We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal on a great hotel for an amazing weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
spottedang11
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great deal on a great hotel for an amazing weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel was the place of choice to stay as a part of my Polar Passport WInter Wine Week in March 2012. An excellent deal, my boyfriend and I stayed for three nights, with a free room upgrade when we showed our Finger Lakes Wine App on our phones. Our room was immaculate - beautiful queen sized bed, hardwood floors, flatscreen TV, beautiful bathroom with a slate walk in shower, and best of all - A balcony with a view overlooking Seneca Lake. We spent our first night there watching a rainstorm come over the mountains towards us. Beautiful. The hotel also had a very clean, small gym to use if one felt the need to hop on a treadmill, bike, or lift some weights while away. The pool and hot tub were also quite nice, and although we did not swim, we did see other families enjoying it. We had three of the best nights of sleep in that comfortable bed, and woke up happily to sunshine coming through our window. The town of Watkins Glen is a cute, quaint little town with great shops to play in, and within walking distance of the hotel of the magnificent Watkins Glen State Park. Definitely a must see for anyone looking for peace and quiet, and the beauty of nature. The hotel is also perfect for those seeking a trip to the wineries in the area - the main focus of our retreat. The Harbor Hotel is situated at the bottom of Seneca Lake, giving you ample choices of visiting either shore of Seneca, Keuka, and Cayuga lake with, at most, a half an hour drive. Overall, the Harbor Hotel was an excellent place to stay for our trip, and we will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spottedang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    207
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
215
638
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel was the location of a Titanic 100th Anniversary dinner in April 2012. Being almost 5 hours away, we decided to spend the night at the hotel and received a slight discount as other attendees did.

Having not spent much time in this area, I was unsure what to expect. This hotel far exceeded our expectations. After driving through some pretty rural areas, we arrived at the hotel which is right on the lake (you can choose a room with a village view or lake view....I strongly suggest lake view for only $10 more). There are some buildings nearby and a train track behind the hotel (I'm unsure if it's still running, we didn't see any), and the pier is only a short walk away.

The dinner was in the hotel's ballroom which was surprisingly beautiful. Over 250 people were in attendance and it did not feel cramped in the slightest. There was an 8 course meal so the staff was extremely busy but they did a fantastic job and were very professional (the food was also delicious).

The rooms themselves are quite nice and very relaxing. There are hardwood floors rather than carpeting which I enjoyed (we heard very little noise from nearby rooms so this doesn't seem an issue), the bed was very comfortable, the lake views are fantastic, and the shower....all I can say is I now want the same one (three showers in two days).

In the morning I found not only the complimentary newspaper outside our door, but each floor also had its own coffee and tea "bar" in front of the elevators. We ordered room service which came fairly quickly and was delicious.

There is really nothing bad I can say about this hotel. It was beautiful, relaxing, affordable, check-in and check-out were a breeze, and the staff is friendly and professional. Having stayed in quite a few hotels over the years, the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel is definitely in my top three. If I had to choose between staying here again and the Bellagio at twice the price, it would be no contest.

As of now I have no reason to go back to Watkins Glen anytime in the future, but I may return for a long weekend at some point just to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the extra few dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jwanderer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Upscale, new, clean and friendly full service hotel. Excellent location. Near the Seneca Lake wineries. Walk to downtown Watkins Glen. About 25 minutes to Hammondsport and other Lake wineries.Good food, excellent service. Nice bar with interesting locals. HUGE rooms and bathrooms. Unbelievably comfortable beds. One of the highest priced hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacylevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

watkins glen is a small town, yet is along the water which is very beautiful.. the hotel surpassed our expectations, the locations is perfect right on the harbor with a view of the boats. the amenities are great, free wi-fi, nice gym, beautiful grounds and well maintained property, carpet and rooms. they do have turn down service at night, the concierge was very pleasant and helpful, she gave us alot of free wine tasting coupons for many of the wineries. the rooms are spacious, not at all cramped with a large bathroom and shower. staff was very pleasant as is the restaurant and bar. the bed was amazingly comfortable. the prices do rise quickly though so book early! i would ONLY stay in this hotel in this town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Someone wrote in Budget Travel that the Finger Lakes was the most beautiful wine region in the world. This must have been written by someone who has never been to Italy, France or even Spain. But a trip into the Finger Lakes and a stay at the Harbor Hotel in Watkins Glen is indeed a very nice time. On a recent trip to Washington from Toronto my wife and I managed to work it in to our route without much trouble and it was worth it. My wife had never been to the Finger Lakes or Watkins Glen so this was a great time to show her. I have been through there a few times and it was nice to finally be able to share this with her. She now loves the Harbor hotel as much as I do and would like to go there again.. From the big spacious rooms, great showers and big comfy beds to the view from our harbor view room which was fantastic. There was even a picture perfect mist on the water in the morning.
(her only complaint with the room was no tub)
We had coctails on the lake view patio betore heading out for dinner at the Italian restaurant nearby and then back to the patio and the large fire pit for dessert and a night cap. There is no mini bar in the rooms but a fridge which is nice. Our sever has been there for a few years and she was as pleasant as ever. The whole staff are super friendly and I have never had a bad moment there. Every stay has been pleasant and comfortable. The hotel is close to down town and the falls (a must see) so you can walk pretty much everywhere. If you like history and want to learn more about a very important American inventor you should make the short but very pretty 20 minute drive over to Hammondsport to the Glenn Curtis museum. Well worth the time;

My only complaint are the highways in Up-state NY. My goodness - with all the tolls they charge you would think they could improve the condition of their highways which I think are the worst in North America. If the local polititians are looking for job creation and employment opportunites then look no further then your highways. If you are serious about cashing in on tourist dollars then this should be your #1 priority. Having said that, this trip reafirmed my belief that the QEW from Toronto to Niagara is the Ugliest highway in all of North America. What were the planners of this travesty of a route thinking. Oh. sorry, they weren't thinking. They took what could have been one of the most beautifull and heavally travelled routes in Onatrio and turned it into a very ugly, boaring mess. My appolagies to anyone visiting Canada from the US on this route. The good news is that once you get east of Buffalo, get off the I's and get onto any of the secondary highways and you will have a beautiful and scenic trip. HIghway 14 is a good one, but there are others that come up quicker. If you go during harvest there are plenty of vinyards to check out on this route as well. A great weekend get away for anyone close enough to drive there. Watkins Glen is about a 4 - 5 hours drive south east from Toronto.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a harbor view and king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EasyRider54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

You could get a beautiful, 3-4 star boutique hotel in NYC, DC, Chicago -- you name any big city -- for the extremely high prices you pay for this glorified Ramada. How could they charge such inflated prices ($350 for some rooms), when well less than half of the rooms have lakeside views, and at best decent decor/setting, in a place like Watkin's Glen?? Who do they think they are? While near a growing industry (wine), they are years away from being able to command these prices. Really disappointed and appalled at the audacity of the management. I've stayed in Napa Valley and Sonoma hotels with more amenities, for half of what this place is charging. They are also located next to an eyesore of a salt mining plant (Cargill).

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reislingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Harbor Hotel several times and have been pleased each time. The hotel has a wonderful view of Seneca Lake and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The food at the restaurant is quite good. We stay here every time we are in the area for events at Watkins Glen International Speedway. It is a very convenient hotel to the track. It is a little bit on the expensive side but worth it.

Room Tip: It is worthwhile to get a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
15.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
18.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
0.3 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Property: Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Address: 16 N Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Booking.com so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing