We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage, great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Wonderful romantic Puy L'Eveque from the river banks.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wonderful romantic Puy L'Eveque from the river banks.
Our sun washed cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Wonderful romantic Puy L'Eveque from the river banks.
Our sun washed cottage
Fun dining times in the outside courtyard.
Rose and her friends staying at the gite in early August, great people!
River boat trips at Puy L'Eveque.
Bridge over the river, we are a few minutes from the river
Views over the medieaval ville of L'Eveque
Two of the chateau's that the Bishop of Cahors lived in.  The knights lived in the RHS one.
Ariel view of Puy L'Eveque
15th Century Catholic church in Puy L'Eveque
Chateau Bonaquil, around 15 minutes away.
Puy L';Eveque in the golden summer sun.
Hotel Henry, a nearby restaurant, great friendly service and food.
Summer fare at Hotel Henry
sample of food, Hotel Henry
Me with friends at the Wednesday local producers evening meal, each Wednesday thro July and Aug
Tuesday morning market day here in Puy L'Eveque, come to shop, meet up and take the local coffee
Prayssac Market
It wouldn't be a market without a big selection of cheese!
Annual cycle race through the streets of Puy L'Eveque
Famous Cahors wine route, Puy L'Eveque is on the top right hand side.
Vineyards as far as the eye can see, lots of places to taste too!
Fireworks in August lit by the river, over Puy L'Eveque.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Puy-l'Eveque, Lot, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sally W
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, great location ”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed here at this lovely place for 5 nights mid August last year. The gite is spacious, with two separate bedrooms including own showers and sinks, and a downstairs area with a fully equipped kitchen, washing facilities and seating area with tv including a selection of dvd's to watch. This really is perfect for self catering. It has everything you need whilst being spacious and comfy.

The host Iona included a welcome pack to settle in, which has some milk, bread and wine. This really helped for the first night as I arrived late and wouldn't have been able to have got anything myself. She is very accommodating and was a pleasure to deal with.

There is a great restaurant opposite which is a lovely local spot to visit. It's a stones throw away from the town centre, which has other restaurants, some shops and some picturesque views of the surrounding area.

Overall this has a modern, yet cosy French feel to it, with clean rooms, great facilities and a lovely host.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Thanks for your lovely review Sally, I am pleased you found the Petite Maison Bleue's location to be so ideal for your holiday and that you were so happy with the hospitality provided. I really hope that you find time in your busy schedule to come and visit us again and explore even more of this this lovely region.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa R
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home from home, great host and perfect location!”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is the first time we have stayed at Maison Bleue, and Iona even though we had a journey from hell to get there, arriving several hours late, was there to welcome us. A delightful basket of wine, bread, and cheese on the table and Iona had put on the heating so the house was warm and cosy. The two bedrooms on suite worked brilliantly for us. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed. Comfy cosy beds, spacious rooms and plenty of wardrobe space.

Only one comment that the TV only had French TV and there wasn't a video player, we did upon leaving mention this to Iona, and our fault, she said had we she would have at least provided the video player.

Petite Maison Bleue was in a perfect location, easily being able to walk to Henry's the local restaurant and around the town.

Great host, and couldn't be more helpful.

We would definitely go back there and highly recommend you trying it, excellent value for money!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of good TV and lack of video
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thanks for your lovely review Teresa, so pleased you had a good time here and will organise getting UK channels on the TV alongside the French channels. It was a real pleasure looking after both of you, I hope you will be able to return some time and have an even better at Petite Maison Bleue, perhaps for the fireworks event on the river or some of the culture events we have here in Puy L'Eveque.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely old house in a beautiful village/town with a very helpful friendly owner.”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband, sister and I have just returned from a fabulous week in La Petite Maison Bleue. The house is very central to all amenities and is ideal for two couples as it has 2 en-suite bedrooms. The open plan sitting room and kitchen are comfortable and have most of what you would need, a small washing machine would have been useful but there are facilities in the nearby supermarket car park. Also a little extra lighting in the sitting room area would have been useful. However, overall, it was a really good stay and the owner, Iona, couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The town itself is full of places to eat and drink, though not all open in September, still plenty to choose from. Puy-l'Eveque is very beautiful and the surrounding area offers lots to see and do. Just to add, Iona's photos of the house do not do it justice, it is a very characterful listed building with a beautiful ceramic wood burner, lots of beams and lovely old windows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location in an attractive property
Liked least: Low light in living area, needs a standard lamp perhaps
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thanks for your kind review, it was lovely to meet all three of you. I wish I had known about the lighting as the standard light was taken out of the sitting area recently as guests didn't want it! I have put it back! We did cons a washing machine but installed a dishwasher instead due to full washing facilities being a few minutes walk away and having an outside drying area, I also have a washing machine that guests can use in the the main house when asked. We may review this.
I was most pleased that your husband enjoyed himself so much he said he would have liked another week. It was wonderful that you took time to enjoy the local restaurants and sights etc. Best regards, Iona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaggyJ
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal base for my trip”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stumbled across La Petite Maison Bleue when looking for a good value but decent place to stay when I was house-hunting in the area. It was one of those arrangements that worked out very well indeed.

Iona was very welcoming and accommodating and I really couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The gite itself has two double bedrooms and a well-equipped kitchen and was spotless when I walked in.

The sheets were clean and the beds were comfortable. I slept very well all the nights I was there and that made a difference to the quality of my stay. It helps to be refreshed. The village itself is very attractive and has all the short-stay amenities you could ask for within walking distance.

There is parking opposite the property that is genuinely available most of the time and a courtyard exclusive to guests as a backup (that you won't need). All told, I really don't have a complaint to make and would go back to Iona next time I am in the Lot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, I am very pleased that you felt very welcomed and liked the accommodation, in particular how clean the gite is, I do think this is very important and everyone seems to like the cool cotton sheets! We do live in a lovely village and it is so friendly too. I was surprised that the directions were not easy to follow, they are included on the site in great detail, maybe it was the SatNav? I would be very pleased to welcome you again should you be travelling this way again. Best regards, Iona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz757
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely. , well equipped gite for 4 adults. It's in a great location for restaurants, supermarket & of course, boulangeries.. The owners are on hand & very helpful & there's a lovely garden attached next door & the owners will let you use their washing line.Its a good base to explore the Lot & Dordogne valleys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thanks for your lovely review! We loved hearing happiness and laughter from you and your friends in the courtyard. Very pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and courtyard so much. How wonderful to have such good friends to share a holiday with, we enjoyed meeting your daughter and partner also.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Visited for a short break, found the accommodation comfortable and clean. Great location for relaxing and touring local areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review and that you thought the cottage was a 'Home away from Home' we try to make the cottage very welcoming to all our guests. I hope that you will return for a longer stay in the future!
Best regards
Iona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail W
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, gite and hosts”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The picturesque town of Puy L'Eveque is on the river in a lovely little known area of France that is well worth a visit. The Petite Maison Bleue is ideal accommodation, well located with stunning views very near the town centre with good facilities very nearby, it's quiet, clean and spacious with everything you need plus the hosts are extremely knowledgeable about the local area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
We really appreciate your kind review, thank you. We do think that the cottage has a wonderful location and it was lovely that you were able to see so much in your time here and had such a good holiday.
Iona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing