We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property.”
Review of Mweya Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mweya Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This lodge is a posh property practically at the door of Queen Elizabeth national park. Guests at this lodge will lack for nothing. There is excellent food, beautiful views, meticulously groomed grounds, shops, a bar, pool and various spa services. Everything is clean, well organized and efficiently run.

The rooms are well appointed, well serviced and smartly located. If I had to make one comment about the room that wasn't positive I would say the mattresses are not the most comfortable models but I am not sure if it is because they are aging and losing support or if they just aren't a good fit for me.

The service is top notch. The staff are polite and there is no waiting at mealtimes. The kitchen is obviously headed by someone who runs a tight ship. Food is tasty, well prepared and the menu items are diverse.

There are nice little touches all around this lodge and instead of spoiling it for you I'll just recommend that you come and discover it for yourself. You won't be disappointed, especially if you safari in the park. I've been lucky enough to have taken part in many safaris and I wasn't expecting that much from Queen Elizabeth NP but it certainly did impress. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSSUCHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Situated atop the tallest hill in the area, it seemed, rests this lodge. We arrived after a long drive for the day, entering the gate to the lodge 15 minutes before 7:00 p.m. when it allegedly closes.

The main areas of the lodge are quite nice providing a comfortable check-in, a very nice Bar with a Patio, and your choice of dining either inside (with the bats) or outside (also with the bats). The staff was decent, but seemed to stalk a little as they wanted to take your order the second you sat down.

The average rating was earned by our room mostly. We were in room 10, which was a short walk from the main lobby. If you review the various traveler photos, you will see some that have a double bed nestled between two mosquito nets - that is the style room we were in.

The room was tight, particularly when the nets were drawn for the night. If we did not have a ceiling fan for the evening, we likely would have roasted ourselves on night one - it was stuffy, hot and almost humid that first day.

The restroom was not that tidy and needed repair - several fixtures were holding on to the wall with half the required screws. This made for some small challenge as you tried to find places to set your things out. The water is very hard well water, which isn't a big deal overall, you just need to remember to use the provided water for tooth-brushing.

We did not have an overall strong feel for the cleanliness of the place as it seemed the minimum work was being done during our time there. Linens were not all sharp and fresh in the restaurant; towels were not fresh and sharp in the restroom - just a general feel of slightly dirty to us.

For the location and the view, I think I would recommend this location - but it was not among the best places we stayed on this visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoOhTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at Mweya as part of our Ugandan holiday. There is definitely a wow factor upon entering the compound, and then the reception area - amazing views through the massive glass window. The staff here are friendly and efficient, and the rooms comfortable, clean and good showers. It was breathtaking sitting on the balcony overlooking the Channel, whilst enjoying a hearty breakfast in preparation of a big day game viewing. We got to see alot of game here, but remember - Queen Elizabeth is not a zoo and you are not guaranteed to see animals! We also took a cruise down the Channel - the cruise guide was clearly bored and in the wrong job, however we ignored him and had a good time. It was a pleasure to come back to this hotel in the evening for a hearty meal after long days in the car. We would definitely recommend this Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I visited Mweya last summer (just discovering Trip Advisor!) as part of a planed trip through the country.
As soon as I got there I fell in love with the huge elephant statue in the grounds surrounding reception. Having been checked I was shown to the outside dinning and seating area for a welcome drink - my breathe was taken away by the stunning views of the Kazinga Channel. My fist hour in the resort was spent watching Hippos bathe and Elephants take a well deserved drink in the afternoon sun.
The accommodation was nice and comfortable - Staying in one of the chalet style rooms which are more standard.
The service was very good, polite enough to make you feel valued, but not smothered.
I had a fantastic few nights at Mweya and would defiantly recommend three things:

1) Jeep Safari through Queen Elizabeth Park (not to be missed)

2) Boat Safari along the Kazinga Channel (you'll never get that close to a Hippo again)

3) Drinking an ice cold beer on the external dinning area whilst watching the sun set (absolute heaven)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millyi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We only came here to eat lunch, like we have done plenty times before. I don't know if it was because it is low season now, but this was by far the most terrible experience ever. Where we usually find an a la care menu, we found a set menu with limited options. Smart from their side, not nice for us. The price is way too high for what you get. The starter, a seafood dish made us all vomit and go to the toilet for the next 4 days. The desserts are hilariously small and tasteless (especially the caramel thingy). This place used to be a treat after a long safari, but this time it was more a trip to hell. Yes, scenery is nice but for that price? Canteen food at the hostel next time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelissaGouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The food is delicious, the rooms are stunning and the staff just cater to your every need. The best thing about this lodge is the view over the Kazinga channel. Especially from the Deluxe Tents. Dinner in the bush was an experience of a lifetime. If you love birding, this lodge is a must!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jonothan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Avoid this hotel. It does not feel like Africa. Even the large luxury "tented" lodges are pretty characterless, although better than the standard rooms. Dining outside is OK, because the views over the Kazinga Channel are great, but eating inside the dining room is really depressing. One good thing: you are very close to the dock from which the boats leave to take you on the channel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
12.8 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#11 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
99 reviews
19.0 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#3 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
133 reviews
20.2 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#12 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Park View Safari Lodge
Park View Safari Lodge
#15 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
41 reviews
13.8 mi away
Kyambura Game Lodge
Kyambura Game Lodge
#26 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
62 reviews
11.0 mi away
Engiri Game Lodge
Engiri Game Lodge
#20 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mweya Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mweya Safari Lodge

Address: Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range: £187 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mweya Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Mweya Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mweya Safari Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Hotel Mweya Safari
Mweya Safari Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing