We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People Sanctuary”
Review of Farm Sanctuary

Farm Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This farm offers sanctuary and a home for abused farm animals, and helps to educate Americans about treating animals with respect and compassion.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“People Sanctuary”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Although the Farm purports to be a Sanctuary for farmed animals it is also a Sanctuary for people. The experience of visiting Farm Sanctuary will have a profound, positive affect on you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank desmt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    11
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Educational experience”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I wanted to take my teenage son here so he could learn why we are vegetarian before he is old enough to make his own food choices. My husband and I have been well aware of the horrors of factory farming and the unacceptable treatment of farm animals for many years, but a visit to Farm Sanctuary reaffirms the choice we made over 20 years ago to stop eating animals.

The farm is beautiful, set in the rolling hills of the Finger Lakes wine region, animals are well cared for and provided with clean housing where they can live out their lives in comfort and peace.

The tour is not all that long, so not a day trip, but a nice stop for families with children for a few hours. You may pet many of the animals at the farm, and they seem to be acclimated to humans coming and going.

I love the mission this organization has, and the way it is presented to the public. I wish there were more sanctuaries like this for rescued farm animals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank songbird5212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Educational And Necessary”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I enjoyed the tour at Farm Sanctuary and hearing all the stories about the animals. The place is kept very clean and the animals seem very happy. Most of them have horror stories about where they came from. They are very fortunate to be there. I wish there were more of these places.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ELockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Humanity at its Best”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Must be seen to be appreciated. You will see for yourself what some people choose to do with their lives - and this is on of those places.

Helpful?
1 Thank Luann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate ny
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“wonderful!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

what they do at farm sanctuary is rare and wonderful.of course you won't read about it in the press, because it wouldn't garner enough hits. please visit and please donate! just a few dollars makes a difference.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank momwifesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farm Sanctuary also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Farm Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing