We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to see Giant Forest Hogs”
Review of Mweya Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mweya Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2010

In comparison to nearby lodges like Ndali and Jacana I must honestly say that Mweya Safari Lodge is not as good, but nevertheless THE must stay in QENP due to its location.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank harimaudahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed at Mweya Safari lodge for 2 nights in March 2010, this place is just amazing!! The views from the lodge are fantastic, staff were so very helpful and really went out of their way to help. Day or night..staff are always smiling! Food was lovely..rooms were spacious and cleaned daily.
The game drives were brilliant, we were lucky enough to see a family of lions..at one point our car was 2 metres away from a father lion! Crazyily amazing!!
I would definately recommend this lodge and look forward to returning in future!
Thanks to all.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppet84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

This is a great place to get a real African experience in terms of scenery. It is right in the middle of Queen Elizabeth National Park. The game drive and trip on the lake was fantastic. After a long day sight-seeing the pool was a lovely way to relax. There were loads of animals to see - lots of elephants, mongoose, hippos, kobs, waterbucks, crocs, birds and way to many mosquitos. The food was served in a room overlooking the lake or you could eat outside on the deck. It was just beautiful and the food was lovely. Helpful staff. Clean rooms overlooking the lake. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupcake321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Just stayed at the Mweya Safari Lodge and had a horrible infestation of bed bugs. Nasty experience. And the first person I spoke to at the front desk insisted they were mosquitoes. Didn't seem to want to bother. Had to go back again, and the next person confirmed there was an infestation of bed bugs. Yuck. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Happy-Camper-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RukiaUganda, Manager at Mweya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2010

“Response to the recent posting on the 25th of January complaining of bed bugs at Mweya Safari Lodge.”

The management of the Lodge takes any complaints of this nature very seriously and although this is the first time ever in over a decade that a complaint of this nature has been received by us the room in question was temporarily closed and systematically checked. The bed and all furniture in the room was dismantled and subjected to a detailed thorough examination, as was the mattress. An independent pest control firm with expertise in Cimex lectularius (the most common species) and also Cimex hemipterus (sometimes found in tropical regions) was called in to check for any signs of infestation. Local Health Inspectors were also consulted. No evidence whatsoever of bed bugs was found in the room in question. As is common practice in all good hotels worldwide our rooms are checked thoroughly after the departure of each guest as bed bugs can be transmitted in the luggage and clothing of guests themselves. To date we have had no evidence of bed bugs at Mweya Safari Lodge and our hygiene and cleanliness protocols are always strictly adhered to.

Richard Hodgson
General Manager
MWEYA SAFARI LODGE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

This is really the only place to stay if you want to be close to the game drives and boat rides offered early morning so we had a friend make the booking for us which included all meals. That is necessary because it is remotely located. It had been raining for over a week when we arrived so the road to get there was extremely wet and rutted. We hired a driver with a Toyota Rav but it wasn't 4 wheel drive and we had some difficulties staying on the road. By the time we arrived, it started to clear up and the next day most roads were driveable again.

The first thing you notice, even before you arrive at the main gate to the park, is that there are plenty of animals to see- we saw elephants, kops, and waterbucks along the roadway. The park entrance was $30 each. You will see something no matter what the weather.

The lodge is considered luxury accomodation and although it's not new, it's comfortable. Don't worry about taking an antimalarial drug to stay here as they spray the rooms every night and there are mosquito nets surrounding the sleeping area. Even in the park we had no problem with mosquitoes. The staff was very helpful finding us tour guides and we signed up for the boat ride and game drive and had it charged to the room so there wasn't even a need for cash, except for tipping.

There were warthogs roaming the grounds and we heard a hippo taking an early morning pee outside our room. Mongoose will get into the trash cans. Birds are everywhere. Bats fly onto the patio at night so it was fun to watch them...from indoors. Water was hot and plentiful. Drinking water provided in the room had been boiled and treated. Bed was large and comfortable. No TV in the room, but there is TV in a lounge at the lodge...but really, who comes to such a place to watch TV? Bonfire at night right outside the lodge overlooking the lake. Can't really complain about anything!

The lodge serves all meals in the same room. Service was excellent as was the food. Many choices and everything was fresh. Gorgeous view of the lake from the dining area. You can sit outside but then the birds are somewhat bothersome. Overall a very memorable experience!

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

This place is amazing - we stayed in the very horrible and grotty hostel beside it the night before and had the worst night ever in Uganda so we decieded to spoil ourselves and upgrade! And it really was amazing - can't speak highly enough of it. Staff were really friendly and efficent , the food was excellent, rooms had amazing views and there was a great feel to the place with lovely little extra touches. Definatly stay there!! The safari was brilliant too!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

After a wonderful stay at Bwindi Lodge and Mihingo Lodge, we were transported to this awful time-warped 80s place. To be fair, the location is great, overlooking the Lake. But that's about it. The food in the restaurant is Westernized, badly cooked standard fare. The birds on the terrace take the bread from your desk and relieve themselves on your table (my drink was "replaced" by the unfriendly waiter by simply adding more juice to water down the bird poo). The rooms are small, dark, super old-fashioned and have an ugly and loud A/C in front of the door. You're not in the nature (like in most other lodges in Uganda), you're in an old motel-like environment which had it's best times several decades ago but still thinks of itself as the best place to be. Service was snobby and unfriendly, our request to have a morning coffee in our room was denied with the answer "that's too early for our waiter, you can come to the lobby". We informed our tour operator about our displeasure and the next day stayed in the absolutely amazing Jacana Lodge, which is only 10 minutes away - and even a lot cheaper! I would never come back here as staying here means you're paying a lot of money for a fake environment and miss out on all the great unique places you can stay in and really experience Ugandan hospitality and the spectacular nature of this country.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmoLaVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
12.8 mi away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#11 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
99 reviews
20.2 mi away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#12 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
129 reviews
19.0 mi away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#3 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Park View Safari Lodge
Park View Safari Lodge
#15 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
41 reviews
13.8 mi away
Kyambura Game Lodge
Kyambura Game Lodge
#27 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
62 reviews
11.0 mi away
Engiri Game Lodge
Engiri Game Lodge
#20 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mweya Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mweya Safari Lodge

Address: Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range: £187 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mweya Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Mweya Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mweya Safari Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Hotel Mweya Safari
Mweya Safari Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing