We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel was beautiful, and the rooms met every need, from a granite makeup area to one of the nicest bathrooms I've ever seen in a small town hotel. The hotel is ideally situated at the end of Seneca Lake with some restaurant options that are very walkable, if you don't feel like dining at the hotel. The beds were comfortable with turn-down service, and the robes were a luxurious touch. Coffee was available on each floor each morning, so you didn't have to make sub-par coffee in a tiny room-sized coffee pot, nor did you have to travel in your jammies to the lobby to get some. I have to say that my only "complaint" was that to go to the indoor pool, you had to enter through a door right off the lobby of the hotel, right by the entrance to their elegant restaurant. As I didn't feel like dripping past elegantly-clad patrons sipping their martinis, we skipped a visit to the pool. I would have loved to have a lakeside room, but they were sold out. You won't miss the view with as beautiful as the room is, though!

Room Tip: Lakeside if you can get it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillyeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your 5-star rating and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and the convenience of the complimentary coffee & tea stations.

If you would like to enjoy our indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi during your next visit there are stairs located at the end of each floor that lead to the pool side of the lobby. This passage provides our guests the option to bypass the lobby in their swimming attire.

It is our hopes that your travels bring you back to see us again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Carolyn Guyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I just got back from a three day visit and we had the best time.
We had a lake view balcony room and it was worth the next couple of dollars a night for the beautiful view of Lake Seneca. After checking in on Thursday we went to the outside patio and had a couple drinks and some appetizers. I got the fried calamari and my wife got the lobster braised in orange-coriander brodo which came with 4 big claws and served in a martini glass.
Our waitress Brittany was awesome. Great service and really good food and drink recommendations.
Some have reviewed that the food prices where high but I felt that all the pricing was appropriate for the location. We eat breakfast and dinner there also and didn't have one bad meal. The food was outstanding.
We did a 6 hour wine tour on Friday with Frisk Wine tours which was great because the wineries where not as crowded so you could talk to the staff and learn more about the wines.
The tour also included a cheese shop and a couple breweries.
Saturday after checking out we walked the gouge at Watkins Glen State Park. A nice hike with great views and beautiful waterfalls.
If you need to getaway from the world for a couple days. This is the place to stay.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenbo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write this amazing review! It is great to hear you and your wife enjoyed your “getaway from the world” visit. We are glad you had the opportunity to visit a few of the many great attractions the Finger Lakes region has to offer.

It was a pleasure to share your review with our team and your time in giving a special mention to Brittany is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Harbor Hotel.

Sincerely,
Carolyn Guyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My daughter and I were running quite late, so we notified the hotel in advance that we wouldn't arrive until 1 or 2 in the morning. Staff person made a note and said she would pass it on. We have stayed at hotels where if you didn't arrive on time (even though it was paid for in advance), they would sell the room right out from under you. Needless to say, we were expecting the same. I just assumed the high rating of this particular hotel was high because it was the best of the lot of a bunch of run-down, lackluster accommodations. And from viewing the hotel photos, I was not optimistic.

WOW! Was I ever surprised. Our message of being late was conveyed. We were quickly checked in by pleasant staff and headed up to the room. Two queen beds awaited us in a very spacious room that was immaculate! The flooring in the sleeping area was hardwood style with a throw rug between the beds (meaning no nasty, worn down carpeting), loads of pillows on the bed, a separate makeup area with small stool, lighted and magnified mirror and an overhead light and large 18" square tile flooring in the bath area. Shower was over-sized with a small angled "seat" in the corner probably for use for the ladies to place their leg while shaving. Great water pressure with adjustable head and the regular amenities like shampoo, hair dryer, conditioner, body soap, etc. were on hand. Towels were not huge, but they were also not worn down rags! We had a room overlooking the parking lot. We saw no need to spend extra money for a view when we would be out trotting all over the place. The area facing the harbor had plenty of tables/chairs and a large fire pit for chilly evenings. Since we did not eat at the hotel, I can't vouch for the food/service, but I would anticipate that it was just as good.

Pool area was heated and nice, although we were a bit disappointed the pool wasn't deeper (only 3 or 4 feet). I could go on and on, but the overall impression was CLEAN, well-maintained, efficient, friendly but not intrusive. A very pleasant surprise.

The only advice I could offer is that management put out a more impressive brochure that shows off this little jewel of a hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavenderlady3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

On behalf of the entire team at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel I sincerely thank you for taking your time to share your experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor. It was a great pleasure to read through your review and we truly appreciate your writing to us to express such gracious comments about the property and the services.

Our ultimate goal is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us.

It has been our privilege to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Harbor Hotel on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Carolyn Guyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at the overall quality, cleanliness, and ambiance of the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel. The view from our room was spectacular, but how could it not be. We were even treated to a lightning storm over the lake at 2am. Dinner in Blue Point Grille was delicious and well presented, as was breakfast the following morning. We will recommend this hotel highly to all of our friends and visitors. First rate.

Room Tip: Book early. The "lake side view" is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlleyCatSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled to hear we were able to surpass your expectations and that you had a memorable honeymoon stay with us. We pride ourselves in going the extra mile to take excellent care of our guests.

It was, indeed, our pleasure to have you as our guests and we appreciate you recommending us so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Harbor Hotel for another memorable visit.

Best Regards,
Carolyn Guyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful clean hotel. Staff was very helpful. Room was very nice. We stayed in a suite. Had a beautiful view of the lake from our balcony. The restaurant in the hotel was very good for dinner. A little more expensive then other places but very convenient. The pool looked very clean but we did not use it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BCF250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We cannot thank you enough for your fabulous 5-star review and for your gracious comments regarding our very helpful staff.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the beautiful view of Seneca Lake and had a great visit with us. You can be assured that our staff equally enjoyed having you as our guest and attending to your needs.

We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Carolyn Guyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for one night and did not have any major complaints, Everything was clean and neat, large rooms, comfortable beds, great view, friendly and helpful staff. They even allowed us to go up to our room an hour early. Minor complaints were; sink stopper was broke and the sink kept filling up and there were no matching slippers in the closet....I called the desk and they said they would send them up but they never did.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other travelers on Trip Advisor. Your generous compliments regarding our spacious rooms and friendly staff are very kind. We apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. Rest assured your feedback has been shared with the appropriate departments to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Again, thank you for your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Carolyn Guyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

this is an unexpected gem of a hotel! we are in this area for a track event at Watkins glen race track. I usually do not accompany hubby to the track because the hotels are usually crappy. he promised me that the harbor hotel would be nice and it's more than nice! it's amazing! it feels brand brand new even tho it opened in 2008. the room is spic and span clean and beautifully decorated in a 'hamptons' style with blues, grays, and whites. and we have a super nice view of Seneca lake with a cute little window seat at the window! the room is also very nicely laid out and huge, with fast, free internet, and good cable tv. the bathroom is perfect with a large shower with powerful water pressure. dinner in the hotel restaurant was also delicious. there is a pool and hot tub in the lobby too that looks really nice, and a gym. all this and walking distance to the town of WG so I am not stuck in the hotel while hubby drives around in circles at the track! do not hesitate to stay here if you find yourself in this area of the finger lakes! it is most definitely the newest and nicest place around here!

Room Tip: ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

It was a pleasure to read through your detailed review. We truly appreciate you writing to express such gracious comments about the hotel and for sharing your experience with others.

We are pleased to hear that we provided the perfect place for you to stay while your husband drove around in circles at the track (sorry couldn’t resist).

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay soon!

Warm Regards,
Carolyn Guyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
122 reviews
18.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
15.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
18.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
19 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Address: 16 N Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1221
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range: £86 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing