We always had someone ready to offer us a delicious gin & tonic or a chilled glass of wine on returning from a walk or outing. Our guide on our nature walk clearly knew all about the birds, trees, primates, etc. in the forest behind the lodge, and while we didn't spot much it was an enjoyable walk. The food was delicious (we ate well!).

We didn't pack our days with game drives and walks (like some of the other guests), but rather enjoyed the lodge and just relaxed for a few days.

I loved that this place is generous in the small details -- complimentary massage, free laundry, full board including drinks, etc. -- it really allowed us to relax and created a nice feeling. The only thing that surprised me was the not-so-remote location of the lodge. Unlike other Volcanoes Lodges that are tucked away in stunning, remote and quiet locations, this place is very close to a busy main road. While you can't see this visually (views are stunning), the sounds from the village remind you of this from time to time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nupur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queen Elizabeth National Park
0.0 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
463 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kyambura Game Lodge
Kyambura Game Lodge
#26 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#10 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#14 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyambura Gorge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyambura Gorge Lodge

Property: Kyambura Gorge Lodge
Address: Kyambura Gorge, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the Kyambura Gorge and Queen Elizabeth National Park, in Uganda, one of Africa's finest national parks, Volcanoes newest lodge, Kyambura Gorge Lodge, has stunning views over the Gorge and the lush savannah of the park, with the peaks of the Rwenzori Mountains in the distance. The main lodge building was originally a coffee store and processing plant, surrounded by coffee plantations. The original structure has been sensitively restored to create a stunning living space, balancing the history of the building with the location and creating a series of distinct luxurious contemporary spaces for guests. Eight beautiful, spacious bandas have been carefully nestled into the hillside, each with their own luxury bathroom. Each room has a different aspect of the panoramic views across the gorge, savannah and mythical Rwenzoris. Each banda is uniquely appointed, adopting a different colour theme. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kyambura Gorge Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing