We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Mweya Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mweya Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 1 October 2007

We had a fabulous stay at the Mweya Lodge. We stayed four nights but could have stayed twice as long and not been bored for a minute.
Our rooms were comfortable. The bathroom was a bit old-fashioned, but perfectly adequate, with an excellent shower.
There are not solid glass windows. In places only mosquito mesh is used. This was a minor problem for a short time when the wind got up and caused the curtains too flap. However, that is a design matter, not a question of poor maintenance as implied by another reviewer.
The food was good - especially breakfast. I liked being able to choose from a buffet in the evening. Dinner was not formal - in fact it was maybe a bit too informal. Some guests turned up in the same sweaty t-shirts, vests and shorts they'd been wearing all day. Is it really too stuffy to expect people to shower and change into something that is clean and does not smell before they come to dinner?
It was lovely being able to sit outside and eat - but this is Africa. Sometimes the insects and birds were a minor nuisance, but there was always plenty of room inside.
The best thing was the wildlife, however. Our rooms had verandahs looking out over the Kazinga Channel and we could sit and look at the hippos, water buffalos and fish eagles.
The game drives were amazing. You do have to work a bit harder at spotting the game than at some parks, but the upside is that it is much quieter, and you're less likely to be disturbed by a fleet of other trucks when you do find something interesting.
We found leopards twice - the second time we were able to spend 20 minutes watching a mother and her two cubs at close range. We also found lions twice, a pack of hyenas and no end of elephants, hippos, buffalo, water buck and Ugandan kob.
If you're going to Mweya makes sure you have plenty of time to take leisurely game drives. Some people rush in one day, and back out the next - hoping they'll bump into something exciting en route. Don't do it that way!
The hotel staff were very helpful, and they're well geared up for morning game drives. Tea, coffee and muffins are available at 6;15, and you can then head out for a few hours and still have a good breakfast when you get back because breakfast is served till 11 am. You can then lounge around in comfort till late afternoon, and have another drive before it gets dark.
The boat trip was excellent. It lasted two hours, and we got up very close to the hippos and buffalo, saw an unbelievable number and variety of birds, and even a couple of small crocodile which have recently made a comeback to the area after being missing for thousands of years.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — the locks were stiff (how feeble a complaint is that?)
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    172
    64
    15
    7
See reviews for
88
164
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

I had high expectations about Mweya after reading all the travel guides and quite frankly I was a bit let down. No doubt this is the best lodge in the area and the views are stunning. However, the room and the bath were not very modern. The windows facing the lake were old and a bit grungy and one of the panes was missing. This was especially problematic when a storm blew threw and our curtain and mosquito were blowing every which way inside of our room.

Dining was good. Lunch was a bit plain. Dinner was a bit over-the-top. It may just be me, but when I go on safaris I feel a bit out of place when I feel like I am eating in a 5-star restaurant. It was a bit impersonal and out of place; and the dinner was OK, nothing to write home about.

The boat cruise along the channel was nice, although only one hour. Game driving around Mweya was not particularly interesting. If you have been to Ishasha, there isn't much else you will see around Mweya and I didn't see much at all.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoppongiGaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2007

After spending almost 2 weeks in a rural Ugandan village we travelled 2 days to get to the Mweya Lodge. It blew us away. The bueaty can't really be described, they take service very seriously there, and all employees were very friendly.

We saw abundant wild game, starting with warthogs mowing the grass around our front door; hippos grazing around the outdoor bar; too many elephants to count, lions, waterbuck, crocs, baboons and birds. I have never seen such a variety of bird species in one area. Totally amazing.

Did I mention the food was great? Whether we ate on a buffet, or ordered off of the menu, the food was varied and very well prepared.

We travel a lot, and this may be the best establishment I have ever stayed in for the money.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — I had to leave
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gallitorojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2007

Absolutely stunning location! Must stay if you are at Elizabeth Park.
Rooms all with view over Kazinga channel, spacious and very clean indeed. I found the service excellent, even special requests were no trouble at all for the professional and very friendly staff. The food
was excellent even though the flies can be a bit of a bummer. But after all this is Africa and you really need to have dinner outside so you can enjoy the sunset and see the odd warthog wandering through
the gardens. A word of warning though: there are beautiful birds everywhere but because tourists keep feeding them they have a habit of sitting on tables trying snatch food. Also, before you sit down make sure there are no bird droppings. The pool is small but perfect and the view there is even more stunning. Overall: Loved it!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Bird droppings
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyFoxLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labadie, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

The Mweya Lodge overlooks the Kazinga Channel and has amazing views of the channel and wildlife. It has an infinity pool and an outdoor restaurant where weaver birds fly all around you and landing on your table. The setting is amazing.
Based on things I have heard from past visitors, I think Mweya has gone downhill a little. Our bathroom was not as clean as it could have been, and one door could not be locked from the outside. Out towels were gray, dingy and full of holes. Service in the restaurant was spotty- sometimes it was fine, very slow at other times. When we (along with everyone else who was dining outside) were forced inside one night due to bugs, no offer was made to replace our butter or water, both of which were full of flies. The pool deck was badly in need of paint and uneven.
Despite these minor problems, the Mweya Lodge is a beautiful place- I'd stay there again. Where else can you watch warthogs and the resident mongoose family as you sit on your patio?

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hockeyfan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2007

We stayed 1 night at the Mweya Lodge in the end of feb 2007. The rooms are big and have a great view of the channel. They are not luxurious - what you might expect for the price - but comfortable. Some of them have connecting doors, that can be very noisy. The food is very good and plentiful. When we were there you couldn´t sit outside for breakfast in the morning because of 1 Mio. lakeflies. To sit at the pool in the afternoon was equally impossible, we were eaten alive. The boat trip on the channel is great, we saw lot´s of hippos very close by, some elefants, buffalos and lot´s of bird. Sometimes the hippos come up to the lodge, but we haven´t had this experience. The game drive in the park was nice, some lions, couple of elefants, a lot of the other common animals.

  • Liked — the view of the water
  • Disliked — the mosquitos
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ***-Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanoose
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2007

Our stay at the Mweya Safari Lodge two weeks ago was amazing! What a view on entering the lobby of the lodge across the lakes! The feeling of space around the hotel and grounds was quite different from the more enclosed lodges of the jungles etc. The patio with a magnificent view over the lakes was a favourite place for breakfast each morning and the colourful, twittering birds were so entertaining when a table was vacated! Unconcerned wart hogs and mongoose wandered the lawns adding to the feeling of nature at its best. The bedrooms were spacious with doors opening on to a patio with a lake view.

While we found the safari to be a little disappointing - there are no zebra, giraffes, rhino etc. in the park - the daily boat trip in the Kazinga Channel is not to be missed. We saw elephants, crocodiles, monitor lizards, hippos by the dozen, buffalo and literally hundreds of different birds. The scenery is magnificent. Well worth a visit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant service could be better.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank infoneeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
19.0 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#1 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
117 reviews
10.3 mi away
Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge
Queen Elizabeth Bush Lodge
#4 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
296 reviews
20.2 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#10 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Marafiki Safari Lodge
Marafiki Safari Lodge
#6 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
101 reviews
12.8 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#8 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
92 reviews
12.4 mi away
Park View Safari Lodge
Park View Safari Lodge
#15 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mweya Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mweya Safari Lodge

Property: Mweya Safari Lodge
Address: Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mweya Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Mweya Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mweya Safari Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Hotel Mweya Safari
Mweya Safari Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing