We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got to have a Gus's hotdog with their sausce” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gus's Hotdogs

Gus's Hotdogs
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Watervliet
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Got to have a Gus's hotdog with their sausce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

It may not be the best meal I ever had at a restaurant but if you come to Watervliet NY you need to stop and grab some dogs even if your not hungry you need to get a couple of dogs. Then you can say you were in Watervliet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockinray1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING DOGS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

A little gem tucked away in Watervliet, NY. Try the Greek burger and a half dozen dogs...... with a soda ~ 5.00. The dogs are mini dogs, the meat sauce is beyond compare, the mini buns are always fresh..... To give you an idea of how good..... at 11:00 on a Tuesday (or any day) in February and its 10 degrees outside there will be a line at the walk up take out window.....mmmm mmmmmm.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToJa_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An iconic piece of Watervliet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

If you've never experienced Gus's hotdogs you're in for a treat. This little joint cranks out mini dogs , both hamburgers and sausage burgers complimented by their special sauce. They are served fast and are all very tasty. They unfortunately don't serve fries but if you've ever been inside you'll understand why , the tiny counter space is usually jam packed with employees hustling out the orders and in my opinion a deep fryer would be risky given the limited space and the decades of "flavor" coating everything.Gus's isn't fancy by a long shot but you have to give it a try at least once in your lifetime. I love the dogs with the works and their cheeseburgers , minus the sauce are , my favorite !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tosh166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, NY
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was my first trip to Gus's. I read the reviews and they were pretty spot-on. I ate outside and didn't bother going inside, the dogs are the mini dogs (and my 4 year old ate 6!) and the value is incredible. Hot dogs are $0.75 each regardless of toppings, burgers a buck fifty for cheese. We ate an embarrassing number of hotdogs between the three of us and barely broke a $20.

The inside did look best-avoided but the picnic area was nice, and all you need.

And, all the people there were fun - and yes, the old lady is a hoot :). Service very fast, food was great.

A few months ago, a woman at the Hot Dog Charlie's in Clifton Park mall yelled at and said some pretty terrible things to a parent of a child with Autism about needing to control her monster of a child (she was a friend of a very close friend - not a mystery person) so we have vowed to never eat there again.

VERY glad to have a better establishment to go to and will drive the extra!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffNLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
668 reviews
482 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“X2”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Thats what you have to multiply your usual hot dog order by. These suckers are small, i don't know where they find those tiny rolls at?! Good too! The hburger are a gopd size.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gus's Hotdogs also viewed

 

Been to Gus's Hotdogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing