We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly welcome, Great location and fab food. Closed Mondays!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belcastel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belcastel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
421 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome, Great location and fab food. Closed Mondays!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Everything about this hotel/restaurant is first class. I booked 4 months in advance and I could only get a basic room at 100Euros/night, which was not a problem in this gorgeous location. We came to see the beautiful tiny town of Belcastel and eat in the restaurant, which in itself is worth a detour. Instead of staying 4 nights in Rodez to tour the Aveyron region, we spent 3 in Rodez and one in Belcastel. Be aware that both the hotel and the restaurant are closed on Mondays!!
On arrival we found the hotel reception easily and were greeted in English by a charming young lady. She then walked me over the bridge to our room (#2), whilst my husband nearly had a heart attack getting the car over this narrow medieval thoroughfare. The room was very well furnished, the window was open, the view over the river was charming and we were surprised by the huge modern bathroom. We walked the village in less than an hour, then had a pre dinner drink on the street.
Dinner at the Hotel, was spectacular. Some servers spoke English and the Maitre' D was another very charming lady who speaks English too. As we are small eaters we selected from the a la carte menu, which was perfect as we received two amuse bouche before Entrees arrived, a palate cleanser between Entree and Main and a little dessert before the big one came. Exceptional cheese trolley too.
A fantastic sleep in a comfy bed, then the best surprise of all, on checkout, the total bill (including a75Euro bottle of wine) was just 300E's.

Room Tip: Room 2 on the entrance floor was lovely, with a big modern bathroom and a view onto the river howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
81
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I don't even know where to start.

Belcastel is one of the charming and lovely place on the face of the earth.

Thinking of visiting? Still thinking. Do it.

This hotel is lovely, charming and it work every penny. We were housed in the superior room and it was stunning! A large, bright room with a beautiful view.

We had a first class meal at the restaurant. The service was spectacular and you will not regret the tell out.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We found this town when looking at photos of France and the photos alone made us change our driving route to include it in our stop for 1 night.
Well worth the drive!!
I cannot speak highly enough about the charm of this town. The hotel sits right on the river with a private sitting area overlooking the bridge. Completely picturesque.
At night we sat outside with a bottle of wine and in the morning you can request to have breakfast served outside.
The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable and classic. They looked new. Great view of the river and wonderful to sleep with the window open on the 2nd floor and listen to the water at night.
The restaurant was very fine dining. They do not speak English at the restaurant or have English menus, but that only added to the charm for us. Thank goodness for Google translate on our phones :)
We took a run along the river in the morning and found some hiking trails.
Chateaux Belcastel is also worth a visit at the top of the town. Fantastic views!
All aroundit was a splendid stay in a very peaceful, quaint town.
This is a must see!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river on one of the top 2 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The view of the restaurant showing the approach from the medieval bridge with its Roman influence is quite interesting. That bridge is exactly a roman chariot wide showing where the influence is from. To get to the hotel you have to carefully cross that bridge, not with a typical large vehicle and yes, those are rocks jutting out from the bridge. However the story and review is about the fabulous food served and the manner in which it is served. Our lunch cost us 58 euros each and it is worth several times more. See images attached from the servings. In Paris this lunch would have been several hundred euros. The ambience in the room is that of a five star inn in any of the upscale restaurants throughout the world. The placement of each table is far enough from each other that you do not feel like you are being cramped. You can have a private conversation without fear of someone being nosey enough to hear you, if you converse in normal tone. The server gives you all the time you need and can answer any multitude of questions, including wine suggestions. Which are spot on, by the way. There was no rush between servings and the waiters are quite attentive to your pace and needs. See the attached menu and images. There was no single serving that was too much or even too little. Everything was prefect in preparation, appearance and utensils were replaced as each serving was being presented. My curiosity was piqued by the rock with the small slice in it and that was answered by the dessert serving, which you will carefully see in the images. Actually I was so blown away by the preparation and presentation of the escargot that I actually forgot to photograph it, and I am a photographer! I do have one caution. Do not view those images on an empty stomach. As I was putting them together for this review, I was instantly transported back to this restaurant a mere 24 km from Rodez and will tell you we will stop there again during our next visit to the area. This place is not to be missed for the fabulous that you will ever have anywhere. This is a place you really want to dress up for lunch for. Worth every euro and minute. The best lunch I have ever had!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 943RickR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My girlfriend and I were travelling around Europe for 2 months so to help manage our expenses we decided to go to the restaurant but stay at the campsite by the river.

I was relying upon the gps to get us to the correct place, but unfortunately i didn't realise that there are 2 Belcastels in France that are approximately 2 hours apart. My girlfriend was getting a little testy as we drove from the incorrect Belcastel to the correct Belcastel but she became silent when she saw the little village by the river.

We put up our tent, got showered and then went to the restaurant.

The food at the restaurant was amazing with the staff very focused on providing a very high level of service. All the courses were very good, the cheese cart gave us the opportunity to try some local cheeses that we found quite difficult to find elsewhere in France. We had earlier been to a 3 Michelin star restaurant in Paris and the overall experience at Restaurant du Vieux Pont was just as good.

It was a quite unique experience, walking from the restaurant back to the campsite over the beautiful bridge in the middle of the village.

This was one of the highlights on our 2 month European holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarrenSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We visited Belcastel last week and were lucky enough to dine in the restaurant. It was the best dinning experience we have experienced!Better than a 3 star restaurant we have eaten in. We will definitely go back to sample the delights of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueskisquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Locale is very quaint, rooms very clean, great view of the river from room #7 and excellent breakfast. Great value in this small lovely village. Our room had a king size bed, AC and super quiet. Could not ask for a better place to rest...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lelli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belcastel
11.0 mi away
La Ferme de Bourran
La Ferme de Bourran
#2 of 20 in Rodez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
18.9 mi away
Chateau de Longcol
Chateau de Longcol
#2 of 3 in Najac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
14.5 mi away
Herve Busset Le Moulin de Cambelong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Les Fleurines
Les Fleurines
#1 of 4 in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
13.9 mi away
L'Auberge du Chateau
L'Auberge du Chateau
#1 of 1 in Muret-le-Chateau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
14.6 mi away
Le Relais de Farrou
Le Relais de Farrou
#2 of 4 in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont

Property: Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont
Address: 12390 Belcastel, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Belcastel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belcastel
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
hôtel Hotel Belcastel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing