We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had so much fun!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watkins Glen State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond HIll
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We had so much fun!”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Convenient location, easy to go around the town, free access to the parks if you camp here. The bathroom and shower are very clean, well maintained the campground. Check the map before you make the reservation, our site was too close to the railroad, so you can imagine how noise it is when trains pass by.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichmondHIllJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    37
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

While visiting the Finger Lakes, this is a must stop, IF you are physically able to climb steep wet steps because this requires a lot of climbing (over 800 steps!). The round trip hike is about 3 miles and passes 19 beautiful waterfalls, going behind two of them. You will be stopping to take plenty of pictures so as long as you can climb or descend steps you should be fine. Evidently there are times that shuttles return you from a one way hike and some people park at the upper lot and walk down to the main lot to be shuttled back. The best trail is the Gorge trail that travels close to Glen Creek where you can see the beautifully carved gorge. We also walked on the Indian Trail, which takes you up into the trees. This trail is uneven with loose gravel and ruts, so if you are not sure footed, I would not recommend this trail. The Gorge Trail with stairs will be easier with handrails put in where needed. This is truly a stunning park! We did not take the Smith Run Trail
I would recommend arriving early. It is a very popular park with many buses pulling in with large groups. If you want pictures with less people in the background, you need to arrive early. Also, a light rain jacket and hiking shoes, or athletic shoes are recommended. You do not want to wear nice shoes on this trail! Parking is $8. When you consider the maintenance of such a park, I really think this is a very reasonable admittance.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Trudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Please don't take another reviewer's comments about site 231 & the train barreling through as a deterrent to staying here. I inadvertently clicked "like" on that review & that wasn't my intention. 3 of us have enjoyed a girls camping weekend @ Watkins Glen for 10+yrs every year & are fully aware of the train that rumbles through on the edge of Seneca Loop. We actually enjoy listening for the train, watching for the engine light, & once it's passed through, a quiet peaceful night is in store. The train rumbles through Monday-Thurs. no weekends.We've stayed on several sites in Seneca Loop. Sites 231 & 233 are large, close to water supply & not far from bathrooms & showers & yes close to the rr tracks. I was disappointed to learn another reviewer's tent was stolen. That's so unusual-there's usually other campers who would notice something. We take note of campers around us so if something isn't right, we'd report it. Seneca Loop is the roomiest camping loop in Watkins Glen. Tuscarora is probably next. Neither loop has electric sites but if you want room, quiet & a real camping experience, Seneca or Tuscarora is it.

Room Tip: no fitness center, rooms. Large outdoor pool at park is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank vineyardchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The grounds are dense, lush and loaded with trees and shade, which is great. And our site was large. It seems like a lot of the sites we saw were also pretty roomy! We liked the fire pit and the privacy at the back of our site. The only drawbacks: there was a large, loud group of inconsiderate people camping in a completely different part of our loop. They were carrying on pretty late into the night, and though their campsite wasn't near ours (or even in view at all) we still heard every noise clear as a bell - so sound travels well there, apparently. I think eventually some park staff must have come by and told them to shut up, because it did finally stop. Be warned, just as another reviewer mentioned, the train that is nearby was loud, totally unexpected and really did sound as if was going to barrel right on through the campground. To our relief, that did not happen. Also, I'm not sure what time they close their gates but we saw cars driving into our loop late into the night/early am.. not sure what that was about.
We would camp there again. It really is a nice campground, it's just more of a party/good time atmosphere so don't expect to hear a pin drop in that forest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Bestlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

We wandered the park grounds early in the morning. The falls and the gorge were beautiful. It seemed to get quite busy on the paths after a little bit but who wouldn't want to enjoy all that beauty. Well worth the pit stop on our road trip to nowhere!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Quintersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We took our first trip to the Finger Lakes region and stayed at 3 different campgrounds: WG, Taughannock Falls and Buttermilk Falls. Camping here is certainly not the same as our usual trips to Northern New England where we are either in the deep woods and mountains or on the Atlantic coast of Maine. Another reviewer hit the nail on the head - you're camping experience here will not be the "at one with nature" type. There are lots of people around so it's something to factor in if you have never been.
As for as WG: our site was in the outer loop of Seneca Village. There are several sites here that are fairly private and we got a decent one - not as private as we normally like but workable. There appear to be some similar sites in Onandaga Village as well but you'll have less privacy in the other loops. No complaints about the bathrooms as the showers are free and everything is kept fairly clean. The wood - expensive. It's kiln dried so super easy to light but we used it as kindling and bought most of the wood cheaper elsewhere. The town is right there (gas station at the entrance road) so ice and supplies are readily available. Decent restaurants too if you don't want to cook over the fire every night.
The best part of this campground is the gorge. It's a fun hike though a bit crowded at times. This July everything in the Finger Lakes region was pretty dry - they had a very mild winter. There was still some water in the gorge, not much, but after snowier winters it must be pretty magnificent. The park is also in a good location to explore the various wineries around the lake.
All in all we were glad to have made the trip and experienced the area. Not sure it's spectacular enough for us to drive 7 hours one way again but we didn't come back disappointed. Out of the campgrounds we stayed at on the trip, this one probably had the most to offer as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StaKeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Hiking is amazing. Our camping experience was horrible. I have camped my ENTIRE life and I've never had anything stolen. We went hiking at Watkins Glen, came back around 1:30 pm for some lunch and pulled up to our site to find that our tent was gone. It was a big tent too - 14x9 so it must have taken someone a lot of time to get it down. The ranger and staff were very friendly, but no one knew anything about where our tent had gone. Thank goodness we had all our other belongings in the car or I'd hate to know where those might have disappeared to too. Lock up your stuff and don't expect your tent to be there when you return after a long hike.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank NewYorkNewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
0.5 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#5 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watkins Motel
Watkins Motel
#6 of 17 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
19.0 mi away
Firelight Camps
Firelight Camps
#1 of 3 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen State Park

Property: Watkins Glen State Park
Address: P.O. Box 304, Route 14, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-0304
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 305

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing