We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and atmosphere in spades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison des Consuls
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mirepoix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent two nights here and really enjoyed ourselves. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the room was roomy and comfortable for two parents and a teenager. Since the hotel is on the town square, and there is no parking there, you will want to try to park right by the cathedral or on the street behind the hotel, away from the town square. Breakfast was very good. Five stars for meeting all our expectations and facilities actually being better than expected, given the age of the building.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler0033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

I rarely give the top accolade to a hotel but, for location, antiquity, a great night's sleep and the breakfast room, this is a must stay if you are looking for the full French experience. There are cheaper places to stay but it is value for money

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hedonist_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

As part of a 3 week road trip which included many wonderful places in France, we included 3 nights in Mirepoix. From our first problem finding parking and then the hotel, the whole experience was a let down. On checking in our minimal French was ignored and instructions were fired at us in full blown French. A few individual words would have meant we could have reached some form of understanding but we were left bewildered. We found our room overlooking the square the most depressing space I've ever stayed in. It was clean with a large bathroom and separate toilet but the dark decor and dreary furnishings just made you want to head back outside which is what we did. I know it was early in the season but we struggled on all 3 nights to find an open restaurant. When the weather turned cold and wet it was even worse. We included breakfast at the hotel (just as well as we may have struggled to find anywhere else to go) but at 12 euros it was not good value. Being at one point the only guests in the hotel and with the language barrier there is no way we could have made ourselves understood if we had tried to cancel this inclusion.

On a positive note, our first full day we visited and climbed Montsegur. The weather there was perfect and I totally recommend doing this. On the second day which dawned wet and cold we took a 300km round trip (such was our eagerness to get of Mirepoix) to the Mediterranean seaside village of Collioure. There the sun was shining and the town a real picture. Our only regret was that we hadn't checked out of La Maison des Consuls first. If we'd done this we wouldn't have got a refund but it would have been worth it.

Maybe in the middle of Summer this village is a great place to be as there were many promising shops and restaurants, but only if they are open!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We spent a night at the hotel on our way towards Spain in September. The hotel is located in the central square of Mirepoix, its most attractive feature. The hotel is surrounded by houses with colourful plaster in between the timber supports. There are a number of cafes and restaurants around the square.

The hotel rooms were quite spacious. Not up to usual 3 star standard in country France but clean and comfortable. The furniture was drab and a lot more could be done to improve the ambiance of the hotel. We booked through the hotel website. The price was 90 €, which was the same price as the various hotel booking sites. Not value for money but acceptable.

There is ample parking on the edge of the square (in the adjacent streets). This is paid parking during the day but is free overnight. No complaints but not a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelalot2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is a lovely place to stay, right on the ultra-charming mediaeval town square. Peaceful, too, at any rate when we were there.
Main plus points: the spectacular half-timbered facade; superb breakfast - take it outside on the square rather than the room at the back.
Bit of a shame that the inside of the hotel doesn't match up to the outside, adequate but very ordinary furniture and decor. With a bit of imagination and flair the place would be magical right through.
Tip: park in front of the church directly across the square from the hotel. 1st hour is free.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

A wonderful old fashioned (which is a compliment) hotel. We had a beautiful room on the top floor overlooking the square. The stairs wouldnt be great for the less mobile or young childen but for everyone else it is very good for the price - not in the same class as the Relais where we stayed previously but a lot less expensive.

Room Tip: Worth paying to overlook the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cantwaitforspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Comfortable, beautiful rooms, fantastic location and service - we stayed in one of the less expensive rooms in the hotel, la chambre des ecrivains, and it was very comfortable, pretty quiet, and clean, with excellent bathrom facilities.

The location is fantastic, being in the medieval square, much of it still in original condition, including carved wooden gargoyles. It's also a great place from which to explore the Cathar castles and do some walking, both of which we enjoyed.

The only downside is that the WiFi doesn't work, but the rest was great, so it didn't matter.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randomtraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirepoix
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Remparts
Hotel Les Remparts
#5 of 6 in Mirepoix
65 reviews
0 mi away
Relais de Mirepoix
Relais de Mirepoix
#2 of 6 in Mirepoix
22 reviews
2.9 mi away
Auberge du Balestie
Auberge du Balestie
#1 of 1 in Malegoude
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Minotiers
21.9 mi away
Le Manoir d'Agnes
Le Manoir d'Agnes
#1 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Commerce
Hotel Le Commerce
#6 of 6 in Mirepoix
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison des Consuls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison des Consuls

Address: 6 Place du Marechal Leclerc, 09500, Mirepoix, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Mirepoix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mirepoix
Price Range: £77 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison des Consuls 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Concils House Is Old Historic House Of 14 Century All Rooms Are Full Air Conditioned And Renewed With Nice Bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison des Consuls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing