We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watkins Glen State Park Campground
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gorgeous View Motel(Watkins Glen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Motor Inn(Watkins Glen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn And Marina(Watkins Glen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Budget Inn(Watkins Glen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longhouse Lodge Motel(Watkins Glen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Resort(Watkins Glen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chieftain Motel(Watkins Glen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Falls Motel(Montour Falls)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
83
42
13
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
42
13
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian trailgorge trailrock formationsrainbow fallsstate parkupper lotkiddie poolmain entrancebeautiful parkvisitor centerjacob's ladderbring your cameratake your timenatural beautyno petsawe inspiringhour trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Beautiful site located 10 yards from train track! The earth shakes, train and track noise is LOUD! It sounds like the train is going to derail and fall on the tent. It awoke us at 11:30 pm and we thought we were in the middle of a major catastrophy. It scared the hell out of us!!! DO NOT CAMP IN THIS SITE!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank H2OSunAndFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed in a tent at the campground for 3 days. We really liked the location and our loop (Seneca village) and would recommend the sites on the outer edge of that loop. The bathrooms were not that great compared to some other campgrounds we've been at (dirtier, showers not as nice...). It's very conveniently close to the gorge trail though which was awesome! Overall I would recommend this campground.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ashbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

First, people don't camp here to be alone in nature, the are there to see the gorge, or go swimming, or whatever, but the campground is basically just up the road from the town of Watkins Glen. This makes for some nice things: Modern bathrooms and showers, a swimming pool (closed when we were there Memorial Day weekend), easy access to stores, etc. Some things not so nice, it is pretty crowded, the campsites are close together, and there are a lot of people that come to drink beer and talk all night.
The entrance to the campsite is easy to miss, it is just before the main entrance to the gorge. The gorge itself is beautiful, but gets very crowded. If you camp, you can walk from the campsite if you are in the right loop. The entrance is just across from site 185, so try to get a site around that number. If you start from the campsites, turn right when you get to the gorge trail at the mile bridge, there isn't much to see past that.

Room Tip: Campsites in the 180's are closest to the trails.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank FloridaRBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We decided to take our first camping trip together around the Finger Lakes. Watkins Glen was recommended to us and we were told about the Seneca Village loop. We stayed in campsite 207, an easy and short walk to the bathrooms. A small, yet private campsite which included a grill on the fire pit and a nice picnic table. We walked right from our site to the gorge which is breathtaking! Others have told us about the train waking them up, but we never heard it. I believe the train drives by the other end of the loop. The bathrooms reminded me of going to camp when I was a kid. Don't expect luxury... it's camping. I heard the camp security is great at monitoring noise levels after 10 p.m., but our neighbors were LOUD until midnight. That was disappointing, but we fell asleep eventually. We had such a great time and after visiting another campsite during our third night, we wished we were still at our site in Watkins Glen.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Irie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We spent a few hours walking up and down the gorge. It seemed that every turn we took, the views got better and better. It was a great way to spend some time and fill up my SD card with photos! Easily one of the best $8 I have ever spent. Thanks New York State Parks!

BTW, please don't litter. This park is so beautiful, it was such a shame to see a couple of plastic bottles floating in the river. If you're unwrapping a snack along the trail, please hold on to the wrapper for 5 minutes, I promise, a garbage can will appear!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank chassocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews