We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a Hotel”
Review of Hotel Les Remparts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Les Remparts
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mirepoix
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Very friendly and attentive staff, and the best meal in 6 weeks travelling in France and Spain (and incredidbly reasoably priced). Standard rooms are small at only 19m2 but this is made crystal clear on their website, so if he'd wanted a bigger room the previous reviewer should have booked a superior room at 25m2, and not complained here. On-street parking right outside the hotel. Restaurant is closed Sunday evening and hotel is on a (very quiet) one way street, two minutes walk from the medieval centre of town, and 45 minutes drive to Les Grottes de Niaux 13000 year old cave paintings. Do not miss out on this superb hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank EGLSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Les Remparts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Great little boutique hotel beautifully located a stones throw from the covered square in Mirepoix.

Rooms a little basic - our junior suite was a bit junior; shares the French lack of a shower curtain, for example, and has no aircon.

The hotel restaurant served one of the best meals I have had in a long time. Just magnificent - and all for 28 euros + wine. Innovative but with traditional local ingredients; small. nouvelle cuisine portions of delicious, well prepared and presented food that left you wanting just one more bite. And service that deserves recognition. Just excellent.

Only snags, we found out by accident the restaurant is shut Sunday and Monday nights. We got locked out as no-one had thought to give us the door key code for the main door. Breakfast, by Monday morning, had dwindled and the yoghurts had gone mouldy. Everyone has the right to days off but when you run a hotel, you get those days covered.

I would still heartily recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank Jumbosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

A boutique hotel with a very popular restaurant, very smartly decorated, very clean and staffed by friendly and efficient people.
We were there for four nights in the middle of May, our first night was a Monday and we feared the worst as, though our room was fine, large modern and clean with a super king size bed and well fitted bathroom, we seemed to have the whole hotel to ourselves. Furthermore only on arrival did we find that the restaurant is closed on a Monday.
However the hotel arranged for us to eat elsewhere on our first night and then it filled up rapidly as the week went on and we were very pleased with our stay.
We overlooked the front door but we, unlike David (one of the other reviewers),had no problems with garbage men and slept splendidly.
We ate in the restaurant twice, very good food very well served and obviously well known as it was busy with non-residents on both occasions.
The only downside of our visit was that we had a fairly major storm while we were there which put the hotel boiler out of action for most of one day so no hot water. Not their fault and they had a plumber on the job quickly so all was well in the end.
Certainly a hotel I would recommend for a 2 to 4 night stay, well situated right in the village,but just far enough off the main square for a bit of peace and quiet.

Room Tip: If you choose to eat in one of the many outdoor restaurants in and around the lovely village square...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank KnutsfordJerry_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Boutique hotel, beautifully renovated but the interior decorator who desgned the bedroom should try living in it for more than a night. Lovely bathroom but nowhere to put anything - not even a hook for the supplied robes. Our room overlooked the fromt door and a busy street, visited by the garbage collection truck every morning at 4am. . Room had no aircon and when we were there in late August there was no option but to leave the window open..... There was nowhere to relax outside in the fresh air during the day. Staff were mostly invisible and (mostly) less than friendly. The only time we saw most of them was when they partied outside our window till 2am. There was no-one on the desk when we checked out next morning after breakfast..... Breakfast passable if the staff could be bothered to lay it all out. Didn't try the restaurant - there were more attractive alternatives in the lovely medieval town centre nearby. Parking can be a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank David453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and were happy with everything. The rooms are large, comfortable and very clean.
We booked into the restaurant the first night and could not believe what a gem we had found. We had travelled through France eating in some very good restaurants - including one with Michelin Stars, but I can say hands down, this was the most amazing food we had on our trip. The service was exceptional, and the dining room tastefully elegant. The first night we had a 39 euro tasting menu, which was modern innovative and delicious. The second night (cancelled plans to eat in Carcassonne to eat here again!!) we went for the Chefs tasting menu which consisted of 6 courses of perfectly executed dishes sourced from fresh local produce. We eat out a lot, but are rarely 'wowed' like we were eating here. It is worth making a visit to Mirepoix just to eat at this wonderful restaurant.
Thankyou to the owners & Chef for a wonderful & unforgetable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
112  Thank JessAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FABRICE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirepoix
0.1 mi away
La Maison des Consuls
La Maison des Consuls
#3 of 6 in Mirepoix
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Minotiers
2.8 mi away
Auberge du Balestie
Auberge du Balestie
#1 of 1 in Malegoude
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais de Mirepoix
Relais de Mirepoix
#1 of 6 in Mirepoix
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Commerce
Hotel Le Commerce
#6 of 6 in Mirepoix
94 reviews
23.9 mi away
Auberge Les Myrtilles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Remparts

Address: 6 cours Louis Pons Tande, 09500, Mirepoix, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Mirepoix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mirepoix
Price Range: £54 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Remparts 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Les Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing