We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I agree-Traveler Beware”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging
Reviewed 7 September 2008

I just booked a few days ago for a Friday, Saturday and Sunday in mid-August 2009 and was told by Olga's husband, Jeff, that the long weekend we needed was available for both 2 bedroom units. Just received a call from Olga stating she cannot accommodate our party of 8 in the 2 adjoining units because someone else comes and stays for 2 weeks at the same time of year. Her husband told me the entire long weekend was wide open. Obviously she had a better offer for for someone staying more than just 3 days. I told her to forget it and my credit card had better not be charged when we don't show up next year.

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank czechred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2008

We have just return from Admiral Peabody last weekend and the people are just great. It is like family. Very clean, beautiful seanery, quiet just for relaxing. Everything is at your fingertips. Close to town. You have to check it out.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckkimberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Wow, let me begin by saying I have never had such a terrible experience with a motel/hotel in over 15 years of travel. Please take a moment to read the following and feel free to contact me with any questions if needed.

I was traveling to Watkins Glen, NY the weekend of July 11-13 to volunteer at Farm Sanctuary. On Tuesday, July 1, I followed a link for local accommodations from Farm Sanctuary's website that took me to www.watkinsglenlodging.com, where Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging is first on the list. They offer 5 lakeside cabins with a view of the lake, a grill on the porch, etc. I called and spoke with the proprietor, Olga P., who stated she had a small cabin, 10x16 feet, with one double bed available for Friday 7/11 and Saturday 7/12, check-out Sunday morning. She went on about the beauty of the cabin despite its tiny size, the gorgeous view, etc. She asked about my name and my heritage; informed me that she is also Russian/Ukrainian and told me the story of her family immigrating to the United States. She then provided me the price and tax details ($80/night plus tax) and requested my credit card number for a deposit, stating the card will not be charged and I have the option of paying by cash, check or credit card when I check-out. I provided her with all my info, including the cc#, and she stated she will mail me a packet with a confirmation, map of the Finger Lakes region, local activities, etc.

The following afternoon, Wednesday July 2, Ms Olga called me on my cell phone and informed me she was very sorry but she now only has the cabin available for Saturday night (7/12) and do I still want the room for that night? I incredulously asked why?? as I had given her my credit card as a deposit to reserve the cabin for both Friday AND Saturday nights just the day before. She responded, "Well, someone wanted it for Tuesday through Friday and so now I only have the room for Saturday night. Do you still want it?" I responded "No thank you. I do NOT want the room for just Saturday night," and hung up the phone. I was angered and appalled by the unprofessional and unethical manner in which my reservation was handled but I let it go, stayed at The Ginger Cat Bed and Breakfast and had a very nice weekend at Farm Sanctuary. (But the story continues....)

Today, July 15th, I signed online to make a credit card payment and saw that Admiral Peabody's had charged $199.36 to my credit card! I immediately called and spoke with Ms Olga who stated that I had not shown up this weekend and never called to cancel! I was outraged and reminded her of her call to me on Wednesday, July 2, informing me of giving away my cabin for Friday 7/11! She denied calling me, denied cancelling my reservation for Friday July 11 and denied that I then declined the room for Saturday July 12! I informed her that she called me at work and my office-mate heard the entire conversation. She then stated, "...well then you will need to take this up with your credit card company because I'm not doing anything about this charge."
How outrageous!! I have traveled extensively both within and outside the US and have never had such an unpleasant, absurd experience with a proprietor of lodging.

Please beware when considering booking a cabin or doing business with Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodge; definitely do not provide a credit card number for a deposit. They may cancel your reservation on you and then have the nerve to charge you anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
10  Thank warriorbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcc1, Owner at Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2008

We have been in the lodging industry for over ten years, the last five here at Admiral Peabody's. In that time I have never book a room with someone and then cancelled because someone else called to book the next day. I checked and double checked our reservation book to see if I may have made any mistake before charging her card and found no mistake on my part. If this person would have called to cancell we could have booked the room and not charged her, but because we had no idea she was not going to show, we could not. We are sorry but this woman is not being honest about this incident

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

This is a fantastic place. We stayed in one of the three independent cabin-structures (not featured on their website).

While the space is tiny, every comfort was accounted for:

My husband and I had a large deck of our own attached to the front of the cabin, equipped with a couple of comfy chairs, table, and candle -- and since it's located up a slope, a great view of the lake.

Inside, the space is well-decorated -- soft sheets in pretty colors, lots of charming bits including a sweet little table lamp with a green beaded shade that gave off lovely sprays of green light at night.

A comfortable mattress, A/C as well as ceiling fan, all made for a great sleep.

Everything perfectly clean.

Room amenities included coffeemaker, fridge, and goodies provided (coffee, breakfast bars, waters). Also, nice coffee mugs, wine glasses, bottle opener, salt/pepper, cutlery -- all those little details that make such a difference.

We also had our own gas grill there, just to the side of the cabin, and enjoyed a break from restaurant food by walking out to the grocery store and making our own grilled dinner and sitting and enjoying our wine and the view of the lake. So relaxing.

Olga and her husband (so sorry, forgot his name!) were both very personable and kind.

On our six day road trip, this was definitely our very favorite place -- scenic, relaxing, full of personal touches, really charming. Not at all "just a place to sleep", and yet the price ($89) seemed very fair!

Two more notes: if steep steps are a concern, the cabins wouldn't be a good choice -- but there are two additional rooms at level with the parking lot (still with great views, with the property on a slope). Also, if you prefer everything to be as you expect from having stayed in chain hotels, or if you cannot see past the small room footprint to enjoy the uniqueness of a place, then you should stay away -- you're not right for Admiral Peabody's and you then deserve your generic "luxury".

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAHenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Our April stay was not our first and will not be our last. Admiral Peabodys offers exceptional lodging. Rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and offer outstanding views of Lake Seneca. It was quiet and comfortable. The owners are very friendly and helpful, yet respect your privacy. We could not ask for a more relaxing spot. All three of our visits were excellent and we will return again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank manuela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watkins Glen hotels
2 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Local
The Local
#6 of 7 in Watkins Glen
2 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anchor Inn And Marina
Anchor Inn And Marina
#6 of 9 in Watkins Glen
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging

Address: 3305 County Road 30, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9705
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 6 unit lakeside lodging consisting of a 3 bedroom 1 and a half bath house, 2 two bedroom cottages, a one bedroom cottage and 2 one room bungalow type units. All units have a deck with a lake view and lake access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Admiral Peabody`s Lakeside Lodging Hotel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing